Testing Bits – 12/1/13 – 12/7/13

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 12/1/13-12/7/13.

Articles & Blogs

25 Secrets That Have Made Me a Better Tester – Colin Cherry – http://itesting.com.au/2013/12/02/25-secrets-that-have-made-me-a-better-tester/

A Decade in Software Testing – Community Gang Wars – Parimala Hariprasad – http://curioustester.blogspot.com/2013/12/a-decade-in-software-testing-community.html

Another API Testing Mnemonic – Lynn McKee – http://www.qualityperspectives.ca/blog/2920

Cause and Effect Graph – Dynamic Test Case Writing Technique For Maximum Coverage with Fewer Test Cases – Vijay Shinde – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/cause-and-effect-graph-test-case-writing-technique/

Checklist: How To Generate Test Ideas – Rosie Sherry – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2013/12/checklist-how-to-generate-test-ideas/

Community Spotlight Presents Bart Vrenegoor – EuroSTAR Team – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2013/12/6/community-spotlight-presents-bart-vrenegoor

Context-driven (presentation) heuristics – Huib Schoots – http://www.huibschoots.nl/wordpress/?p=1528

Dive Onto Testing is Evolving! – Kadhar Maideen – http://seleniumreads.com/2013/12/04/dive-into-testing-is-evolving/

Do you need permission to do ET? – Rob Lambert – http://idlethoughts.postach.io/do-you-need-permission-to-do-et

Dogfooding your Performance Test Platform – Tim Koopmans – http://90kts.com/2013/12/05/dogfooding-your-performance-test-platform/

FIT(Q)CODES – Sami Söderblom – http://theadventuresofaspacemonkey.blogspot.com/2013/12/fitqcodes.html

Getting Hired at Conferences – Rob Lambert – http://thesocialtester.co.uk/getting-hired-at-conferences/

I hacked Santa Claus – Teemu Vesala – http://badboysofquality.wordpress.com/2013/12/05/i-hacked-santa-claus/

Leadership Books, Seminars, and Workshops – Bernice Niel Ruhland – http://thetestersedge.com/2013/12/06/leadership-books-seminars-and-workshops/

Meeting Shipment Deadline or Removing Bugs- Which Challenge is Greater – Software Testing Genius – http://www.softwaretestinggenius.com/meeting-shipment-deadline-or-removing-bugs-which-challenge-is-greater

Privacy Testing: A Growing Field for Software Security Specialists – Mukesh Sharma – http://www.techwell.com/2013/11/privacy-testing-growing-field-software-security-specialists

Should Testing Have Kata? – Jonathan Ross – http://warptest.com/2013/12/testing-kata/

Software Testing Gets Its Time in the Spotlight – Jamie Saine – http://blog.utest.com/software-testing-gets-its-time-in-the-spotlight/2013/12/

State Transition Testing Technique for Testing Complex Applications – Vijay Shinde – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/state-t ransition-testing-technique-for-testing-complex-applications/

Stuff About Leadership – Alan Page – http://angryweasel.com/blog/?p=731

Top 10 Security Bugs Found – Santhosh Tuppad – http://tuppad.com/blog/2013/12/03/top-10-security-bugs-found-by-santhosh-tuppad/

Training Testers – Paul Gerrard – Simon Knight – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2013/12/training-testers-paul-gerrard/

Twas the night before Christmas and testers were testing…. – Gareth Waterhouse – http://www.testingthewaterhouse.com/2013/12/twas-night-before-christmas-and-testers.html

Winning or losing in gamified test situations – Martin Jansson – http://thetesteye.com/blog/2013/12/winning-or-losing-in-gamified-test-situations/


Agile Testing Days 2013 – experience report – Anand Ramdeo – http://www.testinggeek.com/agile-testing-days-2013-experience-report

Announcement for Zagreb STC #13 meetup – Karlo Smid – http://zagorskisoftwaretester.blogspot.com/2013/12/announcement-for-zagreb-stc-13-meetup.html

BNT – 09: Selenium Automation Series (Part-2) – Unknown – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3329

Live from Climate Corp, it’s BAST!!! – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2013/12/live-from-climate-corp-its-bast.html

Looking Back and Looking Forward with Michael Bolton – Michael Bolton – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2013/12/4/looking-back-and-looking-forward-with-michael-bolton

Attention: Ohio Testers:

2/18/2014 – Conference – QA or the Highway – http://bit.ly/17oU8qJ


4 reasons why Appium is not ready for prime time – Fred Beringer – http://www.fredberinger.com/2013/12/4-reasons-why-appium-is-not-ready-for-prime-time/

Testing Toolkit for Desktop Applications in Windows – Santhosh Tuppad – http://tuppad.com/blog/2013/12/05/testing-toolkit-for-desktop-applications-in-windows/

TestLess Beta Has Launched! – Ortask – http://ortask.com/testless-beta-has-launched/


Book Stuff on Leadership – Alan Page – http://angryweasel.com/blog/?p=740

CDT Community Update – Support STEP and Team Miguel! – Keith Klain – http://qualityremarks.com/cdt-community-update-support-step-and-team-miguel/

Podcast: Episode #31 Virtual User Tips N’ Tricks Part 1 – Mark Tomlinson, James Pulley – http://www.perfbytes.com/virtual-user-tips-n-tricks-part-1

Tea Time With Testers is Available for Download – http://www.teatimewithtesters.com/#!magazines/galleryPage


‘State of Testing’ Survey – Bernice Niel Ruhland – http://thetestersedge.com/2013/12/02/state-of-testing-survey/

Announcing the State of Testing Survey – Please help us to spread the word! – Joel Montvelisky – http://qablog.practitest.com/2013/12/the-state-of-testing-survey/

A Survey on “The State of Testing” – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2013/12/a-survey-on-state-of-testing.html

A survey on “State of Testing” – Participate and Share – Srinivas Kadiyala – http://testingeduindia.blogspot.com/2013/12/a-survey-on-state-of-testing.html

Let us support “State of Testing Survey 2013” – AJAY BALAMURUGADAS – http://enjoytesting.blogspot.com/2013/12/let-us-support-state-of-testing-survey.html

State of Testing – A Survey – Rob Lambert – http://thesocialtester.co.uk/state-of-testing-a-survey/

State of Testing survey – David – http://geekonomicon.wordpress.com/2013/12/06/state-of-testing-survey/

State of Testing survey – Raji – http://peppytester.blogspot.com/2013/12/state-of-testing-survey.html

State of Testing Survey 2013 – Stephen Janaway – http://www.stephenjanaway.co.uk/state-testing-survey-2013/

State of Testing Survey 2013 – Chris Kenst – http://www.mytechfetish.com/2013/12/state-of-testing-survey-2013.html

State of Testing Survey 2013 – Matt Hutchison – http://blog.testingcurator.com/2013/12/04/state-of-testing-survey-2013/

State of Testing Survey 2013 – Fred Beringer – http://www.fredberinger.com/2013/12/state-of-testing-survey-2013/

The State of Testing – Anna Baik – http://annabetesting.blogspot.com/2013/12/the-state-of-testing.html

The state of testing – A survey – Daniel Knott – http://dnlkntt.wordpress.com/2013/12/03/the-state-of-testing-a-survey/

What’s the current state of testing? – Leah Stockley – http://www.inspiredtester.com/1/post/2013/12/whats-the-current-state-of-testing.html

What’s the State of Testing? Take this Survey. – Joe Strazzere – http://www.allthingsquality.com/2013/12/whats-state-of-testing-take-this-survey.html

Personal Reflections, Goals, Conference Announcements from Testers

The Evolution of Software Testing – Andrew Schiano – http://experttesters.com/2013/12/05/the-evolution-of-software-testing/

Items of Interest for Testers

Alternatives to Safari: The best web browser apps for iPad and iPhone – David Price – http://news.idg.no/cw/art.cfm?id=DD0544D4-B048-E747-98008AB48EF9FDE9

Browser Trends December 2013: Blink Browsers Bite Back – Craig Buckler – http://www.sitepoint.com/browser-trends-december-2013-blink-browsers-bite-back/

Five free Firefox add-ons for the security conscious user – Jack Wallen – http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/five-apps/five-free-firefox-add-ons-for-the-security-conscious-user/

From Netscape to Napster: Whatever happened to yesterday’s giants? – Brad Chacos – http://news.idg.no/cw/art.cfm?id=0207FB9B-E802-CE9A-36BE523D8D73EA51

Government says it fixed bug slowing insurance sign-up – Kelly Kennedy – http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2013/12/02/federal-exchange-update/3805773/

IE 11 use surges post-launch of Windows 7 version – Lance Whitney – http://news.cnet.com/8301-10805_3-57614187-75/ie-11-use-surges-post-launch-of-windows-7-version/

Internet Explorer 8 still the top browser, Internet Explorer 11 jumps up in market share – Ron – http://www.winbeta.org/news/internet-explorer-8-still-top-browser-internet-explorer-11-jumps-market-share

Mobile Has a Major Presence This Holiday Shopping Season – Beth Romanik – http://www.techwell.com/2013/12/mobile-has-major-presence-holiday-shopping-season

Mozilla launches Firefox OS in 13 countries – Patrick O’Rourke – http://o.canada.com/technology/personal-tech/mozilla-launches-firefox-os-in-13-countries/

Online Sales via Mobile on Black Friday See Strong Growth – Aaron Huang – http://blog.utest.com/online-sales-via-mobile-on-black-friday-see-strong-growth/2013/12/

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *