Testing Bits – 2/2/14 – 2/8/14

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 2/2/14 – 2/8/14.

Articles & Blogs

A Bunch Of Random Dudes Get Called Testers. What Happens Next Is Unreal. – Jonathan Ross – http://warptest.com/2014/02/bunch-random-dudes-get-called-testers-happens-next-unreal

Blog: We Have to Automate – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2014/02/we-have-to-automate/

Data Privacy and Security in ThoughtWorks Radar, Sort of – Jim Bird – http://swreflections.blogspot.com/2014/02/data-privacy-and-security-in.html

Do Cats Make Better Software Testers? – Melvin Burton – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/02/cats-make-better-software-testers/

Feeling Lost in the Woods? Mind Maps Can Help – Claire Moss – http://www.stickyminds.com/better-software-magazine-article/feeling-lost-woods-mind-maps-can-help

How to emulate mobile devices using Chrome browser – Alan Richardson – http://blog.eviltester.com/2014/02/how-to-emulate-mobile-devices-using.html

Is Software Testing an Emotional Task? – Bhumika Mehta – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/is-software-testing-an-emotional-task/

Jesse Schell’s Lenses of Game Design and Testers – Andy Tinkham – http://testerthoughts.com/2014/02/04/jesse-schells-lenses-of-game-design-and-testers/

Minimizing Unreproducible Bugs – Anthony Vallone – http://googletesting.blogspot.com/2014/02/minimizing-unreproducible-bugs.html

My NVC Journey – Simon Knight – http://sjpknight.com/my-nvc-journey/

Pandora’s Box Testing and Requirements – Pete Walen – http://rhythmoftesting.blogspot.com/2014/02/pandoras-box-testing-and-requirements.html

plus1 for testers in dev – Ben Kelly – http://testjutsu.com/2014/02/plus1-for-testers-in-dev/

Pregnancy Analogies – Part 2 – Pradeep Soundararajan – http://testertested.blogspot.com/2014/02/pregnancy-analogies-part-2.html

Revolutionary thinking? – Mike Talks – http://testsheepnz.blogspot.com/2014/02/revolutionary-thinking.html

Rewards? Oh The Horror!- Eric Jacobson – http://www.testthisblog.com/2014/02/rewards-oh-horror.html

Shallow Disagreement – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/02/04/shallow-disagreements/

Sharpening the sharp minds – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2014/02/sharpening-sharp-minds.html

So you think you can test … – Huib Schoots – http://www.huibschoots.nl/wordpress/?p=1573

TAOGD Lenses: Lens #1 “The Lens of Essential Experience” – Andy Tinkham – http://testerthoughts.com/2014/02/07/taogd-lenses-lens-1-the-lens-of-essential-experience/

TECHNICAL TESTER FRIDAY: It Begins – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/02/technical-tester-friday-it-begins.html

Testing Is Like Going To The Doctor – Ramona Jona – http://experttesters.com/2014/02/03/testing-is-like-going-to-the-doctor/

Testing User Manuals – Nicolai L. Nielsen – http://testing4tw.blogspot.com/2014/02/testing-user-manuals.html

The Curse of Interesting Times – Paul Gerrard – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2014/2/4/the-curse-of-interesting-times


Announcing DEWT4 – Ruud Cox – http://dewt.wordpress.com/2014/02/02/announcing-dewt4/

CAST Plans, Anyone – Matt Heusser – http://xndev.com/2014/02/cast-plans-anyone/

EuroSTAR webinar on Mobiel testing – Derk-Jan de Grood – http://djdegrood.wordpress.com/2014/02/07/eurostar-webinar-on-mobiel-testing/

My first attendance at UKTMF – Raji – http://peppytester.blogspot.com/2014/02/my-first-attendance-at-uktmf.html

Software Testing World Cup 2014 – Daniel Knott – http://dnlkntt.wordpress.com/2014/02/06/software-testing-world-cup-2014/

WOPR22, Just Before Let’s Test 2014 – Paul Holland – http://lets-test.com/?p=2656

WT – 105: Exploring ‘Greenshot’ – Weekend Testers – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3380

Attention: Ohio Testers

2/18/14 – Columbus, OH – Conference – QA or the Highway – http://bit.ly/17oU8qJ

2/25/14 – Columbus, OH – Software QA & Testing Meetup – What I Learned at QA or the Highway – http://bit.ly/1fkU6iJ


Have You Ever Faked It? I Have. – Joe Strazzere – http://www.allthingsquality.com/2014/02/have-you-ever-faked-it-i-have.html

How to record your Android tests with Robotium Recorder – Daniel Knott – http://dnlkntt.wordpress.com/2014/02/05/how-to-record-your-android-tests-with-robotium-recorder/

How to use OWASP ZAP proxy with httpclient Ruby gem – Karlo Smid – http://zagorskisoftwaretester.blogspot.com/2014/02/how-to-use-owasp-zap-proxy-with.html

HP UFT – Critical Patch 1 release for UFT 11.53 – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2014/02/07/hp-uft-critical-patch-1-release-for-uft-11-53/

REST Testing with Java – Getting Started with Rest-Assured – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2014/02/07/rest-testing-with-java-getting-started-with-rest-assured/


Infographic – The State of Mobile App Development and Testing – NaveenKumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/state-mobile-app-development-testing/

Podcasts – Episode #36 Performance Centers Of Excellence – Mark Tomlinson, James Pulley – http://www.perfbytes.com/performance-centers-of-excellence

Podcasts – Reviewing the Conferences – Stephen Janaway – http://testinginthepub.co.uk/testinginthepub/testing/reviewing-conferences/

Podcasts – Testing in the pub podcasts are now here!! – Dan Ashby – http://danashby04.wordpress.com/2014/02/05/testing-in-the-pub-podcasts-are-now-here/

Podcasts – Testing In The Pub Podcasts Are Here – Stephen Janaway – http://stephenjanaway.co.uk/stephenjanaway/experiences/testing-in-the-pub-podcasts/

STP Podcast: New Continuous Testing Book Released – An Interview with Wayne Ariola of Parasoft – Rich Hand, Wayne Ariola – http://www.softwaretestpro.com/Item/5888/STP-Podcast-New-Continuous-Testing-Book-Released–An-Interview-with-Wayne-Ariola-of-Parasoft/Test-and-QA-Software

Survey – Please Take this Quick Test Metrics & Measurement Survey!! – Mike Lyles – http://mikelyles.wordpress.com/2014/02/04/metrics-survey/

Survey – What’s The State Of Testing? The Results Are In! – Joe Strazzere – http://www.allthingsquality.com/2014/02/whats-state-of-testing-results-are-in.html

Video – Cucumber Transformations Screencast – Jeff Morgan – http://www.cheezyworld.com/2014/02/02/cucumber-transformations-screencast/

Personal Reflections, Goals, Conference Announcements from Testers

On Being Helpful – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/02/05/on-being-helpful/

Programming – it was acceptable in the 80s … – Mike Talks – http://testsheepnz.blogspot.com/2014/02/programming-it-was-acceptable-in-80s.html

Items of Interest for Testers

Announcing the 2013 uTester of the Year Awards – Ryan Aresenault – http://blog.utest.com/announcing-the-2013-utester-of-the-year-awards/2014/02/

BlackBerry 10 obliterates iOS and Android yet again in browser showdown – Zach Epstein – http://bgr.com/2014/02/06/blackberry-10-browser-test-iphone-android/

Browser Trends February 2014: Safari Success – Craig Buckler – http://www.sitepoint.com/browser-trends-february-2014-safari-success/

Designing Scenarios for Agile Stories – Sharath Bhat – http://www.stickyminds.com/article/designing-scenarios-agile-stories?page=0%2C0

Firefox’s new interface is almost here – Seth Rosenblatt – http://news.cnet.com/8301-1001_3-57618594-92/firefoxs-new-interface-is-almost-here/

How to make money finding bugs in software – Mark Ward – http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-25258620

Microsoft’s IE11 market share climbs past IE10, still behind IE8 – Ron – http://www.winbeta.org/news/microsofts-ie11-market-share-climbs-past-ie10-still-behind-ie8

Mozilla adopts plain-vanilla password sign-in for Firefox sync – Stephen Shankland – http://news.cnet.com/8301-1023_3-57618219-93/mozilla-adopts-plain-vanilla-password-sign-in-for-firefox-sync/

Nearly 50% of Consumers Will Delete a Mobile App if They Encounter a Single Bug, Reveals Survey by SmartBear – Sys.con Media – http://www.sys-con.com/node/2956679

Overloaded Network Capacity Could Threaten App Experiences – Ben Gray – http://blog.applause.com/overloaded-network-capacity-could-threat-app-experience/2014/02/

Overwhelmed at Work? How to Recognize and Avoid Secondhand Stress – Naomi Karten – http://www.techwell.com/2014/02/overwhelmed-work-how-recognize-and-avoid-secondhand-stress

Seeking Happiness – Rosie Sherry – http://www.rosiesherry.com/2014/02/07/seeking-happiness/

Software Development Tool enables security testing. – http://news.thomasnet.com/fullstory/Software-Development-Tool-enables-security-testing-20021272

Tablet Sales Could Top 450M a Year by 2017 – Jamie Saine – http://www.mobileapptesting.com/tablet-sales-could-top-450m-a-year-by-2017/2014/02/

Tackle Mobile Upfront with Responsive Web Design – Jacob Orshalick – http://www.techwell.com/2014/02/tackle-mobile-upfront-responsive-web-design

Do you have a conference or event you would like to have added to this list?
Do you write a blog and don’t see your posting here?  There is a chance, I may not be following your blog yet.
Send an email to thecurator@testingcurator.com or a direct message via Twitter to @TestingCurator and I will add your event or site to the list of places that I track!

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *