Testing Bits – 2/23/14 – 3/1/14

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 2/23/14 – 3/1/14.

Articles & Blogs

Answer ‘Will it work?’ over ‘Does it work?’ – Alister Scott – http://watirmelon.com/2014/02/25/answer-will-it-work-over-does-it-work/

Automation – is it really worth it? – John Andrews – http://testingfromthehip.wordpress.com/2014/02/24/automation-is-it-really-worth-it/

Blog: Very Short Blog Posts (12): Scripted Testing Depends on Exploratory Testing – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2014/02/very-short-blog-posts-12-scripted-testing-depends-on-exploratory-testing/

Can We Build Perfect Software? – Colin Cherry – http://itesting.com.au/2014/02/28/can-we-build-perfect-software/

Free yourself from your filters – Alister Scott – http://watirmelon.com/2014/02/25/free-yourself-from-your-filters/

Helpful Tips for Hiring Better Testers – Isaac Howard – http://www.stickyminds.com/article/helpful-tips-hiring-better-testers

How About A Fire Drill Test? – Eric Jacobson – http://www.testthisblog.com/2014/02/how-about-fire-drill-test.html

Keep Your Friends Close, But Keep Your Users Closer – Bonnie Bailey – http://www.techwell.com/2014/02/keep-your-friends-close-keep-your-users-closer

Live Project Bug Tracking, Test Metrics, and Test Sign off – Free QA Training Day 6 – Vijay Shinde – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/bug-tracking-test-metrics-and-test-sign-off-free-qa-training-day-6/

Non-functional testing in continuous delivery – Katrina Clokie – http://katrinatester.blogspot.com/2014/02/non-functional-testing-in-continuous.html

On Domain Testing – Matt Heusser – http://www.stickyminds.com/blog/matt-heusser/domain-testing

Report on the discussion about the contents of an article titled ‘What is CDT?’ – Joep Schuurkes – http://dewt.wordpress.com/2014/02/24/report-on-the-discussion-about-the-contents-of-an-article-titled-what-is-cdt/

Take control of your own career – Alister Scott – http://watirmelon.com/2014/02/23/take-control-of-your-own-career/

TECHNICAL TESTER FRIDAY: Immersing in PHP and a Little Each Day – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/02/technical-tester-friday-immersing-in.html

Test Development Isn’t Testing – Josh Grant – http://simplythetest.tumblr.com/post/77651878860/test-development-isnt-testing

Testing a new product – what should be the main focus? – John Andrews – http://testingfromthehip.wordpress.com/2014/02/28/testing-a-new-product-what-should-be-the-main-focus/

The “I Don’t Want To” Attitude – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/02/24/the-i-dont-want-to-attitude/

Why I am context-driven – Huib Schoots – http://dewt.wordpress.com/2014/02/28/why-i-am-context-driven-huib-schoots/

Conferences/Meetups/Organizations/Training

A Time Away… – Matt Heusser – http://xndev.com/2014/02/a-time-away/

A Weekend Testing Follow Up: Ubertesters Wants to Talk To You :) – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/02/a-weekend-testing-follow-up-ubertesters.html

Deciding if test retreat is right for you – Justin Rohrman – http://justinrohrman.com/blog/deciding-if-test-retreat-is-right-for-you/

March 2014 Software Testing Club Atlanta meetup – Claire Moss – http://blog.aclairefication.com/2014/02/march-2014-software-testing-club-atlanta-meetup/

Report on Zagreb STC #14 – Karlo Smid – http://zagorskisoftwaretester.blogspot.com/2014/02/report-on-zagreb-stc-14.html

Test Retreat 2014: Why I’m Going, and Why You Should, Too :) – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/02/test-retreat-2014-why-im-going-and-why.html

Testathon – A Hackathon For Testers – Santhosh Tuppad – http://tuppad.com/blog/2014/02/24/testathon-a-hackathon-for-testers/

What Are People Saying About TestRetreatNYC? – Mike Huesser – http://xndev.com/2014/02/what-are-people-saying-about-testretreatnyc/

WTANZ 18 – WHY… – David Greenless – http://martialtester.wordpress.com/2014/02/24/wtanz-18-why/

Attention: Ohio Testers

3/13/14 – Cleveland, OH area – NOTiCE – Skill Development for Testers – http://bit.ly/No2nKA

3/25/14 – Columbus, OH – Software QA & Testing Meetup – Details TBD

Tools

Testing JSON REST Service with rest assured; part 2 Given, When, Then – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2014/02/26/rest-testing-with-java-part-two-getting-started-with-rest-assured/

Top 10 Open Source Defect Tracking Systems – NaveenKumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/top-10-open-source-defect-tracking-systems/

You probably don’t need a specification framework – Alister Scott – http://watirmelon.com/2014/02/23/you-probably-dont-need-a-specification-framework/

Miscellaneous

Book: Continuous delivery – the novel – Seb Rose – http://claysnow.co.uk/phoenix-project/

Book: Manage Your Job Search – Intro – Duncan Nisbet – http://www.duncannisbet.co.uk/manage-your-job-search-intro

Book Review: Selenium WebDriver Practical Guide – Dwarika Dhish Mishra – http://www.abodeqa.com/2014/03/01/book-review-selenium-webdriver-practical-guide/

Cartoon: Compatibility Challenges – Torsten Zelger – http://simply-the-test.blogspot.com/2014/02/compatibility-challenges.html

Interview: RainforestQA – Simon Knight – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/02/interview-rainforestqa/

Interview: Why Classic Software Testing Doesn’t Work Anymore: An Interview with Regg Struyk – Cameron Philipp-Edmonds – http://www.stickyminds.com/interview/why-classic-software-testing-doesn-t-work-anymore-interview-regg-struyk

Presentation: Test Tweeting – Kim Engel – http://isitgoodenoughyet.com/2014/02/23/test-tweeting/

Video: Insights from MOIIST2014 – Scott Barber, Rob Sabourin – http://www.qualitycaptain.com/insights-from-moiist2014/

Personal Reflections, Goals, Conference Announcements from Testers

My new gig… – Keith Klain – http://qualityremarks.com/my-new-gig/

The little thing that made my week – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2014/02/the-little-thing-that-made-my-week.html

Items of Interest for Testers

Calculating the Real Cost of Multitasking on Your Projects – Johanna Rothman – http://www.techwell.com/2014/02/calculating-real-cost-multitasking-your-projects

The Future of the Internet (of Things) – Steve Vaughn – http://www.techwell.com/2014/02/future-internet-things

The Power of the Team – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/02/26/the-power-of-the-team/


Do you have a conference or event you would like to have added to this list?
Do you write a blog and don’t see your posting here?  There is a chance, I may not be following your blog yet.
Send an email to thecurator@testingcurator.com or a direct message via Twitter to @TestingCurator and I will add your event or site to the list of places that I track!

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *