Testing Bits – 12/8/13 – 12/14/13

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 12/8/13-12/14/13.

Articles & Blogs

100+ Ready-to-Execute Test Cases (Checklists) You Can Use to Test the Most Common Components of AUT – Vijay Shinde – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/100-ready-to-execute-test-cases-checklists/

A Decade in Software Testing – ISST – Parimala Hariprasad – http://curioustester.blogspot.com/2013/12/a-decade-in-software-testing-isst.html

All Test Cases Are Created Equal? – Jonathan Ross – http://warptest.com/2013/12/test-cases-created-equal/

Are you ready for testing? – Nicolai L. Nielsen – http://testing4tw.blogspot.com/2013/12/are-you-ready-for-testing.html

Challenges, Puzzles & Games – Katrina Clokie – http://katrinatester.blogspot.com/2013/12/challenges-puzzles-games.html

Community Spotlight Presents Kristian Karl – EuroSTAR Community – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2013/12/13/community-spotlight-presents-kristian-karl

Critic Thinking – James Thomas – http://qahiccupps.blogspot.com/2013/12/critic-thinking.html

Five signs you’re not agile; you’re actually mini-waterfall – Alister Scott – http://watirmelon.com/2013/12/11/five-signs-youre-not-agile-youre-actually-mini-waterfall/

Five remedies to make you less mini-waterfall – Alister Scott – http://watirmelon.com/2013/12/12/five-remedies-to-make-you-less-mini-waterfall/

HWTSAM–Five Years Later – Alan Page – http://angryweasel.com/blog/?p=742

I was wrong and we missed out – Ash Winter – http://testingisbelieving.blogspot.com/2013/12/i-was-wrong-and-we-missed-out.html

Importance of Feedback in Real world – Srinivas Kadiyala – http://testingeduindia.blogspot.com/2013/12/importance-of-feedback-in-real-world.html

Improving your agile flow – Alister Scott – http://watirmelon.com/2013/12/10/improving-your-agile-flow/

Learning From Our Mistakes – Aleksis Tulonen – http://flowoftesting.wordpress.com/2013/12/12/learning-from-our-mistakes/

Mortgage Driven Testing – Simon Knight – http://sjpknight.com/mortgage-driven-testing/

Justifying Real Acceptance Testing – James Bach – http://www.satisfice.com/blog/archives/973

Refreshing Schools of testing – A flow chart – Shrini Kulkarni – http://shrinik.blogspot.com/2013/12/refreshing-schools-of-testing-flow-chart.html

Representation Of Testing – Duncan Nisbet – http://www.duncannisbet.co.uk/representation-of-testing

Rex Black on how to recognise a CDT tester – Oliver Erlewein – http://hellotestworld.com/2013/12/13/rex-black-on-how-to-recognise-a-cdt-tester/

Stop Telling Stories – Jim Bird – http://swreflections.blogspot.com/2013/12/stop-telling-stories.html

Test data with test automation – Teemu Vesala – http://badboysofquality.wordpress.com/2013/12/12/test-data-with-test-automation/

The Confidence Thing – vscomputer – http://vscomputer.wordpress.com/2013/12/14/the-confidence-thing/

The importance of feedback – Rob Lambert – http://idlethoughts.postach.io/the-importance-of-feedback

The purpose of testing – you cannot prove that something works – Andrei Contan – http://andrei.contan.ro/purpose-of-testing/

The Testing Focus Shift: Back To Its Roots? – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/the-testing-focus-shift-back-to-its-roots/

Training Testers – Michael Bolton – Simon Knight – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2013/12/training-testers-michael-bolton/

Wait…what? – Tales from the Testing Dark Side – Keith Klain – http://qualityremarks.com/wait-what-tales-from-the-testing-dark-side/

When cooperation becomes contempt – Benjamin Yaroch – http://dynamoben.wordpress.com/2013/12/12/cooperation-to-contempt/

You’re Brand New – Rob Lambert – http://thesocialtester.co.uk/youre-brand-new/

Conferences/Meetups/Organizations/Training

BNT – 10: Login Test Case Scenarios – Unknown – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3345

BNT – 11: Selenium Automation Series (Part-3) – Unknown – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3348

Call for Proposals – Katrina Clokie – http://katrinatester.blogspot.com/2013/12/call-for-proposals_9.html

Let’s Stop Faking It: My “Other” Talk from Øredev 2013 – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2013/12/lets-stop-faking-it-my-other-talk-from.html

Scott Barber is Speaking at TestBash – Rosie Sherry – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2013/12/scott-barber-is-speaking-at-testbash/

STOP WHAT YOU ARE DOING – and Sign up for this Webinar! – Mike Lyles – http://mikelyles.wordpress.com/2013/12/12/webinar/

Tweets from Software Testing Conferences 2013 – Nilanjan Bhattacharya – http://swtestmanager.wordpress.com/2013/12/12/tweets-from-software-testing-conferences-2013/

WHOSE 2013 recap – Justin Rohrman – http://justinrohrman.com/blog/whose-2013-recap/

WHOSE up for a little skill? – JCD – http://about98percentdone.blogspot.com/2013/12/whose-up-for-little-skill.html

Attention: Ohio Testers

2/18/2014 – Conference – QA or the Highway – http://bit.ly/17oU8qJ

Tools

Appium is not ready for prime time (Part 2) – Fred Beringer – http://www.fredberinger.com/2013/12/appium-is-not-ready-for-prime-time-part-2/

New Window With WebDriver – Richard Bradshaw – http://www.thefriendlytester.co.uk/2013/12/new-window-with-webdriver.html

Page Factory InitElements In Constructor – Richard Bradshaw – http://www.thefriendlytester.co.uk/2013/12/page-factory-initelements-in-constructor.html

Selenium WebDriver – Version 2.38.0 Released – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2013/12/10/selenium-webdriver-version-2-38-0-released/

Miscellaneous

Books I Read: The CEO and the Monk – Bernice Niel Ruhland – http://thetestersedge.com/2013/12/08/books-i-read-the-ceo-and-the-monk/

Book: Practical Software Testing – New FREE eBook [Download] – Vijay Shinde – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/practical-software-testing-new-free-ebook-download/

Cartoon: What came first? – Andy Glover – http://cartoontester.blogspot.com/2013/12/what-came-first.html

Survey

It’s still not too late to take the State of Testing Survey 2013 (limited time this will be open, closing on Monday 12/16/13) – http://qablog.practitest.com/state-of-testing/

State of Testing Survey 2013 – Rock the Vote! – Jonathan Ross – http://warptest.com/2013/12/state-testing-survey-2013-rock-vote/

What is the “State of Testing” today? – Mike Lyles – http://mikelyles.wordpress.com/2013/12/08/the-state-of-testing/

Bugs

The Burn Failed – Ben Simo – http://blog.isthereaproblemhere.com/2013/12/the-burn-failed.html

You’re already playing on 0 other devices – Ben Simo – http://blog.isthereaproblemhere.com/2013/12/youre-already-playing-on-0-other-devices.html

Your order is confirmed, but we cannot identify you – Ben Simo – http://blog.isthereaproblemhere.com/2013/12/your-order-is-confirmed-but-we-cannot.html

Items of Interest for Testers

Change Where You Sit: It Can Change Your Work for the Better – Naomi Karten – http://www.techwell.com/2013/12/change-where-you-sit-it-can-change-your-work-better

Firefox 26 bumps up security by letting users screen plug-ins – Nick Heath – http://www.zdnet.com/firefox-26-bumps-up-security-by-letting-users-screen-plug-ins-7000024120/

How Wearable Computing Impacts App Developers –  Steve Vaughn – http://www.techwell.com/2013/12/how-wearable-computing-impacts-app-developers

Opera 18 review: This browser’s seen radical changes… perhaps too radical – PC World – http://www.pcworld.com/article/2068265/opera-18-review-this-browsers-seen-radical-changes-perhaps-too-radical.html

Software Quality Engineering Launches Redesigned StickyMinds.com–a TechWell Community Website – http://www.itnewsonline.com/showprnstory.php?storyid=301433

Windows 8.1 A Couple of Bugs or Features? – Jonathan Ross – http://warptest.com/2013/12/windows-8-1-couple-bugs-features/

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *