Testing Bits – 1/26/14 – 2/1/14

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 1/26/14 – 2/1/14.

Articles & Blogs

Are you a Tester or a QA Engineer? – Garth Waterhouse – http://www.testingthewaterhouse.com/2014/01/are-you-tester-or-qa-engineer.html

Automated Functional Testing – A Test Activity? – Stephen Janaway – http://stephenjanaway.co.uk/stephenjanaway/blog/automated-functional-testing-a-test-activity/

Blog: Very Short Blog Posts (11): Passing Test Cases – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2014/01/very-short-blog-posts-11-passing-test-cases/

Community Spotlight Presents Nathalie van Delft – EurSTAR Community – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2014/1/31/community-spotlight-presents-nathalie-van-delft

Learner-Learner Interaction – Katrina Clokie – http://katrinatester.blogspot.com/2014/01/learner-learner-interaction.html

Measuring Exploratory Testing – John Stevenson – http://steveo1967.blogspot.com/2014/01/measuring-exploratory-testing.html

Mobile App Testing Should Reach Across OS Versions – Patrick Daly – http://blog.utest.com/mobile-app-testing-should-reach-across-os-versions/2014/01/

No KPIs: Use Discussion – Jame Bach – http://www.satisfice.com/blog/archives/1440

Potty training – Claire Moss – http://blog.aclairefication.com/2014/01/potty-training/

QA from Point 0 – Adi – http://moresoftwaretest.blogspot.com/2014/01/qa-from-point-0.html

Riffing on the Quadrants – Alan Page – http://angryweasel.com/blog/?p=792

Speaking to Management: Coverage Reporting – Anders Dinsen – http://blog.asym.dk/2014/02/01/speaking-to-management-coverage-reporting/

Standard Risk List for Projects – Nicolai L. Nielsen – http://testing4tw.blogspot.com/2014/01/standard-risk-list-for-projects.html

Tester Murphy discovers a new way of ensuring Test Coverage! – Ruma Dak – http://rumadak.wordpress.com/2014/01/29/tester-murphy-discovers-a-new-way-of-ensuring-test-coverage/

Testing is risky business – G. Arnold Koch – http://www.sdtimes.com/content/article.aspx?ArticleID=68652&page=1

The Motion Sickness Heuristic – Chris S – http://secondsignofmadness.blogspot.com/2014/01/the-motion-sickness-heuristic.html

The product you test can make or break you as a tester – Rob Lambert – http://thesocialtester.co.uk/the-product-you-test-can-make-or-break-you-as-a-tester/

Top 5 Things a Tester Must Have to Excel (And the Software Tester’s Shifting Perspectives) – Ratha Jegatheson – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/top-5-things-tester-must-have-to-excel/

UAT – how much is it worth? – Sharon Robson – http://blog.softed.com/2014/01/27/uat-%E2%80%93-how-much-is-it-worth/

Using games to aid tester creativity – John Stevenson – http://steveo1967.blogspot.com/2014/01/using-games-to-aid-tester-creativity.html

Why Testers Need to Get Used to Change – Jeremy Carey-Dressler – http://www.stickyminds.com/article/why-testers-need-get-used-change


About Copenhagen Context conference and how it went – Jokin Aspiazu – http://jokinaspiazu.blogspot.com/2014/01/about-copenhagen-context-conference-and.html

Attending the EuroSTAR Conference for the First Time – Richard Bradshaw – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2014/1/27/attending-the-eurostar-conference-for-the-first-time

Don’t submit to EuroSTAR 2014, unless.. – Alexandra Casapu – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2014/1/29/dont-submit-to-eurostar-2014-unless

London Tester Gathering Workshop 2014 – Stephen Janaway – http://stephenjanaway.co.uk/stephenjanaway/mobile/london-tester-gathering-workshops-2014/

Mobile Testing Course – 26th March – Stephen Janaway – http://stephenjanaway.co.uk/stephenjanaway/ministry-of-testing/mobile-testing-course-26th-march/

Professional Testing Organizations – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/01/27/professional-testing-organizations/

Testing Presentations – Jez Nicholson – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/01/testing-presentations/

Attention: Ohio Testers

2/6/14 – Columbus, OH – Columbus ATDD Developers Group – NEW GROUP – http://bit.ly/1aSANhd

2/6/14 – Independence, OH – NOTICE (with Erik Davis) – Plan the year! – http://bit.ly/1dXNN8

2/18/14 – Columbus, OH – Conference – QA or the Highway – http://bit.ly/17oU8qJ

2/25/14 – Columbus, OH – Software QA & Testing Meetup – What I Learned at QA or the Highway – http://bit.ly/1fkU6iJ


Automation speeds up testing in Windows Mobile embedded projects – http://searchsoftwarequality.techtarget.com/answer/Automation-speeds-up-testing-in-Windows-Mobile-embedded-projects

Memory Management in LoadRunner – NaveenKumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/memory-management-loadrunner/

Understanding Pacing in LoadRunner Runtime Settings – NaveenKumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/understanding-pacing-in-loadrunner-runtime-settings/

Waiting in C# WebDriver – Alister Scott – http://watirmelon.com/2014/01/29/waiting-in-c-webdriver/

What are JMeter Templates? – NaveenKumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/jmeter-templates/

XCTest and OCUnit on real devices in the cloud – Daniel Knott – http://dnlkntt.wordpress.com/2014/01/31/xctest-and-ocunit-on-real-devices-in-the-cloud/


Book Consideration: Rethinking Systems Analysis & Design – JCD – http://about98percentdone.blogspot.com/2014/01/book-consideration.html

Book Review: Rethinking Expertise – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/01/retro-book-review-rethinking-expertise.html

Download Checklist: Tips to Approach Mobile Testing – Rosie Sherry – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/01/download-checklist-tips-approach-mobile-testing/

Podcast: Episode #35 Dynamic Data Correlation – Mike Tomlinson, James Pulley – http://perfbytes.com/dynamic-data-correlation

State of Testing 2013 – Survey

Get your copy of the State of Testing 2013 — it is hot off the press!! – Bernice Niel Ruhland – http://thetestersedge.com/2014/01/30/state-of-testing-2013/

Published the State of Testing 2013 Survey Report – Joel Montvelisky – http://qablog.practitest.com/2014/01/published-the-stated-of-testing-2013-survey-report/

The State of Software Testing: A Follow-up and My Commentary – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/01/the-state-of-software-testing-follow-up.html

Personal Reflections, Goals, Conference Announcements from Testers

Greener pastures… – Keith Klain – http://qualityremarks.com/greener-pastures/

Rebuilding the Unit, Moving to ITIL, and Lots of Change – Geoff Loken – http://testplans.wordpress.com/2014/01/29/rebuilding-the-unit-moving-to-itil-and-lots-of-change/

Items of Interest for Testers

GitHub bug bounties: Smaller, more focused is better – Serdar Yegulalp – http://www.infoworld.com/d/security/github-bug-bounties-smaller-more-focused-better-235471

GitHub launches Bug Bounty program – SD Times – http://www.sdtimes.com/content/article.aspx?ArticleID=68667&page=1

Google Blames Outage on Software Bug – Jennifer LeClaire – http://www.newsfactor.com/news/Google-Blames-Gmail-Outage-on-Glitch/story.xhtml?story_id=13200D5X2QHO

How to Get People to Agree with You – Bonnie Bailey – http://www.techwell.com/2014/01/how-get-people-agree-you

The Top 25 Most Commonly-Used Passwords on the Internet – Joe Strazzere – http://www.allthingsquality.com/2014/01/the-top-25-most-commonly-used-passwords.html

Software testing trends to watch in 2014 – Aldo Rall – http://www.itweb.co.za/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=70376:Software-testing-trends-to-watch-in-2014&catid=355

Tech hotshots: The rise of the QA expert – Beth Stackpole – http://www.computerworld.com/s/article/9245853/Tech_hotshots_The_rise_of_the_QA_expert

Virtusa Partners with Per Scholas to Provide Technology Training and Jobs to Underserved Communities – http://online.wsj.com/article/PR-CO-20140131-909013.html

Why I Am Writing So Many Blog Entries – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/01/30/why-i-am-writing-so-many-blog-entries/

Do you have a conference or event you would like to have added to this list?
Do you write a blog and don’t see your posting here?  There is a chance, I may not be following your blog yet.
Send an email to thecurator@testingcurator.com or a direct message via Twitter to @TestingCurator and I will add your event or site to the list of places that I track!


Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *