Testing Bits – 2/16/14 – 2/22/14

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 2/16/14 – 2/22/14.

Articles & Blogs

A culture challenge – Katrina Clokie – http://katrinatester.blogspot.com/2014/02/a-culture-challenge.html

A Tester’s commitment to a Developer – Jokin Aspiazu – http://jokinaspiazu.blogspot.com/2014/02/a-testers-commitment-to-developer.html

Agile Testing vs Exploratory Testing – Paul – http://swtester.blogspot.com/2014/02/agile-testing-vs-exploratory-testing.html

Any newly successful software organization needs a Continous Integration (CI) system in order to continue to survive – Noah Sussman – http://infiniteundo.com/post/77311797879/successful-orgs-need-ci

Attack-driven Testing of Payment Management Systems for Credit Cards – Software Testing Genius – http://www.softwaretestinggenius.com/attack-driven-testing-of-payment-management-systems-for-credit-cards

Back to Basics: How to use the Windows Command Line – Alan Richardson – http://blog.eviltester.com/2014/02/back-to-basics-how-to-use-windows.html

Dead Serious – Colin Cherry – http://itesting.com.au/2014/02/18/deadly-serious/

Dissecting The Testing Quadrants – Duncan Nisbet – http://www.duncannisbet.co.uk/dissecting-the-testing-quadrants

Doing a story review – Jokin Aspiazu – http://jokinaspiazu.blogspot.com/2014/02/doing-story-review.html

Fishing for defects with Rob Sabourin – Mike Talks – http://testsheepnz.blogspot.com/2014/02/fishing-for-defects-with-rob-sabourin.html

Getting up and running with test automation – Ulf Eriksson – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2014/2/18/getting-up-and-running-with-test-automation

How Do You Know You’re Improving? – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/02/20/how-do-you-know-youre-improving/

How to Write a Test Plan Document from Scratch (Download a Real Plan) – Live Project QA Training Day 3 – Vijay Shinde – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/how-to-write-test-plan-document-software-testing-training-day3/

I Knew It! – Ash Winter – http://testingisbelieving.blogspot.com/2014/02/i-knew-it.html

I need more hours in the day!! – Raji Bhamidipati – http://peppytester.blogspot.com/2014/02/i-need-more-hours-in-day.html

Improve yourself as a tester – How to be a true professional – David Tzhmach – http://www.dtvisiontech.com/2014/02/improve-yourself-as-tester-how-to-be.html

It’s just a jump to the left… – Sharon Robson – http://blog.softed.com/2014/02/19/its-just-a-jump-to-the-left/

Learning to use exploratory testing in your organisation … – Mike Talks – http://testsheepnz.blogspot.com/2014/02/learning-to-use-exploratory-testing-in.html

So, What’s New? or The Problem of Change – Pete Walen – http://rhythmoftesting.blogspot.com/2014/02/so-whats-new-or-problem-of-change.html

Some Principles – Alan Page – http://angryweasel.com/blog/some-principles/

Testing A Log In Page – Aleksis Tulonen – http://flowoftesting.wordpress.com/2014/02/19/testing-a-log-in-page/

The No-Fake-Tester Rule – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/02/19/the-no-fake-tester-rule/

The Pyramid of Testing should be revised to include expert testing – Noah Sussman – http://infiniteundo.com/post/77302242157/testing-pyramid-revisited

There’s Always Something You Didn’t Consider – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/02/theres-always-something-you-didnt.html

Understanding Accessibility Testing – Linda Seid Frembes – http://blog.utest.com/understanding-accessibility-testing/2014/02/

Using Quality Characteristics – Rikard Edgren – http://thetesteye.com/blog/2014/02/using-quality-characteristics/

What is Agile Testing? – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/02/17/what-is-agile-testing/

What to Do with Too Much Test Documentation: An Interview with Fiona Charles – Jonathan Vanian – http://www.stickyminds.com/interview/what-do-too-much-test-documentation-interview-fiona-charles

Writing Test Cases from SRS Document – Vijay Shinde – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/writing-test-cases-from-srs-software-testing-qa-training-day-4/


CAST 2014: First Responder Discount Ends – AST – http://www.associationforsoftwaretesting.org/2014/02/20/cast-2014-first-responder-discount-ends/

Challenge your testing limits at STWC 2014 – Andrei Contan – http://andrei.contan.ro/challenge-testing-limits-stwc-2014/

DEWT4 – a peer conference on teaching testing – Zeger Van Hese – http://testsidestory.com/2014/02/20/dewt4-a-peer-conference-on-teaching-testing/

DEWT4 Afterparty – Ruud Cox – http://dewt.wordpress.com/2014/02/18/dewt4-afterparty/

Information Overload With John Stevenson – John Stevenson – http://www.testthisblog.com/2014/02/information-overload-with-john-stevenson.html

My Experience at QA or the Highway – Matt Hutchison – http://blog.testingcurator.com/2014/02/19/my-experience-at-qa-or-the-highway/

QAOrTheHighway 2014 – Justin Rohrman – http://justinrohrman.com/blog/qaorthehighway-2014/

SECURITY TESTING WORKSHOP IN BANGALORE (FREE) – SanthoshTuppad – http://tuppad.com/blog/2014/02/16/security-testing-workshop-in-bangalore-free/

WeTest Auckland: Mobile App Testing – Nicola Owen – http://nickytests.blogspot.com/2014/02/wetest-auckland-mobile-app-testing.html

WTANZ 18 – Burrowing into Bugs – Dean Mackenzie – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3398

Attention: Ohio Testers

2/25/14 – Columbus, OH – Software QA & Testing Meetup – What I Learned at QA or the Highway – http://bit.ly/1fkU6iJ

3/13/14 – Cleveland, OH area – NOTiCE – Skill Development for Testers – http://bit.ly/No2nKA


ExtSolo Library – to extend your Robotium test automation – Daniel Knott – http://dnlkntt.wordpress.com/2014/02/17/extsolo-library-to-extend-your-robotium-test-automation/

HP UFT 12 – Coming soon – NaveenKumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/hp-uft-12-coming-soon/

Testing Microsoft SQL server etl procedures using tSQLt – Karlo Smid – http://zagorskisoftwaretester.blogspot.com/2014/02/testing-microsoft-sql-server-etl.html

Top 4 Bug Tracking Systems – Bug Huntress – http://blog.bughuntress.com/software-testing-tools/top-4-bug-tracking-systems

UI automation of vendor delivered products always leads to trouble – Alister Scott – http://watirmelon.com/2014/02/20/ui-automation-of-vendor-delivered-products-always-leads-to-trouble/


Book Review: A Web For Everyone – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/02/book-review-web-for-everyone.html

Slides: Tester to Developer Webinar Slides Posted – Randy Rice – http://randallrice.blogspot.com/2014/02/tester-to-developer-webinar-slides.html

Podcasts: Episode #37 Next Generation Performance Tools – Mark Tomlinson, James Pulley – http://www.perfbytes.com/next-generation-performance-tools

Podcast: TestTalks – First Episode Live! Learn BDD – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2014/02/18/testtalks-first-episode-live-learn-bdd-2/

Personal Reflections, Goals, Conference Announcements from Testers

Vacansopapurosophobia – Zeger Van Hese – http://testsidestory.com/2014/02/18/vacansopapurosophobia/

Items of Interest for Testers

A Primer on Negotiation Skills – Payson Hall – http://www.stickyminds.com/article/primer-negotiation-skills

Firefox OS sinks its teeth into low-end smartphones – Stephen Shankland – http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-13970_7-57618958-78/firefox-os-sinks-its-teeth-into-low-end-smartphones/

How to Lead without Authority – Naomi Karten – http://www.techwell.com/2014/02/how-lead-without-authority

Software Bug Forces Prius Recall – Jamie Saine – http://blog.utest.com/software-bug-forces-prius-recall/2014/02/

Toronto’s Test Factory Makes the Case for Onshoring Software Development – Alex Rodov – http://www.nearshoreamericas.com/torontos-test-factory-case-onshoring-software-development/

The Cost of Delay for Not Shipping on Time – Johanna Rothman – http://www.techwell.com/2014/02/cost-delay-not-shipping-time

What’s Going On with Data Security? – Joe Townsend – http://www.techwell.com/2014/02/whats-going-data-security

Do you have a conference or event you would like to have added to this list? Do you write a blog and don’t see your posting here? There is a chance, I may not be following your blog yet.
Send an email to thecurator@testingcurator.com or a direct message via Twitter to @TestingCurator and I will add your event or site to the list of places that I track!

I also welcome any other comments or suggestions that you may have on how I can make this blog a better resource for you.

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *