Testing Bits – 11/17/13 – 11/23/13

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 11/17/13-11/23/13.

Articles & Blogs

Automated Testing Does Not Work … Alone. – Jonathan Ross – http://warptest.com/2013/11/automated-testing-work-alone/

Be Careful When Testing With Kitchen Windows – Eric Jacobson – http://www.testthisblog.com/2013/11/be-careful-when-testing-with-kitchen.html

Becoming a testing craftsman – Trish Khoo – http://trishkhoo.com/2013/11/becoming-a-testing-craftsman/

Community Spotlight Presents Pradeep Soundararajan – EuroSTAR Team – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2013/11/22/community-spotlight-presents-pradeep-soundararajan

Establishing a Continuous Integration Pipeline Part 1 – Duncan Nisbet – http://www.duncannisbet.co.uk/establishing-a-continuous-integration-pipeline-part-1

Est testing parfait? – Claire Moss – http://blog.aclairefication.com/2013/11/est-testing-parfait/

How Healthcare.gov changed the conversation about software testing – Ole Lensmar – http://www.networkworld.com/community/node/84303

How to test refactoring? – Jeroen Mengerink – http://jmengerink.wordpress.com/2013/11/21/how-to-test-refactoring/

Hunting bugs in the jungle – Nicolai L. Nielsen – http://testing4tw.blogspot.com/2013/11/hunting-bugs-in-jungle.html

ISTQB Fan-Mail – David Greenless – http://hellotestworld.com/2013/11/18/istqb-fan-mail/

Mapping Enough to Test – John Stevenson – http://steveo1967.blogspot.com/2013/11/mapping-enough-to-test.html

Mind Maps and Automation – Katrina Clokie – http://katrinatester.blogspot.com/2013/11/mind-maps-and-automation.html

One Test Case is All You Need – Jesper Lindholt Ottosen – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2013/11/one-test-case-is-all-you-need/

Our community is not best served by one single group – Rob Lambert – http://thesocialtester.co.uk/our-community-is-not-best-served-by-one-single-group/

Rules can’t stop me! – Erik Brickarp – http://erik.brickarp.se/2013/11/rules-cant-stop-me.html

Shipping Forecast – A Way To Get Things Done – Rob Lambert – http://thesocialtester.co.uk/shipping-forecast-a-way-to-get-things-done/

Software Testing is About Mind and Eyes, Not About Years of Experience! – Vijay Shinde – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/software-testing-experience/

Software Testing: 21 Philosophical Questions – Colin Cherry – http://itesting.com.au/2013/11/22/software-testing-21-philosophical-questions/

Some Stuff I’ve Learned – Alan Page – http://angryweasel.com/blog/?p=728

Sponsoring an Internship as Part of Your Hiring Strategy – Bernice Niel Ruhland – http://thetestersedge.com/2013/11/21/sponsoring-an-internship-as-part-of-your-hiring-strategy/

Testing the Limits with Ben Kelly – Jamie Saine – http://blog.utest.com/testing-the-limits-with-ben-kelly/2013/11/

The joy of bug hunting – AJAY BALAMURUGADAS – http://enjoytesting.blogspot.com/2013/11/the-joy-of-bug-hunting.html

Thinking the impossible? Or wishing for the impossible? – James Christie – http://clarotesting.wordpress.com/2013/11/18/thinking-the-impossible-or-wishing-for-the-impossible/

TOP 5 QUICK WAYS TO START SECURITY TESTING – Santhosh Tuppad – http://tuppad.com/blog/2013/11/20/top-5-quick-ways-to-start-security-testing/

Training Testers – Stephen Janaway – Simon Knight – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2013/11/training-testers-stephen-janaway/

White’s Illusion and Importance of Context in Testing and for Testers – Shrini Kulkarni – http://shrinik.blogspot.com/2013/11/whites-illusion-and-importance-of.html

Word of the Week: Oracle – JCD – http://about98percentdone.blogspot.com/2013/11/word-of-week-oracle.html

Bugs & Defects

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 – Ben Simo – http://blog.isthereaproblemhere.com/2013/11/call-of-duty-modern-warfare-3.html

Healthcare.gov can’t handle application edits – Ben Simo – http://blog.isthereaproblemhere.com/2013/11/healthcaregov-cant-handle-application.html

How to Take Yourself Out – Oliver Erlewein – http://hellotestworld.com/2013/11/22/how-to-take-yourself-out/

Sorry, that’s not correct – Ben Simo – http://blog.isthereaproblemhere.com/2013/11/sorry-thats-not-correct.html

The standard extension – Ben Simo – http://blog.isthereaproblemhere.com/2013/11/the-standard-extension.html

We are unable to read your error message – Ben Simo – http://blog.isthereaproblemhere.com/2013/11/we-are-unable-to-read-your-error-message.html

Conferences/Meetups/Organizations/Training

Agile Testing Days: Presentation Slides Explained – AJAY BALAMURUGADAS – http://enjoytesting.blogspot.com/2013/11/agile-testing-days-presentation-slides.html

BNT – 05: Introduction to Mobile Testing [Series] – Unknown – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3298

How I Learned to Stop Worrying and to Love Flexible Scope – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/how-i-learned-to-stop-worrying-and-to-love-flexible-scope/

Lessons Learned from Agile Testing Days (Day 1)! – Dan Ashby – http://danashby04.wordpress.com/2013/11/20/lessons-learned-from-agile-testing-days-day-1/

Lessons Learned from Agile Testing Days (Day 2)! – Dan Ashby – http://danashby04.wordpress.com/2013/11/21/lessons-learned-from-agile-testing-days-day-2/

Lessons Learned from Agile Testing Days (Day 3)! – Dan Ashby – http://danashby04.wordpress.com/2013/11/22/lessons-learned-from-agile-testing-days-day-3/

Mobile Testers Guide to the Galaxy slides presented at the Dutch Testing Day – Julian Harty – http://blog.bettersoftwaretesting.com/2013/11/mobile-testers-guide-to-the-galaxy-slides-presented-at-the-dutch-testing-day/

Two Sides to Every Story – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/two-csides-to-every-story/

What Do Testers Do? – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/what-do-testers-do/

Whose Truth Is It Anyway? – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/whose-truth-is-it-anyway/

WT 103 – Exploring Coggle : Multi-User Mind Mapping Tool – Srinivas Kadiyala – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3288

WTANZ 17 – Combinatorial Testing for Mobile Devices – Alessandra Moreira – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3278

Attention: Ohio Testers
2/18/2014 – Conference – QA or the Highway – http://bit.ly/17oU8qJ

Tools

37 Powerful Penetration Testing Tools For Every Penetration Tester – Vijay Shinde – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/penetration-testing-tools/

Coggle – My next Mind Map victim – Kristoffer Nordström – http://contextdriven.blogspot.com/2013/11/coggle-my-next-mind-map-victim.html

Free continuous builds to run your automated Android Selenium WebDriver tests – Julian Harty – http://blog.bettersoftwaretesting.com/2013/11/free-continuous-builds-to-run-your-automated-android-selenium-webdriver-tests/

How to use Jira to subjectively track and report daily on your testing? – Alan Richardson – http://blog.eviltester.com/2013/11/how-to-use-jira-to-subjectively-track.html

UFT API – How to Dynamically Get and Set a WebService EndPoint – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2013/11/19/uft-api-how-to-dynamically-get-and-set-a-webservice-endpoint/

Miscellaneous

Book – Pride and Paradev – Željko Filipin – http://filipin.eu/pride-and-paradev/

Cartoon: Sometimes we need a little encouragement – Andy Glover – http://cartoontester.blogspot.com/2013/11/sometimes-we-need-little-encouragement.html

Podcast: Episode #30 It’s The Frackin’ Load Balancer – Mark Tomlinson, James Pulley – http://www.perfbytes.com/its_the_frackin_load_balancer

Podcast: Episode 49 – Software Test Podcast – http://blog.softwaretestpodcast.com/2013/11/21/episode-39.aspx?ref=rss

Personal Reflections, Goals, Conference Announcements from Testers

Taking a Break – What taking time off from pretty much everything can do for/to you/me – Erik Davis – http://testingthoughts.com/erikdavis/?p=173

Items of Interest for Testers

5 of the Hardest Things Software Developers Do – Katherine Slattery – http://blog.utest.com/5-of-the-hardest-things-software-developers-do/2013/11/

6 Software Development Lessons From Healthcare.gov’s Failed Launch – Matthew Heusser – http://www.cio.com.au/article/532139/6_software_development_lessons_from_healthcare_gov_failed_launch/?fp=16&fpid=1

FCC Speed Test App Could Help Developers and Testers – Patrick Daly – http://blog.utest.com/fcc-speed-test-app-could-help-developers-and-testers/2013/11/

Google Adds Form Autofill To Mobile Chrome Browser – Todd Weiss – http://www.techweekeurope.co.uk/news/googles-mobile-chrome-browser-gets-form-autofill-132020

Load Testing with uTest & BlazeMeter – Stanton Champion – http://blog.utest.com/load-testing-with-utest-blazemeter/2013/11/

How APIs Are Transforming the IT Economy – Steve Vaughn – http://www.techwell.com/2013/11/how-apis-are-transforming-it-economy

Multitasking—We’re Not Actually Good at It – Naomi Karten – http://www.techwell.com/2013/11/multitasking-were-not-actually-good-it

The “Failure” of Udacity – Cem Kaner – http://kaner.com/?p=367

The software testing proposition – MICHAEL CORNELIUS – http://www.thestar.com.my/Tech/Tech-Opinion/2013/11/18/The-Software-Testing-Proposition.aspx

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *