Testing Bits – 12/15/13 – 12/21/13

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 12/15/13-12/21/13.

Articles & Blogs

A Year of ‘Explore’ – Stephan Kamper – http://seasidetesting.com/2013/12/20/a-year-of-explore/

Best Software Testing Quotes of 2013 – Jamie Saine – http://blog.utest.com/best-software-testing-quotes-of-2013/2013/12/

Community Spotlight Presents Craig Hodgson – EuroSTAR Team – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2013/12/20/community-spotlight-presents-craig-hodgson

Death and Testing – Alan Page – http://angryweasel.com/blog/?p=745

Describing, Not Prescribing – Vol 4: Refining The Expeditionary Technique – Clint Hoagland – http://vscomputer.wordpress.com/2013/12/21/describing-not-prescribing-vol-4-refining-the-expeditionary-technique/

Do Testers Need Programming Skills? – Mukesh Sharma – http://www.techwell.com/2013/12/do-testers-need-programming-skills

Failure Can Help Us!! – Dan Ashby – http://danashby04.wordpress.com/2013/12/17/failure-can-help-us/

Forget developers in test, we need testers in development – Trish Khoo – http://trishkhoo.com/2013/12/forget-developers-in-test-we-need-testers-in-development/

How to Improve Your Testing Skills and Beat the Competition! – Vijay Shinde – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/how-to-improve-your-testing-skills-and-beat-the-competition/

It’s beginning to feel a lot like Christmas … – Mike Talks – http://testsheepnz.blogspot.com/2013/12/its-beginning-to-feel-lot-like-christmas.html

My Top 10 Lessons Learned in 2013 – Colin Cherry – http://itesting.com.au/2013/12/19/my-top-10-lessons-learned-in-2013/

On Test Cases and Conversing with Unicorns – Pete Walen – http://rhythmoftesting.blogspot.com/2013/12/on-test-cases-and-conversing-with.html

Pairwise testing – Nicolai L. Nielsen – http://testing4tw.blogspot.com/2013/12/pairwise-testing.html

Playing PC Games as a Test Analyst – Part II: Battlefield 4 – Nicola Owen – http://nickytests.blogspot.com/2013/12/playing-pc-games-as-test-analyst-part.html

Presentation Purpose – Katherine Clokie – http://katrinatester.blogspot.com/2013/12/presentation-purpose.html

Project Inception: The Forgettable Mnemonic – Ash Winter – http://testingisbelieving.blogspot.com/2013/12/project-inception-forgettable-mnemonic.html

Project Mercury and Death of Testing – Aleksis Tulonen – http://flowoftesting.wordpress.com/2013/12/21/project-mercury-and-death-of-testing/

Risk Based Testing x 3 – Anna Hoff – http://thesupertester.com/?p=517

Rudolph Was Not a Brown-Noser – Mike Lyles – http://mikelyles.wordpress.com/2013/12/21/rudolph-was-not-a-brown-noser/

Seek the challenges – Richard Bradshaw – http://www.thefriendlytester.co.uk/2013/12/seek-challenges.html

Sharing Some December Cheer With the #Packt$5 #ebookbonanza – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2013/12/sharing-some-december-cheer-with-packt5.html

Tea Parties, Perspective and Expectations or What Makes a Bug? – Pete Walen – http://rhythmoftesting.blogspot.com/2013/12/tea-parties-perspective-and.html

Testing Levels – Rob Lambert – http://idlethoughts.postach.io/testing-levels

The diary of a troubled software tester: Day 2 – Stop to take a screenshot, again! – Andy Glover – http://www.excointouch.com/news/blog/exco-intouch-blog/2013/12/19/the-diary-of-a-troubled-software-tester-day-2—stop-to-take-a-screenshot-again!

The Google Test and Development Environment – Pt. 1: Office and Equipment – Anthony Vallone – http://googletesting.blogspot.com/2013/12/the-google-test-and-development.html

The On in Wrong? – James Thomas – http://qahiccupps.blogspot.com/2013/12/the-on-in-wrong.html

This could easily be the testing industry – James Christie – http://qahiccupps.blogspot.com/2013/12/the-on-in-wrong.html

When Poor Test Documentation Hurts – Eric Jacobson – http://www.testthisblog.com/2013/12/when-poor-test-documentation-hurts.html

Conferences/Meetups/Organizations/Training

Care and Feeding of Needful Conference Goers – Hilary Weaver – http://g33klady.wordpress.com/2013/12/16/care-and-feeding-of-needful-conference-goers/

Open letter to No-Shows at a Free Conference – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2013/12/dear-all-prospective-conference.html

QA or the Highway – Matt Hutchison – http://blog.testingcurator.com/2013/12/18/qa-or-the-highway/

SIGIST 2013 Panel – Should Testers Be Able to Code – Alan Richardson – http://blog.eviltester.com/2013/12/sigist-2013-panel-should-testers-be.html

Attention: Ohio Testers and those that can make it to Columbus, OH

2/18/2014 – Conference – QA or the Highway – http://bit.ly/17oU8qJ

Tools

15 Best Test Management Tools for Software Testers – Vijay Shinde – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/15-best-test-management-tools-for-software-testers/

jBehave + Selenium – Getting started with Thucydides – Part 1 – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2013/12/19/jbehave-selenium-getting-started-with-thucydides-part-1/

Selenium WebDriver – Version 2.39.0 Released – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2013/12/21/selenium-webdriver-version-2-39-0-released/

Stand Alone Geb Utility – Selenium34 – http://selenium34.wordpress.com/2013/12/19/stand-alone-geb-utility/

UFT FIX – VM hangs when working with UFT and .NET – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2013/12/17/uft-fix-vm-hangs-when-working-with-uft-and-net/

Miscellaneous

Books I Read: Gung Ho! – Bernice Niel Ruhland – http://thetestersedge.com/2013/12/15/books-i-read-gung-ho/

Cartoon: Appreciation – Andy Glover – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2013/12/show-appreciation/

Cartoon: Test Leadership – Andy Glover – http://cartoontester.blogspot.com/2013/12/test-leadership.html

Cartoon: Test Report – Andy Glover – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2013/12/test-report/

eBook – My Software Under Test and Other Animals – James Thomas – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2013/12/ebook-my-system-under-test-and-other-animals/

Podcast: Episode #32 Virtual User Tips N’ Tricks Part 2 – Mark Tomlinson, James Pulley – http://www.perfbytes.com/virtual-user-tips-n-tricks-part-2

Podcast: SoftwareTestPro – Session 503: Building a Successful Test Center of Excellence – Testing Podcast – http://testingpodcast.com/softwaretestpro-session-503-building-a-successful-test-center-of-excellence/

Podcast: SoftwareTestPro – Session 704: Automation Squared: Generating and Executing Test Plans – Testing Podcast – http://testingpodcast.com/softwaretestpro-session-503-building-a-successful-test-center-of-excellence/

Podcast: Session 903: How to Build an Enterprise Grade Mobile Testing Strategy – Testing Podcast – http://testingpodcast.com/softwaretestpro-session-903-how-to-build-an-enterprise-grade-mobile-testing-strategy/

Read, Watch, and Give Feedback ==> Webinar: The Good, the Bad, the Metrics! – Mike Lyles – http://mikelyles.wordpress.com/2013/12/18/webinar-good-bad-metrics/

Webinar: Agile Testing in the Real World: 12/10/13 – Rex Black – http://testingpodcast.com/webinar-agile-testing-in-the-real-world-121013

Personal Reflections, Goals, Conference Announcements from Testers

A Big Change – Richard Bradshaw – http://www.thefriendlytester.co.uk/2013/12/a-big-change.html

My Year as a Shut-In Tester – Daniel Woodward – http://whotestedthis.squarespace.com/journal/2013/12/20/my-year-as-a-shut-in-tester.html

On Surroundings, Clutter and Getting Out of My Own Way – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2013/12/on-surroundings-clutter-and-getting-out.html

Items of Interest for Testers

Battle of the browsers 2014: which is the best web browser for Windows? – Roland Waddilove – http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/test-centre/software/3493898/which-is-best-web-browser-for-windows-2014/

DARPA wants you to play video games – Michelle Starr – http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-57615760-1/darpa-wants-you-to-play-video-games/

Good Books for Software Developers to Read – Steve Berczuk – http://www.techwell.com/2013/12/good-books-software-developers-read

Microsoft 2013 What’s Next? – Jonathan Ross – http://warptest.com/2013/12/microsoft-2013-whats-next/

Not-To-Do Lists Are Just as Valuable as To-Do Lists – Naomi Karten – http://www.techwell.com/2013/12/not-do-lists-are-just-valuable-do-lists

NSA Uses Special Google Cookies to Aid in Surveillance – Jonathan Vanian – http://www.techwell.com/2013/12/nsa-uses-special-google-cookies-aid-surveillance

Opera’s iPad-only Coast browser gets 2.0 release – Liam Tung – http://www.zdnet.com/operas-ipad-only-coast-browser-gets-2-0-release-7000024387/

Smartphones Predicted to (Finally) Exceed the Number of PCs in the New Year – Katherine Slattery – http://blog.utest.com/smartphones-predicted-to-finally-exceed-the-number-of-pcs-in-the-new-year/2013/12/

Target Investigating Security Breach of 40 Million Card Accounts – Beth Romanik – http://www.techwell.com/2013/12/target-investigating-security-breach-40-million-card-accounts

The Case for a Compulsory Bug Bounty – Brian Krevs – http://krebsonsecurity.com/2013/12/the-case-for-a-compulsory-bug-bounty/

The Most Memorable Security Breaches of 2013 – Cameron Philipp-Edmonds – http://www.techwell.com/2013/12/most-memorable-security-breaches-2013

Wearable Tech: As Big as the Smartphone? – Ryan Aresenault – http://blog.utest.com/wearable-tech-as-big-as-the-smartphone/2013/12/

Xbox One: Internet Explorer – Paul Thurrott – http://winsupersite.com/xbox/xbox-one-internet-explorer

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *