Testing Bits – 2/9/14 – 2/15/14

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 2/9/14 – 2/15/14.

Articles & Blogs

A kid who guessed my swipe lock password – Mantas – http://testuotojas.wordpress.com/2014/02/10/a-kid-who-guessed-my-swipe-lock-password/

ATDD in Scaled Agile Environments – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/02/14/atdd-in-scaled-agile-environments/

Being a Fraud and a Failure – JCD – http://about98percentdone.blogspot.com/2014/02/being-fraud-and-failure.html

Career planning as a path to promotion – using a formal career development plan – Bernice Niel Ruhland – http://thetestersedge.com/2014/02/15/career-planning-as-a-path-to-promotion-using-a-formal-career-development-plan/

Careers on coffee table – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2014/02/careers-on-coffee-table.html

CMAP© Certified Mobile App Professional – Daniel Knott – http://dnlkntt.wordpress.com/2014/02/12/cmap-certified-mobile-app-professional/

Conference Idea – A Bug Advocacy Boot Camp? – Chris Kenst – http://www.mytechfetish.com/2014/02/conference-idea-bug-advocacy-boot-camp.html

Differences between testing services and websites? – Gareth Waterhouse – http://www.testingthewaterhouse.com/2014/02/differences-between-testing-services.html

Evolution of the BBST Courses – Cem Kaner – http://kaner.com/?p=379

Fake Agile – Test Consultant – Pradeep Soundararajan – http://testertested.blogspot.com/2014/02/fake-agile-test-consultant.html

Future of Testing – Raj Kamal – http://geektester.blogspot.com/2014/02/the-end-of-testing-era-what-will.html

How Do You Handle Failure? – Dean Mackenzie – http://yesbroken.com/2014/02/10/how-do-you-handle-failure/

How To Streamline Your Test Data Management – Ulf Eriksson – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2014/2/12/how-to-streamline-your-test-data-management-

I’ve got the HOTS for testing! – Sharon Robson – http://blog.softed.com/2014/02/10/i%E2%80%99ve-got-the-hots-for-testing/

iBug in iMessage? – Karlo Smid- http://zagorskisoftwaretester.blogspot.com/2014/02/ibug-in-imessage.html

Is Software Testing for Losers? – James D. McCaffrey – http://jamesmccaffrey.wordpress.com/2014/02/14/is-software-testing-for-losers/

Load Testing at Netflix: Virtual Interview with Coburn Watson – Alex Podelko – http://alexanderpodelko.com/blog/2014/02/11/load-testing-at-netflix-virtual-interview-with-coburn-watson/

Measuring localStorage Performance – Steve Souders – http://www.stevesouders.com/blog/2014/02/11/measuring-localstorage-performance/

Metrics for User Acceptance Testing – Randy Rice – http://randallrice.blogspot.com/2014/02/metrics-for-user-acceptance-testing.html

Own it – Katrina Clokie – http://katrinatester.blogspot.com/2014/02/own-it.html

Pandora’s Box: Testing, Active Consideration & Process Models – Pete Walen – http://rhythmoftesting.blogspot.com/2014/02/pandoras-box-testing-active.html

Real Agile Approach To Performance Testing – Rajni Singh – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/02/real-agile-approach-performance-testing/

Telling Testing Stories and Navigating an Agile Testing Transition: An Interview with Bob Galen – Cameron Philipp-Edmonds – http://www.stickyminds.com/interview/telling-testing-stories-and-navigating-agile-testing-transition-interview-bob-galen

Testing – An activity, not a role – Ben Kelly – http://testjutsu.com/2014/02/testing-an-activity-not-a-role/

Testing Forays – James Thomas – http://qahiccupps.blogspot.com/2014/02/testing-forays.html

The ideal testing project – Erik Brickarp – http://erik.brickarp.se/2014/02/the-ideal-testing-project.html

The Importance of Testing Software Before Launch – Alex Raymond – http://blog.utest.com/the-importance-of-testing-software-before-launch/2014/02/

The Thrill of the Chase – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/02/the-thrill-of-chase.html

The Worst Five Minutes – Adam Knight – http://www.a-sisyphean-task.com/2014/02/the-worst-five-minutes.html#.UwAIAUJdUig

What Force Would it take to Shatter an Ice Cube? – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/02/what-force-would-it-take-to-shatter-ice.html

What Running Taught Me About Exploratory Testing – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/02/12/what-running-taught-me-about-exploratory-testing/

Why App Quality Matters – Department By Department – Jamie Saine – http://blog.applause.com/why-app-quality-matters-department-by-department/2014/02/


A statistic for STWC – Software Testing World Cup – Maik Nog – http://hanseatictester.info/?p=481

DEWT Experiences from the TestNet Autumn Event – Joris Meerts – http://dewt.wordpress.com/2014/02/12/dewt-experiences-from-the-testnet-autumn-event/

DEWT4 sketchnotes – Huib Schoots – http://www.huibschoots.nl/wordpress/?p=1579

Fix You Estimating Bad Habits: An Evening with Ted M Young and #BAST – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/02/fix-your-estimating-bad-habits-evening.html

London #TesterGathering – 20th February – The Shooting Star – Tony Bruce – http://dancedwiththetester.blogspot.com/2014/02/london-testergathering-20th-february.html

Attention: Ohio Testers

2/18/14 – Columbus, OH – Conference – QA or the Highway – http://bit.ly/17oU8qJ

2/25/14 – Columbus, OH – Software QA & Testing Meetup – What I Learned at QA or the Highway – http://bit.ly/1fkU6iJ


How to create Custom Templates in JMeter? – NaveenKumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/how-to-create-custom-templates-in-jmeter/

HP UFT Critical Patch Released – NaveenKumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/hp-uft-critical-patch-released/

Introducing Virtualbox modern.ie Turnkey Virtual Machines for Web Testing – Alan Richardson – http://blog.eviltester.com/2014/02/introducing-virtualbox-modernie-turnkey.html

Mobile Page Objects with Robotium-Sandwich – Daniel Knott – http://dnlkntt.wordpress.com/2014/02/11/mobile-page-objects-with-robotium-sandwich/

TECHNICAL TESTER FRIDAY: In Praise of Virtual Machines, and Tweaking with PHP – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/02/technical-tester-friday-in-praise-of.html

Tools for Testing — 2 – Stephan Kamper – http://seasidetesting.com/2014/02/09/tools-for-testing-2/

WebDriver Factory – Richard Bradshaw – http://www.thefriendlytester.co.uk/2014/02/webdriver-factory.html


Book Review: Perl One-Liners – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/02/book-review-perl-one-liners.html

Book Review: Ruby Under a Microscope – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/02/book-review-ruby-under-microscope.html

Book Review: The Modern Web – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/02/book-review-modern-web.html

Magazines – A Magazine for High Flying Testers – David Greenless – http://martialtester.wordpress.com/2014/02/14/a-magazine-for-high-flying-testers/

Magazines – Testing Trapeze – Oliver Erlewein – http://hellotestworld.com/2014/02/14/testing-trapeze/

New Book: Foundations of Software Testing–A BBST Workbook – Cem Kaner – http://kaner.com/?p=381

Podcast – Psychology in Testing – Stephen Janaway & Dan Ashby – http://testinginthepub.co.uk/testinginthepub/testing/psychology-testing/

Poetry – No Tester is an Island – Paul Gerrard – http://gerrardconsulting.com/?q=node/636

Presentation – Be a real team member – Agile Testing Days Netherlands 2014 Presentation – Tony Bruce – http://dancedwiththetester.blogspot.com/2014/02/be-real-team-member-agile-testing-days.html

Presentation – HP LoadRunner Resources – NaveenKumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/hp-loadrunner-resources/

Survey – Tester to Developer Ratio Survey – Randy Rice – http://randallrice.blogspot.com/2014/02/tester-to-developer-ratio-survey.html

Video – Proving an Important Bug to a Team in Denial – Jamie Saine – http://www.mobileapptesting.com/video-proving-an-important-bug-to-a-team-in-denial/2014/02/

Video – Updated the Getting Started With Selenium WebDriver free course – Alan Richardson – http://seleniumsimplified.com/updated-the-getting-started-with-selenium-webdriver-free-course/

Webinar – February 20 2014 – The Elusive Tester to Developer Ratio – Randy Rice – http://randallrice.blogspot.com/2014/02/free-webinar-february-20-2014-elusive.html

Personal Reflections, Goals, Conference Announcements from Testers

Getting External Help – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/02/10/getting-external-help/

Happy Cake Day to me! – Gareth Waterhouse – http://www.testingthewaterhouse.com/2014/02/happy-cake-day-to-me.html

My Journey to Learn How to Code – Part 1 – Teri Charles – http://bouldertester.blogspot.com/2014/02/my-journey-to-learn-how-to-code-part-1.html

One Day – Mike Lyles – http://mikelyles.wordpress.com/2014/02/09/one-day/

Items of Interest for Testers

80% of Apps Vulnerable to Security Issues – Jamie Saine – http://www.mobileapptesting.com/80-of-apps-vulnerable-to-security-issues/2014/02/

Bitcoin price plunges as Mt. Gox says flaw in protocol allows fraud – Tim Hornyak – http://www.itworld.com/demand-software/404206/bitcoin-price-plunges-mt-gox-says-flaw-protocol-allows-fraud

Browser Exploit for Android Highlights Google’s Update Problem – Tom Simonite – http://www.technologyreview.com/news/524631/browser-exploit-for-android-highlights-googles-update-problem/

Email: Does It Help or Hinder Your Work Productivity? – Cameron Philipp-Edmonds – http://www.techwell.com/2014/02/email-does-it-help-or-hinder-your-work-productivity

Mozilla launches beta version of touch-enabled Firefox browser for Windows 8 and 8.1 – Justin Sorkin – http://topnews.us/content/260874-mozilla-launches-beta-version-touch-enabled-firefox-browser-windows-8-and-81

Stop Working More Than Forty Hours a Week – Beth Romanik – http://www.techwell.com/2014/02/stop-working-more-forty-hours-week

Toyota to recall 1.9 mln Prius cars for software defect in hybrid system – http://in.reuters.com/article/2014/02/12/toyota-recall-idINT9N0KP02J20140212

User stories should be about behaviour changes – Gojko Adzic – http://gojko.net/2014/02/12/user-stories-should-be-about-behaviour-changes/

Why Creativity Is Important When Problem Solving – Steve Berczuk – http://www.techwell.com/2014/02/why-creativity-important-when-problem-solving

Do you have a conference or event you would like to have added to this list?  Do you write a blog and don’t see your posting here? There is a chance, I may not be following your blog yet.
Send an email to thecurator@testingcurator.com or a direct message via Twitter to @TestingCurator and I will add your event or site to the list of places that I track!

I also welcome any other comments or suggestions that you may have on how I can make this blog a better resource for you.

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *