Testing Bits – 11/3/13 – 11/9/13

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 11/3/13-11/9/13.

Articles & Blogs

“DevOps” an Extension of Agile Methodology – How It will Impact QA? – Vijay Shinde – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/devops-and-software-testing/

10 Ways You Know You’re a Tester – Ryan Arsenault – http://blog.utest.com/10-ways-you-know-youre-a-tester/2013/11/

5 Ways to Screw Up Application Security – John Overbaugh – http://thoughtsonqa.blogspot.com/2013/11/5-ways-to-screw-up-application-security.html

A Heuristic Approach to Generating “Good Enough” Weighted State Transition Probabilities – Michael Corum – http://tnridgeback.blogspot.com/2013/11/a-heuristic-approach-to-generating-good.html

A Mobile App Testing Refresher – Patrick Daly – http://blog.utest.com/a-mobile-app-testing-refresher/2013/11/

Being Exploratory on New Product V/S Old Product  – Ruma Dak – http://rumadak.wordpress.com/2013/11/05/being-exploratory-on-new-product-vs-old-product/

Blog: Very Short Blog Posts (7): Planning vs. Preparation – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2013/11/very-short-blog-posts-7-planning-vs-preparation/

Does Healthcare.gov require multiple personalities? – Ben Simo – http://blog.isthereaproblemhere.com/2013/11/does-healthcaregov-require-multiple.html

Evolution of Testing – Katrina Clokie – http://katrinatester.blogspot.com/2013/11/evolution-of-testing.html

Explaining testing: It’s a small change, it doesn’t need testing – Tony Bruce – http://dancedwiththetester.blogspot.com/2013/11/explaining-testing-its-small-change-it.html

Explaining testing: ‘We’ve been working on this for 2 years and thought it was time for some testing’ – Tony Bruce – http://dancedwiththetester.blogspot.com/2013/11/explaining-testing-weve-been-working-on.html

Famous Movie Quotes applied to software engineering – Dirty Harry – Gareth Waterhouse – http://www.testingthewaterhouse.com/2013/11/famous-movie-quotes-applied-to-software.html

Going in circles with Healthcare.gov – Ben Simo – http://blog.isthereaproblemhere.com/2013/11/going-in-circles-with-healthcaregov.html

Healthcare.gov alerts me to messages that don’t exist – Ben Simo – http://blog.isthereaproblemhere.com/2013/11/healthcaregov-alerts-me-to-messages.html

Healthcare.gov asks me to wait longer than it will wait for me – Ben Simo – http://blog.isthereaproblemhere.com/2013/11/healthcaregov-asks-me-to-wait-longer.html

Healthcare.gov includes resources which are not secure – Ben Simo – http://blog.isthereaproblemhere.com/2013/11/healthcaregov-includes-resources-which.html

Here is one reason why Healthcare.gov is so slow – Ben Simo – http://blog.isthereaproblemhere.com/2013/11/here-is-one-reason-why-healthcaregov-is.html

How to treat a testing contractor – Maaret Pyhajarvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2013/11/how-to-treat-testing-contractor.html

Is it Really a Bug? Guidelines on Researching and Writing a Meaningful Problem Report – Bernice Niel Ruhland – http://thetestersedge.com/2013/11/09/is-it-really-a-bug-guidelines-on-researching-and-writing-a-meaningful-problem-report/

Perhaps They Should Have Tested More – Honda – Joe Strazzere – http://www.allthingsquality.com/2013/11/perhaps-they-should-have-tested-more.html

Prebrowsing – Steve Souders – http://www.stevesouders.com/blog/2013/11/07/prebrowsing/

Signoff by High Five – Augusto Evangelisti – http://mysoftwarequality.wordpress.com/2013/11/06/signoff-by-high-five/

Testing in a Big Data World – Vinaykumar Chandrashekar – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2013/11/5/%E2%80%9Dtesting-in-a-big-data-world%E2%80%9D

The current state of iOS automated functional testing – Alister Scott – http://watirmelon.com/2013/11/04/the-current-state-of-ios-automated-functional-testing/

The Importance Of A Test Environment – Duncan Nisbit – http://www.duncannisbet.co.uk/the-importance-of-a-test-environment

The software tester’s guide to managing up – Jennifer Lent – http://searchsoftwarequality.techtarget.com/feature/The-software-testers-guide-to-managing-up

The Value of Surprise in Observation – http://hintbw.wordpress.com/2013/11/07/the-value-of-surprise-in-observation/

Tracking bugs on AGILE Walls – Ruma Dak – http://rumadak.wordpress.com/2013/11/09/tracking-bugs-on-agile-walls/

Training Testers – Mike Talks – Simon Knight – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2013/11/training-testers-mike-talks/

WebRTC Audio Quality Testing – Patrik Höglund – http://googletesting.blogspot.com/2013/11/webrtc-audio-quality-testing.html

Why choose between Optimism and Skepticism? – Joel Montvelisky – http://qablog.practitest.com/2013/11/why-choose-between-optimism-and-skepticism/

Conferences/Meetups/Organizations/Training

Agile Testing Days 2013:

Agile Testing Days 2013 – Tutorial Day – Chris George – http://www.mostly-testing.co.uk/2013/11/agile-testing-days-2013-tutorial-day.html

Agile Testing Days 2013 – Day 1 – Green is not always good! – Chris George – http://www.mostly-testing.co.uk/2013/11/agile-testing-days-2013-day-1-green-is.html

Agile Testing Days 2013, Looking Back – Pete Walen – http://rhythmoftesting.blogspot.com/2013/11/agile-testing-days-2013-looking-back.html

Agile Testing Days, part 1 of ?: Brainstorming! – Lisa Crispin – http://lisacrispin.com/2013/11/06/agile-testing-days-part-1-brainstorming/

Agile Testing Days 2013: Tester Roundtable Workshop – Pete Walen – http://rhythmoftesting.blogspot.com/2013/11/agile-testing-days-2013-tester.html

Almost Live! Agile Testing Days 2013 – Day 0 – Tutorials! – Pete Walen – http://rhythmoftesting.blogspot.com/2013/11/almost-live-agile-testing-days-2013-day.html

EuroStar 2013:

Automation: Time to Change Our Models? – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/automation-time-to-change-our-models/

Creating Dissonance – Overcoming Organizational Bias towards the Value of Software Testing – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/creating-dissonance-overcoming-organizational-bias-towards-the-value-of-software-testing-2/

Cross Team Testing – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/cross-team-testing-2/

Curiosity Killed the Cat – Anne-Marie Charrett – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/curiosity-killed-the-cat-anne-marie-charrett/

Discussing the Future of Software Testing – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/discussing-the-future-of-software-testing/

EUROSTAR 2013 – THANKS – Rob Lambert – http://thesocialtester.co.uk/eurostar-2013-thanks/

Experiences of Test Automation At Spotify – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/experiences-of-test-automation-at-spotify/

Get In There and Argue – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/get-in-there-and-argue/

Fooled By Unknown Unknowns – a Success Story – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/fooled-by-unknown-unknowns-a-success-story/

Improving the Process By Taking Control – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/improving-the-process-by-taking-control/

Monday at EuroSTAR 2013 with Bram Bronneberg – Bram Bronneberg – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2013/11/5/monday-conference-highlights

Moving to Weekly Releases – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/moving-to-weekly-releases-rob-lambert-3/

No Test Manager, Does It Work? – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/no-test-manager-does-it-work/

Observations from EuroSTAR 2013 – Carsten Feilberg – http://carstenfeilberg.blogspot.com/2013/11/observations-from-eurostar-2013.html

Questioning the Evolution of Testing – What’s Next? – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/questioning-the-evolution-of-testing-whats-next/

Self Defense For the Skeptical Tester – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/self-defense-for-the-skeptical-tester/

Testing Machines as Social Prothesis – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/testing-machines-as-social-prothesis/

Tuesday at EuroSTAR 2013 With Bram Bronneberg – Bram Bronneberg – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2013/11/6/tuesday-at-eurostar-2013-with-bram-bronneberg

Wednesday at EuroSTAR 2013 With Bram Bronneberg – Bram Bronneberg – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2013/11/7/wednesday-at-eurostar-2013-with-bram-bronneber

Other Testing Events:

Another Day, Another Live(ish) blog from Øredev 2013 – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2013/11/another-day-another-liveish-blog-from.html

Lessons from the Black Ops Testing LTG Workshop! – Dan Ashby – http://danashby04.wordpress.com/2013/11/04/lessons-from-ltgw-black-ops-testing/

Hej från Sverige: Somewhat Live, and sort of awake, at Øredev 2013 – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2013/11/hej-fran-sverige-somewhat-live-and-sort.html

QA & Test Conference Bilbao 2013 – Jokin Aspiazu – http://jokinaspiazu.blogspot.com/2013/11/qa-test-conference-bilbao-2014.html

WT 103 – Real Time User Intelligence : mPulse – Srinivas Kadiyala – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3260

WTA-45 – How healthy is your end to end testing? – Justin Rohrman – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3205

Attention: Ohio Testers:

Conference – QA or the Highway – Feb 18 – http://bit.ly/17oU8qJ

Tools

@Testing with [Reflections] Part II – JCD – http://about98percentdone.blogspot.com/2013/11/testing-with-reflections-part-ii.html

A small cool macro that makes Mind Maps and Spreadsheets better friends – Issi Hazan-Fuchs – http://testermindset.blogspot.com/2013/11/a-small-cool-macro-that-makes-mind-maps.html

JMeter CSV data for remote clients – Oliver Erlewein – http://hellotestworld.com/2013/11/08/jmeter-csv-data-for-remote-clients/

THREE ALTERNATIVE USES FOR TEST MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE – Michael Kelly – http://michaeldkelly.com/blog/2013/11/4/three-alternative-uses-for-test-management-software.html

Using appium in Ruby for iOS automated functional testing – Alister Scott – http://watirmelon.com/2013/11/05/using-appium-in-ruby-for-ios-automated-functional-testing/

Miscellaneous

Infographic: State of Security Testing – Nagasahas Dasa, Santhosh Tuppad – http://solidmonster.com/infographic-state-of-security-testing-by-nagasahas-dasa-and-santhosh-tuppad

Podcasts: Episode #29 Mobile App And Device Performance – Mark Tomlinson –  http://www.perfbytes.com/mobile_app_and_device_performance

Podcast: Why Testing as a Career: 11/5/2013 – Rex Black – http://testingpodcast.com/webinar-why-testing-as-a-career-1152013/

Presentations: Change how you change presentation – Agile Tour London 2013 – Tony Bruce – http://dancedwiththetester.blogspot.com/2013/11/change-how-you-change-presentation.html

Presentations: One more question… presentation – Eurostar 2013 – Tony Bruce – http://dancedwiththetester.blogspot.com/2013/11/one-more-question-presentation-eurostar.html

Presentations: Will the Test Leaders Stand Up? – Paul Gerrard – http://gerrardconsulting.com/index.php?q=node/631

Personal Reflections, Goals, Conference Announcements from Testers

A Decade in Software Testing – My Tryst with Speaking Engagements – Parimala Hariprasad – http://curioustester.blogspot.com/2013/11/a-decade-in-software-testing-my-tryst.html

Items of Interest for Testers

Are Toddlers a New User Base We Need to Consider? – Rajini Padmanaban – http://www.techwell.com/2013/11/are-toddlers-new-user-base-we-need-consider

Changing Our Company Name To Reflect An Expanded Vision – Doron Reuveni – http://blog.utest.com/changing-our-company-name-to-reflect-an-expanded-vision/2013/11/

Five Elements Important in Creating a Healthy Project Culture – Johanna Rothman – http://www.techwell.com/2013/11/five-elements-important-creating-healthy-project-culture

HealthCare.gov: Your Reminder Not To Skimp on Quality Assurance – ARLENE WEINTRAUB – http://www.entrepreneur.com/article/229859

Important Android Kit Kat Features for Developers – Jamie Saine – http://blog.utest.com/important-android-kit-kat-features-for-developers/2013/11/

Internet Explorer 11 Launches On Windows 7 – Internet Explorer 11 Launches On Windows 7 – http://techcrunch.com/2013/11/07/internet-explorer-11-launches-on-windows-7/

Microsoft, Google, and Facebook team up on new bug bounty program – Lucian Constantin – http://www.infoworld.com/d/security/microsoft-google-and-facebook-team-new-bug-bounty-program-230396

ObamaCare contractor security fears made real – Greta Van Susteren – http://www.foxnews.com/on-air/on-the-record/2013/11/03/obamacare-contractor-security-fears-made-real

Switzerland’s BugBuster Secures $1 Million Series A For Its Cloud-Based Bug Detection Software – Steve O’Hear – http://techcrunch.com/2013/11/05/switzerlands-bugbuster-secures-1-million-series-a-for-its-cloud-based-bug-detection-software/

White Hats for Hire Find Software Bugs – Paul Rubens – http://www.esecurityplanet.com/hackers/white-hats-for-hire-find-software-bugs.html

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *