Testing Bits – 1/19/14 – 1/25/14

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 1/19/14 – 1/25/14.

Articles & Blogs

A Sustainable Mission for Context Driven Testing? – Anders Dinsen – http://blog.asym.dk/2014/01/24/a-sustainable-mission-for-context-driven-testing/

Agile Testing Heuristic: The Power of Looking – James Bach – http://www.satisfice.com/blog/archives/1435

Automation Considerations – Nicolai L. Nielsen – http://testing4tw.blogspot.com/2014/01/automation-considerations.html

Browser Wishlist 2013 – Steve Souders – http://www.stevesouders.com/blog/2014/01/22/browser-wishlist-2013/

Career planning as a path to promotion – using Mind Maps – Bernice Niel Ruhland – http://thetestersedge.com/2014/01/25/career-planning-as-a-path-to-promotion-using-mind-maps/

Community Spotlight Presents Fiona Charles – EuroSTAR Community – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2014/1/24/community-spotlight-presents-fiona-charles

Does Agile Really Lead to “Amateur, Untrained, Unmotivated” Testers? – Joe Strazzere – http://www.allthingsquality.com/2014/01/does-agile-really-lead-to-amateur.html

Exploratory Testing – How to Think Beyond Traditional Testing Boundaries? – Bhumika Mehta – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/exploratory-testing-beyond-traditional-testing-boundaries/

Failure Mode and Effects Analysis (FMEA) – How to Analyze Risks for Better Software Quality & Satisfied Customers! – Shilpa Chatterjee Roy – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/failure-mode-and-effects-analysis-fmea/

Healthcare.gov still says “Please wait” – Ben Simo – http://blog.isthereaproblemhere.com/2014/01/healthcaregov-still-says-please-wait.html

How Are You Changing Testing? – Simon Knight – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/01/testing-changing/

How to Insult a Tester – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2014/01/how-to-insult-tester.html

Improve yourself as a tester – The Learning view – David Tzhmach – http://www.dtvisiontech.com/2014/01/improve-yourself-as-tester-learning-view.html

Is manual testing very easy? A comparison… – Patrick Prill – http://testpappy.wordpress.com/2014/01/22/is-manual-testing-very-easy-a-comparison/

Learn How to Program in 21 Days (or so) – Markus Gartner – http://www.associationforsoftwaretesting.org/2014/01/23/learn-how-to-program-in-21-days-or-so/

Learn the Essentials of Accessibility Testing – Andrew Takahashi – http://blog.utest.com/learn-the-essentials-of-accessibility-testing/2014/01/

List of valid and invalid email addresses – Kimball Robinson – http://bitsofsoftware.blogspot.com/2014/01/list-of-valid-and-invalid-email.html

My EPIC Process ASS – James Thomas – http://qahiccupps.blogspot.com/2014/01/my-epic-process-ass.html

New Project… Old Knowledge – Michele Smith – http://testerlostfocus.blogspot.com/2014/01/new-project-old-knowledge.html

Shine a light – Rob Lambert – http://thesocialtester.co.uk/shine-a-light/

SQL? NoSQL? NewSQL? What the….SQL?? – Sharon Robson – http://blog.softed.com/2014/01/20/sql-nosql-newsql-what-the%E2%80%A6-sql/

Steps toward Becoming Context-driven in the Netherlands – Joris Meerts – http://dewt.wordpress.com/2014/01/19/steps-toward-becoming-context-driven-in-the-netherlands/

Testing and Multitasking!! – Ruma Dak – http://rumadak.wordpress.com/2014/01/23/testing-and-multitasking/

Testing the Limits with Cem Kaner, Author of The Domain Testing Workbook – Cem Kaner – http://blog.utest.com/testing-the-limits-with-cem-kaner-author-of-the-domain-testing-workbook/2014/01/

Testing your iOS app’s share functionality – Alister Scott – http://watirmelon.com/2014/01/19/testing-your-ios-apps-share-functionality/

The Google Test and Development Environment – Pt. 3: Code, Build, and Test – Anthony Vallone – http://googletesting.blogspot.com/2014/01/the-google-test-and-development_21.html

The Khaaaan Of Mobile App Testing. – Jonathan Ross – http://warptest.com/2014/01/khaaaan-mobile-app-testing/

User Interface Design – Observations – Srinivas Kadiyala – http://testingeduindia.blogspot.com/2014/01/user-interface-design-observations.html

What is an HTTP Request? – Naveen Kumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/http-request/

What is QA? – Richard Bradshaw – http://www.thefriendlytester.co.uk/2014/01/what-is-qa.html

Why Should Just The Developers Have All the Fun? – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/01/24/why-should-just-the-developers-have-all-the-fun/

Conferences/Meetups/Organizations/Training

London #TesterGathering – 29th January – The Shooting Star – Tony Bruce – http://dancedwiththetester.blogspot.com/2014/01/london-testergathering-29th-january.html

On the design of advanced courses in software testing – Cem Kaner – http://kaner.com/?p=374

Review – Automated Web Testing with Selenium and C# Video Course – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2014/01/21/review-automated-web-testing-with-selenium-and-c-video-course/

Selenium London Meetup on 26’Th Feb – Anand Ramdeo – http://www.testinggeek.com/selenium-london-meetup-on-26-th-feb

Some Notes from Copenhagen Context 2014 – Helena J Mae – http://thepainandgainofedwardbear.wordpress.com/2014/01/26/some-notes-from-copenhagen-context-2014/

the QT… – Keith Klain – http://qualityremarks.com/the-qt/

Upcoming Software Testing Free Webinars – Naveen Kumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/upcoming-software-testing-free-webinars/

Attention: Ohio Testers

1/28/14 – Columbus, OH – Software QA & Testing Meetup – Documenting for Testing – http://bit.ly/19UrdKJ

1/29/14 – Independence, OH – NOTICE (with Erik Davis) – Plan the year! – http://bit.ly/1dXNN81

2/6/14 – Columbus, OH – Columbus ATDD Developers Group – NEW GROUP – http://bit.ly/1aSANhd

2/18/14 – Columbus, OH – Conference – QA or the Highway – http://bit.ly/17oU8qJ

Tools

C# WebDriver extension: Driver.TakeScreenshot – Alister Scott – http://watirmelon.com/2014/01/21/c-webdriver-extension-driver-takescreenshot/

Checking an element is present in C# WebDriver – Alister Scott – http://watirmelon.com/2014/01/23/checking-an-element-is-present-in-c-webdriver/

How to properly write automated check – Karlo Smid – http://zagorskisoftwaretester.blogspot.com/2014/01/how-to-properly-write-automated-check.html

QTP/UFT – Is Google Chrome Frame Supported? – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2014/01/25/qtpuft-is-google-chrome-frame-supported

Miscellaneous

Exercise: Lateral Exercise V: FizzBuzz – Rikard Edgren – http://thetesteye.com/blog/2014/01/lateral-tester-exercise-v-fizzbuzz/

Retro Book Review: Tribes – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/01/retro-book-review-tribes.html

Video: Making CEOs Understand Testing – Jamie Saine – http://www.mobileapptesting.com/video-making-ceos-understand-testing/2014/01/

Webinar: Resources from “How to Test Without Defined Requirements” Webinar – Randy Rice – http://randallrice.blogspot.com/2014/01/resources-from-how-to-test-without.html

Personal Reflections, Goals, Conference Announcements from Testers

A New Year – 2014 Goals – Rob Lambert – http://thesocialtester.co.uk/a-new-year-2014-goals/

Looking for a mentor –  Patrick Prill – http://testpappy.wordpress.com/2014/01/20/looking-for-a-mentor/

Manager of Testing – That’s one way to get the QA out of your title – Erik Davis – http://testingthoughts.com/erikdavis/?p=186

Items of Interest for Testers

Adblock Plus for Safari arrives today, Mac users rejoice – Carly Page – http://www.theinquirer.net/inquirer/news/2324163/adblock-plus-for-safari-arrives-today-mac-users-rejoice

Apple Dominates in US, Android Rules Globally – Jamie Saine – http://www.mobileapptesting.com/apple-dominates-in-us-android-rules-globally/2014/01/

Can you Learn and Improve without Agile Retrospectives? Of course you can… – Jim Bird – http://swreflections.blogspot.com/2014/01/can-you-learn-and-improve-without-agile.html

Chrome 32 takes Windows 8.1 way beyond any Windows 8 app – Greg Shutlz – http://www.techrepublic.com/article/chrome-32-takes-windows-81-way-beyond-any-windows-8-app/#.

Forbes Names uTest 7th Most Promising Company in America – Matt Johnston – http://blog.utest.com/forbes-names-utest-7th-most-promising-company-in-america/2014/01/

Gmail Outage Caused by Software Bug Yahoo Shares on Twitter Apologizes  – Angelina Bouc – http://guardianlv.com/2014/01/gmail-outage-caused-by-software-bug-yahoo-shares-on-twitter-apologizes/

Infographic: The State of Mobile in 2014 – Jamie Saine – http://www.mobileapptesting.com/infographic-the-state-of-mobile-in-2014/2014/01/

The Huge Cost of a Data Breach – Jamie Saine – http://blog.utest.com/the-huge-cost-of-a-data-breach/2014/01/

Contact Me:

Do you have a conference or event you would like to have added to this list?  Do you write a blog and don’t see your posting here?  There is a chance, I may not be following your blog yet.

Send an email to thecurator@testingcurator.com or a direct message via Twitter to @TestingCurator and I will add your event or site to the list of places that I track!

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *