Testing Bits – 11/24/13 – 11/30/13

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 11/24/13-11/30/13.

Articles & Blogs

10 keys to a happy tester – Gareth Waterhouse – http://www.testingthewaterhouse.com/2013/11/10-keys-to-happy-tester.html

Are these really lame reasons not to hire tester? (part 1) – Darren Hails – http://rwtesting.co/really-lame-reasons-hire-tester-part-1/

Are these really lame reasons not to hire tester? (part 2) – Darren Hails – http://rwtesting.co/really-lame-reasons-hire-tester-part-2/

“The best kind of bug report” – Kristoffer Nordström – http://contextdriven.blogspot.com/2013/11/the-best-kind-of-bug-report.html

Blog: Can You Hear The Alarm Bells? – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2013/11/canyouhearthealarmbells/

Blog: Very Short Blog Posts (9): “Insufficient Requirements” – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2013/11/very-short-blog-posts-9-insufficient-requirements/

Browser statistics – Darrell Grainger – http://darrellgrainger.blogspot.com/2013/11/browser-statistics.html

Developing Your Leadership Potential – Bernice Niel Ruhland – http://thetestersedge.com/2013/11/26/developing-your-leadership-potential/

Efficient Load Testing – Paul Littlebury – http://jaffamonkey.com/efficient-load-testing/

Establishing a CI Pipeline Part 2 – CISIG Kicks Off! – Dunan Nisbet – http://www.duncannisbet.co.uk/establishing-a-ci-pipeline-part-2-cisig-kicks-off

Expert Manual Testers Are Ironically A Bit Sherlock And 007 – Jonathan Ross – http://warptest.com/2013/11/expert-manual-testers-ironically-bit-sherlock-007/

Failure Story #2– This App Will Never Be Automated – Eric Jacbonson – http://www.testthisblog.com/2013/11/failure-story-2-this-app-will-never-be.html

How Agile Testing Can Prevent Project Failures – Vijay Balasubramaniam – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2013/11/25/how-agile-testing-can-prevent-project-failures

How Software Testing and Poker Are Similar – Bonnie Bailey – http://www.techwell.com/2013/11/how-software-testing-and-poker-are-similiar

In praise of ignorance – James Christie – http://clarotesting.wordpress.com/2013/11/25/in-praise-of-ignorance/

Irresponsible Accountability – Brent M Jensen – http://testastic.wordpress.com/2013/11/24/irresponsible-accountability/

ISO 29110 – a benevolent start – Rikard Edgren – http://thetesteye.com/blog/2013/11/iso-29119-a-benevolent-start/

Obsessive testers? – Nicolai L. Nielsen – http://testing4tw.blogspot.com/2013/11/obsessive-testers_28.html

Open Learning – Rob Lambert – http://idlethoughts.postach.io/open-learning

Performance and Custom Elements – Steve Souders – http://www.stevesouders.com/blog/2013/11/26/performance-and-custom-elements/

Popping the Bubble – Katrina Clokie – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2013/11/popping-the-bubble/

Scripting, checking, testing – ennemies or friends? – Mike Meurs – http://commontestsense.blogspot.com/2013/11/scripting-checking-testing-ennemies-or.html

Search with Special Characters : 502 Server Error? – Srinivas Kadiyala – http://testingeduindia.blogspot.com/2013/11/search-with-special-characters-502.html

Skeptical Learning – Rob Lambert – http://idlethoughts.postach.io/skeptical-learning

Standards – a case for the Defence – Peter Morgan – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2013/11/26/standards—a-case-for-the-defence

Taking the Road Less Travelled When Testing Mobile Applications – Rivkah Abrahams – http://thenakedtester.com/2013/11/25/taking-the-road-less-travelled-when-testing-mobile-applications/

Test Plan Reality Check – Nicolai L. Nielsen – http://testing4tw.blogspot.com/2013/11/test-plan-reality-check.html

The Draw Test – The Director – http://qahatesyou.com/wordpress/2013/11/the-draw-test/

TO THE NEW TESTER – James Bach – http://www.satisfice.com/blog/archives/958

Using Software Testing Checklists to Ensure Software Quality – Sample Checklists Included – Vijay Shinde – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/software-testing-qa-checklists/

What do Testers do? – Daniel Knott – http://dnlkntt.wordpress.com/2013/11/27/what-do-testers-do/

Conferences/Meetups/Organizations/Training

Another BAST Event: Productivity Sucks, How About Being Effective? – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2013/11/another-bast-event-productivity-sucks.html

BBST foundations: time is on my side – Karlo Smid – http://zagorskisoftwaretester.blogspot.com/2013/11/bbst-foundations-time-is-on-my-side.html

BNT – 06: Test ideas: Alpha fields and Numbers – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3308

BNT – 07: Introduction to Selenium [Series] – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3320

Experiences of the Agile Testing and BDD Exchange – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/experience-agile-testing-bdd-exchange/

Last call for WTST 2014 – Cem Kaner – http://kaner.com/?p=370

Mobile Software Testing Course – 26th March 2014 – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/mobile-software-testing-course-26th-march-2014/

More Agile Testing Days Joy (part 2 of 2) – Lisa Crispin – http://lisacrispin.com/2013/11/30/agile-testing-days-joy-part-2-2/

uTester Hosts Successful Milan uMeetup – Ryan Arsenault – http://blog.utest.com/utester-hosts-successful-milan-umeetup/2013/11/

WTA – 46: Observation & Awareness Skills for the Software Tester – Michael Larsen – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3312

Attention: Ohio Testers:

2/18/2014 – Conference – QA or the Highway – http://bit.ly/17oU8qJ

Tools

15 Most Popular Bug Tracking Software to Ease Your Defect Management Process – Vijay Shinde – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/popular-bug-tracking-software/

HP UFT – UFT 11.53 Service Pack Released – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2013/11/28/hp-uft-uft-11-53-service-pack-released

Opening two windows for one WebDriver – Darrell Grainger – http://darrellgrainger.blogspot.com/2013/11/opening-two-windows-for-one-webdriver.html

Miscellaneous

Podcast: Episode 50 – Software Test Postcast – http://blog.softwaretestpodcast.com/2013/11/29/episode-50.aspx?ref=rss

Slideshare: 26 Time Management Hacks I Wish I’d Known at 20 by @egarbugli – KC – http://testkeis.wordpress.com/2013/11/27/slideshare-26-time-management-hacks-i-wish-id-known-at-20-by-egarbugli/

Personal Reflections, Goals, Conference Announcements from Testers

Next time will be better – Amy – http://testingthemind.wordpress.com/2013/11/25/next-time-will-be-better/

See you at WTST 2014 – Chris Kenst – http://www.mytechfetish.com/2013/11/see-you-at-wtst-2014.html

Items of Interest for Testers

Browser Wars: Chrome vs Firefox vs Internet Explorer in SA – http://mybroadband.co.za/news/software/92270-browser-wars-chrome-vs-firefox-vs-internet-explorer-in-sa.html

Firefox OS on the Fast Track – Rick Robinson – http://midsizeinsider.com/en-us/article/firefox-os-on-the-fast-track

Free Firefox add-on graphs the trackers – Dennis O’Reilly – http://howto.cnet.com/8301-11310_39-57613958-285/free-firefox-add-on-graphs-the-trackers/

How Good Team Members Deal with Delivering Bad News – Naomi Karten – http://www.techwell.com/2013/11/how-good-team-members-deal-delivering-bad-news

On retrospectives – KC – http://testkeis.wordpress.com/2013/11/29/on-retrospectives/

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *