Testing Bits – 12/29/13 – 1/4/14

Happy New Year!  Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 12/29/13 – 1/4/14.

Articles & Blogs

10 reasons why test automation is not easy – Andrei Contan – http://andrei.contan.ro/test-automation-not-easy/

A few more books to develop your leadership skills – Bernice Niel Ruhland – http://thetestersedge.com/2014/01/04/a-few-more-books-to-develop-your-leadership-skills/

Blog: Counting the Wagons – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2013/12/counting-the-wagons/

Blog: Your User Is Not You – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2013/12/your-user-is-not-you/

Exploratory Software Testing: Tips, Tricks, Tours, and Techniques to Guide Test Design – JCD – http://about98percentdone.blogspot.com/2014/01/exploratory-software-testing-tips.html

Heroes and Villains – JCD – http://about98percentdone.blogspot.com/2014/01/heroes-and-villains.html

How BDD Really Works… – Paul Littlebury – http://jaffamonkey.com/how-bdd-works/

How Codeless Test Automation Helps Overcome Conventional Test Automation Challenges? – Prashant Chambakara – http://qainsights.com/codeless-test-automation-helps-overcome-conventional-test-automation-challenges/

How Did Teaching Test Automation Work Out? – MARTIJN DE VRIEZE – http://martijndevrieze.net/2014/01/02/how-did-teaching-test-automation-work-out/

How to test password feature in web application? – Santhosh Tuppad – http://tuppad.com/blog/2013/12/30/how-to-test-password-feature-in-web-application/

Is Defect Removal Efficiency a Fallacy? – John Stevenson – http://steveo1967.blogspot.com/2013/12/is-defect-removal-efficiency-fallacy.html

Mr. Langella Never Does It The Same Way Twice – James Bach – http://www.satisfice.com/blog/archives/1343

Nothing Good Was Ever Fashionable – Paul Littlebury – http://jaffamonkey.com/nothing-good-was-ever-fashionable/

Predicting Defect Detection Rates IS Possible (If I Have To) – Colin Cherry – http://itesting.com.au/2013/12/30/predicting-defect-detection-rates-is-possible-if-i-have-to/

Testing quotes websites – Rob van Steenbergen – http://rvansteenbergen.blogspot.com/2014/01/testing-quotes-websites.html

The Beginner’s Guide to Writing a Perfect Software Testing Resume (with Free Sample Resume) – Vijay Shinde – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/writing-perfect-software-testing-resume-free-sample-qa-resume/

The Google Test and Development Environment – Pt. 2: Dogfooding and Office Software – Anthony Vallone – http://googletesting.blogspot.com/2014/01/the-google-test-and-development.html

The “Which Language Should I Learn” Dilemma – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/the-which-language-should-i-learn-dilemma/

Top 10 Testing Predictions for 2014 – Mario – http://ortask.com/top-10-testing-predictions-for-2014/

Training Witches – Katrina Clokie – http://katrinatester.blogspot.com/2014/01/training-witches.html

What would a Leader do? – Brent M Jensen – http://testastic.wordpress.com/2013/12/30/what-would-a-leader-do/

When bugs feel too simple – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2014/01/when-bugs-feel-too-simple.html

Conferences/Meetups/Organizations/Training

Mobile App Europe 2014 – Daniel Knott – http://dnlkntt.wordpress.com/2014/01/02/mobile-app-europe-2014/

Some SWET6 notes – Simon Morley – http://testers-headache.blogspot.com/2014/01/some-swet6-notes.html

Attention: Ohio Testers and those that can make it to Columbus, OH

1/28/14 – Columbus, OH – Software QA & Testing Meetup – Documenting for Testing – http://bit.ly/19UrdKJ

2/18/14 – Columbus, OH – Conference – QA or the Highway – http://bit.ly/17oU8qJ

Tools

AMF Protocol Overview in HP LoadRunner – NaveenKumar N – http://qainsights.com/amf-protocol-overview-in-hp-loadrunner/

Load Testing: Which Tool to Choose? Update – Alex Podelko – http://alexanderpodelko.com/blog/2014/01/02/load-testing-which-tool-to-choose-update/

Miscellaneous

Book: An awfully big adventure – reads in 2013 … – Mike Talks – http://testsheepnz.blogspot.com/2014/01/an-awfully-big-adventure-reads-in-2013.html

Book: Make me write a book and get it for free – Gojko Adzic – http://gojko.net/2014/01/01/make-me-write-a-book-and-get-it-for-free/

Book: Taiichi Ohno Workplace Management – Justin Rohrman – http://justinrohrman.com/blog/book-review-taiichi-ohno-workplace-management/

Podcasts: Episode #33 PerfBytes Year In Review 2013 – http://www.perfbytes.com/perfbytes-year-in-review-2013

Personal Reflections, Goals, Conference Announcements from Testers

10 years in – Erik Davis – http://testingthoughts.com/erikdavis/?p=43

2013 – A Year in Review – Teri Charles – http://bouldertester.blogspot.com/2013/12/2013-year-in-review.html

2013 – the year of change – Pradeep Soundararajan – http://testertested.blogspot.com/2014/01/2013-year-of-change.html

2013 What a year to be in the Testing community! – Richard Bradshaw – http://www.thefriendlytester.co.uk/2013/12/2013-what-year.html

2013: A Year of Software Development and Testing in Quotes – Jonathan Vanian – http://www.stickyminds.com/article/2013-year-software-development-and-testing-quotes

A Year in Pictures: Retrospecting 2013 – Rajesh Mathur – http://dogmatictesting.blogspot.com/2013/12/a-year-in-pictures-retrospecting-2013.html

A Year in Review – Michael Corum – http://tnridgeback.blogspot.com/2013/11/a-year-in-review.html

Ajay of 2013 thanks 2013 and welcomes 2014. – Ajay Balamurugadas – http://enjoytesting.blogspot.com/2013/12/ajay-of-2013-thanks-2013-and-welcomes.html

Benefits Me vs. Benefits the Project – Amy Phillips – http://testingthemind.wordpress.com/2014/01/02/benefits-me-vs-benefits-the-project/

End of Year at Work – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2013/12/end-of-year-at-work.html

Goals for 2014 – Anand Ramdeo – http://www.testinggeek.com/goals-for-2014

Happy Holidays and a Thank You from Joe! – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2013/12/31/happy-holidays-and-a-thank-you-from-joe/

It’s This Time of the Year 2013 – Helena J Mae – http://thepainandgainofedwardbear.wordpress.com/2013/12/30/its-this-time-of-the-year-2013/

Make 2014 a year to dream big and make it happen! – Bernice Niel Ruhland – http://thetestersedge.com/2013/12/31/make-2014-a-year-to-dream-big-and-make-it-happen/

My year 2013 in review – Patrick Prill – http://testpappy.wordpress.com/2013/12/30/my-year-2013-in-review/

My Year of Review: 2013 – Srinivas Kadiyala – http://testingeduindia.blogspot.com/2013/12/my-year-of-review-2013.html

New “Mission of The Year” 2014 – Srinivas Kadiyala – http://testingeduindia.blogspot.com/2014/01/new-mission-of-year-2014.html

On Resolutions, Commitments and How Nature Abhors A Vacuum – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/01/on-resolutions-commitments-and-how.html

Significant Changes in the QA World: Our 2013 Recap & Happy New Year! – Vijay Shinde – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/significant-changes-in-the-qa-world/

Talent Minus Hard Work Equals ??? – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/01/talent-minus-hard-work-equals.html

The Mike Lyles 2013 In Review – Mike Lyles – http://mikelyles.wordpress.com/2014/01/01/mike-lyles-2013-review/

This year and the next (2013 recap) – Justin Rohrman – http://justinrohrman.com/blog/this-year-and-the-next-2013-recap/

Under the Rocks and Stones – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2013/12/under-rocks-and-stones.html

What a Year – Erik Davis – http://testingthoughts.com/erikdavis/?p=180

Where did 2013 go? – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2013/12/where-did-2013-go.html

Whoever you are, whatever you do, YOU ARE FIRED!!! – Joel Montvelisky – http://qablog.practitest.com/2013/12/whoever-you-are-whatever-you-do-you-are-fired/

Word of The Year 2014 – Stephan Kamper – http://seasidetesting.com/2013/12/31/word-of-the-year-2014/

Year-end Memories and Thoughts – Elena Houser – http://trancecyberiantester.blogspot.com/2013/12/year-end-memories-and-thoughts.html

Items of Interest for Testers

Become a software testing craftsman: How to build quality applications – Jason Tee – http://www.theserverside.com/feature/Become-a-software-testing-craftsman-How-to-build-quality-applications

Better software testing and improved quality starts with the culture – Jason Tee – http://www.theserverside.com/feature/Better-software-testing-and-improved-quality-starts-with-the-culture

Beware: Security Breaches on the Rise this Holiday Season – Katherine Slattery – http://blog.utest.com/beware-security-breaches-on-the-rise-this-holiday-season/2013/12/

Continuous Delivery is Mainstream – Noah Sussman – http://infiniteundo.com/post/71540519157/continuous-delivery-is-mainstream

Internet Explorer 11 skyrockets in market share from 3.27% to 10.01% as of Dec 2013 – Ron – http://www.winbeta.org/news/internet-explorer-11-skyrockets-market-share-327-1001-dec-2013

Learn Which Apps Consume the Most Data – Jamie Saine – http://blog.utest.com/learn-which-apps-consume-the-most-data/2013/12/

Snapchat Fumbles the Privacy of 4.6 Million Accounts – Ben Gray – http://blog.utest.com/snapchat-fumbles-the-privacy-of-4-6-million-accounts/2014/01/

Year-end Web browser dogfight results – Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols – http://www.zdnet.com/year-end-web-browser-dogfight-results-7000024745/

Your USB cable, the spy: Inside the NSA’s catalog of surveillance magic –  Sean Gallagher – http://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2013/12/inside-the-nsas-leaked-catalog-of-surveillance-magic/

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *