Testing Bits – 1/12/14 – 1/18/14

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 1/12/14 – 1/18/14.

Articles & Blogs

4 Key Challenges of Mobile Testing – Mush Honda – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/01/4-key-challenges-mobile-testing/

5 Hot IT Jobs in 2014 – Jamie Saine – http://blog.utest.com/5-hot-it-jobs-in-2014/2014/01/

37 Most Common LoadRunner Interview Questions and Best Answers – Vijay Shinde – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/loadrunner-interview-questions-and-best-answers/

A test passes or fails through what? – Pradeep Soundararajan – http://testertested.blogspot.com/2014/01/a-test-passes-or-fails-through-what.html

Add ‘all’ to questions – Qxf2 – http://qxf2.com/blog/?p=123

Being A Great Tester May Be Easier Than You Think – Eric Jacobson – http://www.testthisblog.com/2014/01/being-great-tester-may-be-easier-than_14.html

Blog: The Pause – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2014/01/the-pause/

Blog: Very Short Blog Posts (10): Planning and Preparation – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2014/01/very-short-blog-posts-10-planning-and-preparation/

Checking IS testing – Alister Scott – http://watirmelon.com/2014/01/17/checking-is-testing/

Divide responsibility for defining stories – Gojko Adzic – http://gojko.net/2014/01/13/divide-responsibility-for-defining-stories/

How much can Testers help in Appsec? – Jim Bird – http://swreflections.blogspot.com/2014/01/how-much-can-testers-help-in-appsec.html

Ideas and Approaches on Developing a Career Plan – Bernice Niel Ruhland – http://thetestersedge.com/2014/01/16/ideas-and-approaches-on-developing-a-career-plan/

Maintainable Automation Tests – The Architecture View – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/01/16/maintainable-automated-tests-the-architecture-view/

On Managing Teams, Personality Traits and Hiring – Pete Walen – http://rhythmoftesting.blogspot.com/2014/01/on-managing-teams-personality-traits.html

Pandora’s Box Testing – Pete Walen – http://rhythmoftesting.blogspot.com/2014/01/pandoras-box-testing.html

Predicting Testing Outcomes (Part 2) – Colin Cherry – http://itesting.com.au/2014/01/14/predicting-testing-outcomes-part-2/

Pregnancy Analogies – Part 1 – Pradeep Soundararajan – http://testertested.blogspot.com/2014/01/pregnancy-analogies-part-1.html

RST Methodology: “Responsible Tester” – James Bach – http://www.satisfice.com/blog/archives/1364

Setting the Right Focus When Getting Started with ATDD – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/01/17/setting-the-right-focus-when-getting-started-with-atdd/

Sketching for fun and profit – Claire Moss – http://blog.aclairefication.com/2014/01/sketching-for-fun-and-profit/

Skills, Abilities, Learning and Confusing Education for Training – Pete Walen – http://rhythmoftesting.blogspot.com/2014/01/skills-abilities-learning-and-confusing.html

So when will you be done? – Erik Brickarp – http://erik.brickarp.se/2014/01/so-when-will-you-be-done.html

Software Tester – From New to Good to Great – Markus Gärtner – http://www.shino.de/2014/01/14/software-tester-from-new-to-good-to-great/

Suitable Stages for Implementation of Test Automation in SDLC – Software Testing Genius – http://www.softwaretestinggenius.com/suitable-stages-for-implementation-of-test-automation-in-sdlc

Test Automation Trends for 2014 – How to Keep Your Skills Up-to-Date – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2014/01/14/test-automation-trends-for-2014-how-to-keep-your-skills-up-to-date/

Test Jumpers: One Vision of Agile Testing – James Bach – http://www.satisfice.com/blog/archives/1372

Test Readiness Review Checklist – Nicolai Nielsen – http://testing4tw.blogspot.com/2014/01/test-readiness-review-checklist.html

Testing = thinking, Thinking = testing – Sharon Robson – http://blog.softed.com/2014/01/13/testing-thinking-thinking-testing/

The Power Of Pairing – Mike Talks – http://testsheepnz.blogspot.com/2014/01/the-power-of-pairing.html

What Will You Do To Develop Your Leadership Potential? – Bernice Niel Ruhland – http://thetestersedge.com/2014/01/12/what-will-you-do-to-develop-your-leadership-potential/

Why can’t anyone talk about frameworks? – JCD – http://about98percentdone.blogspot.com/2014/01/why-cant-anyone-talk-about-frameworks.html

Conferences/Meetups/Organizations/Training

First official Testathon – Daniel Knott – http://dnlkntt.wordpress.com/2014/01/17/first-official-testathon/

Personal invite to the Belgium testing days – Derk-Jan de Grood – http://djdegrood.wordpress.com/2014/01/16/personal-invite-to-the-belgium-testing-days/

Professional meeting? JeST DO IT – Issi Hazan-Fuchs – http://testermindset.blogspot.com/2014/01/professional-meeting-jest-do-it.html

Support your local – Jokin Aspiazu – http://jokinaspiazu.blogspot.com/2014/01/support-your-local.html

Testathon – Paul Carvalho – http://swtester.blogspot.com/2014/01/testathon.html

Through the looking glass – Katrina Clokie – http://katrinatester.blogspot.com/2014/01/through-looking-glass.html

WT 104 – ParkCalc : Parking simulator – Weekend Testing – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3362

WTA-47: Test Reporting and Management with Ubertesters – Michael Larsen – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3371

Attention: Ohio Testers and those that can make it to Columbus, OH

1/28/14 – Columbus, OH – Software QA & Testing Meetup – Documenting for Testing – http://bit.ly/19UrdKJ

2/18/14 – Columbus, OH – Conference – QA or the Highway – http://bit.ly/17oU8qJ

Tools

Automated Testing Mobile Device with SeeTest Automate – Derk-Jan de Grood – http://djdegrood.wordpress.com/2014/01/13/automated-testing-mobile-device-with-seetest-automate/

Learn HP LoadRunner Load Testing Tool in 8 Days – Free LoadRunner Training Tutorials – Chetan Kaushal – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/hp-loadrunner-load-testing-tool-training-tutorials/

Review – Selenium WebDriver Basics with Java Video Course – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2014/01/16/review-selenium-webdriver-basics-with-java-video-course/

Miscellaneous

Podcast 51 – Software Test Podcast – http://blog.softwaretestpodcast.com/2014/01/13/episode-51.aspx

Personal Reflections, Goals, Conference Announcements from Testers

A Decade in Software Testing – Summary – Parimala Hariprasad – http://curioustester.blogspot.com/2014/01/a-decade-in-software-testing-summary.html

I’m a BBST Instructor – Chris Kenst – http://www.mytechfetish.com/2014/01/im-bbst-instructor.html

Items of Interest for Testers

So This Is What Writing A $43MM Blog Post Feels Like – Doron Reuveni – http://blog.utest.com/so-this-is-what-writing-a-43m-blog-post-feels-like/2014/01/

The Power of Ignorance – Steve Berczuk – http://www.techwell.com/2014/01/power-ignorance

Use Timeboxing to Boost Your Efficiency – Ulf Eriksson – http://www.techwell.com/2014/01/use-timeboxing-boost-your-efficiency

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *