Testing Bits – 1/5/14 – 1/11/14

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 1/5/14 – 1/11/14.

Articles & Blogs

A Test is a Performance – James Bach – http://www.satisfice.com/blog/archives/1346

Agile Coaching Book Review – My Favourite Bits Mindmapped! – Ash Winter – http://testingisbelieving.blogspot.com/2014/01/agile-coaching-book-review-my-favourite.html

Blog: Not-So-Great Expectations – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2014/01/not-so-great-expectations/

Can you test without knowing the names of your users? – Joel Montvelisky – http://qablog.practitest.com/2014/01/how-can-you-test-a-product-without-knowing-the-names-of-your-users/

Checklist: Tips To Approach Test Automation – Rosie Sherry – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/01/checklist-tips-approach-test-automation/

Contribute: Mobile Testing Checklist – Rosie Sherry – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/01/contribute-mobile-testing-checklist/

Creating a Test Lab – Rob Lambert – http://thesocialtester.co.uk/creating-a-test-lab/

Do you really think finding YOUR bugs is fun?!? – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2014/01/do-you-really-think-finding-your-bugs.html

DRE: changing reality so we can count it – James Christie – http://clarotesting.wordpress.com/2014/01/07/dre-changing-reality-so-we-can-count-it/

Exploratory Testing as Empirical Process Control – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/01/06/exploratory-testing-as-empirical-process-control/

Follow through – it just might pay off – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2014/01/follow-through-it-just-might-pay-off.html

How to Performance Test an Application – LoadRunner Training Tutorial Part 2 – Chetan Kaushal – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/how-to-performance-test-an-application-loadrunner-training-tutorial-part-2/

How to get RESPECT as a Tester – Rivkah Abrahams – http://thenakedtester.com/2014/01/05/how-to-get-respect-as-a-tester/

Integrity #3: A Testimonial – James Bach – http://www.satisfice.com/blog/archives/1361

Internationalization Best Practices for Agile Teams – Marcia Rose Sweezey – http://www.stickyminds.com/article/internationalization-best-practices-agile-teams

Introduction to Performance Testing – LoadRunner Training Tutorial Part 1 – Chetan Kaushal – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/introduction-to-performance-testing-loadrunner-training-tutorial-part-1/

Klaus Olsen Elaborates on Bug Hunting – Rui Miguel Ferreira – http://www.infoq.com/news/2014/01/Klaus-Olsen-bug-hunting

Last Orders? – James Thomas – http://qahiccupps.blogspot.com/2014/01/last-orders.html

Practice Makes Progress – Matt Heusser – http://www.stickyminds.com/blog/matt-heusser/practice-makes-progress

Practice makes progress: exercise for stickyminds – Justin Rohrman – http://justinrohrman.com/blog/practice-makes-progress

Surprised and Shocked by Traditional Testing Literature – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/01/07/surprised-and-shocked-by-traditional-testing-literature/

Test Process Improvement – Nicolai L. Nielsen – http://testing4tw.blogspot.com/2014/01/test-process-improvement.html

Testing Circus Interview – December 2013 – Keith Klain – http://qualityremarks.com/testing-circus-interview-december-2013/

The Non-Tester Tester – Amy Phillips – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/01/the-non-tester-tester/

Transitioning to Agile/SCRUM: the impact on testing – Jeroen Mengerink – http://jmengerink.wordpress.com/2014/01/07/transitioning-to-agilescrum-the-impact-on-testing/

Understanding Your Mobile User – Stephen Janaway – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/01/understanding-mobile-user/

When All Seems Lost or Beating the Advance – Pete Walen – http://rhythmoftesting.blogspot.com/2014/01/when-all-seems-lost-or-beating-advance.html

Why You Need to Do More Than Just Test Requirements: An Interview with Jon Hagar – Jonathan Vanian – http://www.stickyminds.com/interview/why-you-need-do-more-just-test-requirements-interview-jon-hagar

Conferences/Meetups/Organizations/Training

Balance and Conferences and Life, Oh My! – Pete Walen – http://rhythmoftesting.blogspot.com/2014/01/balance-and-conferences-and-life-oh-my.html

CAST 2014: Registration open & CFP closing – AST – http://www.associationforsoftwaretesting.org/2014/01/06/cast-2014-registration-open-cfp-closing/

Codemash: Advanced Topics in Agile Testing Workshop – Lisa Crispin – http://lisacrispin.com/2014/01/08/codemash-advanced-topics-agile-testing-workshop/

Example note taking at a conference – Rob Lambert – http://idlethoughts.postach.io/example-note-taking-at-a-conference

How to help developers grok testing – Lisa Crispin – http://lisacrispin.com/2014/01/10/help-developers-grok-testing/

Make presentation selection difficult for EuroSTAR 2014 – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2014/01/make-presentation-selection-difficult.html

New Initiative: Test Invaders – Rosie Sherry – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/01/new-initiative-test-invaders/

Submitting a paper? – Ajay Balamurugadas – http://enjoytesting.blogspot.com/2014/01/submitting-paper.html

Attention: Ohio Testers and those that can make it to Columbus, OH

1/28/14 – Columbus, OH – Software QA & Testing Meetup – Documenting for Testing – http://bit.ly/19UrdKJ

2/18/14 – Columbus, OH – Conference – QA or the Highway – http://bit.ly/17oU8qJ

Tools

Checking If An Element Is Present/Displayed With WebDriver – Richard Bradshaw – http://www.thefriendlytester.co.uk/2014/01/checking-if-element-is-present-with.html

Download Latest Version of Apache JMeter 2.11 – NaveenKumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/download-latest-version-apache-jmeter-2-11/

How to write variable values in JMeter? – NaveenKumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/how-to-write-variable-values-in-jmeter/

HP UFT API – A Brief History – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2014/01/07/hp-uft-api-a-brief-history/

Robotium Recorder – Daniel Knott – http://dnlkntt.wordpress.com/2014/01/07/robotium-recorder/

Speedy FitNesse Roundtrips During Development – Arnout Engelen – http://blog.xebia.com/2014/01/06/speedy-fitnesse-development/

TestSpicer Update – What’s already done and what’s coming next? – http://www.testinggeek.com/testspicer-update-what-s-already-done-and-what-s-coming-next

UFT API – How to Data Drive Scripts Using ALM Resource – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2014/01/09/uft-api-how-to-data-drive-your-script-using-an-alm-resource/

Miscellaneous

Podcast: Episode #34 Blame The Tool – Mark Tomlinson, James Pulley – http://www.perfbytes.com/blame-the-tool

uTest: New Features on uTest University – Course Tracks, Ratings, Suggestions – Todd Smith – http://blog.utest.com/new-features-on-utest-university-course-tracks-ratings-suggestions/2014/01/

Personal Reflections, Goals, Conference Announcements from Testers

2013 uTest Community Year in Review and 2014 Preview – Ryan Arsenault – http://blog.utest.com/2013-utest-community-year-in-review-and-2014-preview/2014/01/

Exciting times ahead – Raji – http://peppytester.blogspot.com/2014/01/exciting-times-ahead.html

New year, new softwaretesting adventures – Cordny Nederkoorn – http://testingsaas.blogspot.com/2014/01/new-year-new-softwaretesting-adventures.html

Items of Interest for Testers

Browser Trends January 2014: a Yearly Review – Craig Buckler – http://www.sitepoint.com/browser-trends-january-2014-yearly-review/

Comprehensive Documentation Has Its Place – Kent McDonald – http://www.stickyminds.com/article/comprehensive-documentation-has-its-place

Despite automatic updates, old browsers are still a problem – Ed Bott – http://www.zdnet.com/despite-automatic-updates-old-browsers-are-still-a-problem-7000024778/

Developers working in Production. Of course! Maybe, sometimes. What, are you nuts? – Jim Bird – http://swreflections.blogspot.com/2014/01/developers-working-in-production-of.html

Have You Become Complacent at Work? – Naomi Karten – http://www.techwell.com/2013/12/have-you-become-complacent-work

HealthCare.gov flaws keep more than 100,000 from Medicaid, CHIP despite eligibility – Amy Goldstein – http://www.oneidadispatch.com/government-and-politics/20140104/healthcaregov-flaws-keep-more-than-100000-from-medicaid-chip-despite-eligibility

Mozilla Bringing Firefox OS to TVs, Tablets, Desktops – Sean Michael Kerner – http://www.eweek.com/enterprise-apps/mozilla-bringing-firefox-os-to-tvs-tablets-desktops.html/

One word for software quality engineers in 2014 – “Continuous” – James Denman – http://itknowledgeexchange.techtarget.com/software-quality/one-word-for-software-quality-engineers-in-2014-continuous/

Pay millions for people to find bugs, argue security researchers – Howard Solomon – http://www.itworldcanada.com/article/pay-millions-for-people-to-find-bugs-argue-security-researchers/88142

Software Testing Trends in 2014 – Raj Neravati – http://www.voicendata.com/voice-data/news/205905/software-testing-trends-2014

The State of Websites in 2014: Stats & Facts You Need to Know – Jesse Pennington – http://www.business2community.com/online-marketing/state-websites-2014-stats-facts-need-know-0738089#!rXqOS

Urban Legends on the Product Manager Role – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/01/10/urban-legends-on-the-productowner-role/

Will We See the Debut of Dual OS Mobile Phones This Year? – Mukesh Sharma – http://www.techwell.com/2014/01/will-we-see-debut-dual-os-mobile-phones-year

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *