Testing Bits – 3/16/14 – 3/22/14

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 3/16/14 – 3/22/14.

Articles & Blogs

Blog: Very Short Blog Posts (13): When Will Testing Be Done? – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2014/03/very-short-blog-posts-13-when-will-testing-be-done/

Counting the Number of Paths Through A Series of Drop-Down Menus: A Combinatorial Explosion Problem – Noah Sussman – http://infiniteundo.com/post/80217843946/drop-down-menu-explosion

Counting The Number Of Ways You Can Put Items Into A Shopping Cart: A Combinatorial Explosion Problem – Noah Sussman – http://infiniteundo.com/post/80219871418/shopping-cart-explosion

Finding a path – Katrina Clokie – http://katrinatester.blogspot.com/2014/03/finding-path.html

Five Emerging Trends in Testing and QA – Beth Romanik – http://www.techwell.com/2014/03/five-emerging-trends-testing-and-qa

How to release more often, have great customer focus, and great quality – Kristian Jaeger – http://experttesters.com/2014/03/20/how-to-release-more-often-have-great-customer-focus-and-great-quality/

How to manage resources within new teams? – Gareth Waterhouse – http://www.testingthewaterhouse.com/2014/03/how-to-manage-resources-within-new-teams.html

How to Test Health Care Application – Part 1 – Vairavan R M. Author – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/how-to-test-health-care-application-part-1/

If you don’t believe it, why should anyone else? – Ash Winter – http://testingisbelieving.blogspot.com/2014/03/if-you-dont-believe-it-why-should.html

Implementing Static Analysis isn’t that easy – Jim Bird – http://swreflections.blogspot.com/2014/03/implementing-static-analysis-isnt-that.html

Interview with Tim Koopmans – Founder of Flood.io – NaveenKumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/interview-with-tim-koopmans-founder-of-flood-io/

Learning Styles – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/03/19/learning-styles/

Masters of Disaster and Improvisation – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/03/17/masters-of-disaster-and-improvisation/

Metrics rock! – Sharon Robson – http://blog.softed.com/2014/03/20/metrics-rock/

New Names for the Quadrants – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/03/18/new-names-for-the-quadrants/

On Coaching Questions – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/03/21/on-coaching-questions/

Only Human – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/03/20/only-human/

Outages and service degradations are a NORMAL part of the software life cycle – Noah Sussman – http://infiniteundo.com/post/80038602086/outages-are-normal-get-over-it

Reading and writing code could be two different skills – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2014/03/reading-and-writing-code-could-be-two.html

Reviews And The Test Process – Poorva Agnihotri – http://www.abodeqa.com/2014/03/22/reviews-test-process/

Smoke testing your REST API in 15 minutes with Python – Kristoffer Nordström – http://blog.northerntest.se/temp-slug-44/

Test Automation As An Investigation Trigger – Eric Jacobson – http://www.testthisblog.com/2014/03/test-automation-as-investigation-trigger.html

Testing A Multiple Select Menu: A Combinatorial Explosion Problem – Noah Sussman – http://infiniteundo.com/post/80210678458/multiple-select-menu-explosion

Testing and SaaS – how does that work? – Mark Castle – http://testingblues.com/index.php/archives/2014/03/testing-and-saas-how-does-that-work/

Testing Healthcare Applications – Tips and Important Test Scenarios (Part 2) – Vairavan R M. Author – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/testing-healthcare-applications-tips-and-important-test-scenarios-part-2/

Testing on the Toilet: What Makes a Good Test? – Erik Kuefler – http://googletesting.blogspot.com/2014/03/testing-on-toilet-what-makes-good-test.html

The testing fog of war – Perze Ababa – http://perze.blogspot.com/2014/03/the-testing-fog-of-war.html

Using static analysis to quickly become familiar with a large codebase – Noah Sussman – http://infiniteundo.com/post/80033824055/static-analysis

Waterfall, Agile & Hyperbole – Alister Scott – http://watirmelon.com/2014/03/17/waterfall-agile-hyperbole/

What do tissue paper and testing have in common? – Maayan – http://qablog.practitest.com/2014/03/what-do-tissue-paper-and-testing-have-in-common/

Who Is In Charge For Automation Test Failures? – Bug Huntress – http://blog.bughuntress.com/automated-testing/who-is-in-charge-for-automation-test-failures

Why waterfall kicks ass – Anne-Marie Charrett – http://mavericktester.com/archive/waterfall-kicks-ass/

Conferences/Meetups/Organizations/Training

Missed Opportunity – Erik Davis – http://testingthoughts.com/erikdavis/?p=194

Swiss Testing Day 2014 – Alan Page – http://angryweasel.com/blog/swiss-testing-day-2014/

Book Swap at TestBash – Rosie Sherry – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/03/bookswap-testbash/

TestBash Speaker Series – Iain McCowatt – Simon Knight – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/03/testbash-speaker-series-iain-mccowatt/

TestBash Speaker Series – Jez Nicholson – Simon Knight – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/03/testbash-speaker-series-jez-nicholson/

TestBash Speaker Series – Joep Schuurkes – Simon Knight – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/03/testbash-speaker-series-joep-schuurkes/

WTANZ 19 – Creating Charters and Confirmation Bias – Alessandra Moreira – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3427

Attention: Ohio Testers

3/25/14 – Columbus, OH – Software QA & Testing Meetup – Test Reporting & Showing Testing Value – http://bit.ly/1gdswD9

4/2/14 – Cleveland, OH – NOTiCE – Building Tester Communities at Work – http://www.meetup.com/notice/events/164989692/

Tools

A Match Made in Heaven – RapidReporter and Baretail – Adam Knight – http://www.a-sisyphean-task.com/2014/03/a-match-made-in-heaven-rapidreporter.html

Actions vs Functions in QTP – Sagar Bhatt – http://sagarbhatt85.blogspot.com/2014/03/actions-vs-functions-in-qtp.html

HP LoadRunner 12 and HP Performance Center 12 Released – NaveenKumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/hp-loadrunner-12-and-hp-performance-center-12-released/

HP Unified Functional Testing 12 Released – NaveenKumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/hp-unified-functional-testing-12-released/

Quality Tools for Android – Daniel Knott- http://dnlkntt.wordpress.com/2014/03/20/quality-tools-for-android/

Miscellaneous

Book Review: On Looking – Justin Rohrman – http://justinrohrman.com/blog/book-review-on-looking/

Kanban in Action – book review – Gojko Adzic – http://gojko.net/2014/03/20/kanban-in-action-book-review/

Retro Book Review: Connections – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/03/retro-book-review-connections.html

Retro Book Review: The Manga Guide to Databases – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/03/retro-book-review-manga-guide-to_17.html

Podcasts: Episode #39 Performance Diagnostics Part 1 – Mark Tomlinson, James Pulley – http://www.perfbytes.com/performance-diagnostics-part-1

Personal Reflections, Goals, Conference Announcements from Testers

None this week

Items of Interest for Testers

Firefox 28: Find out what is new – Martin Brinkmann – http://www.ghacks.net/2014/03/18/firefox-28-find-new/

Firefox, Safari and IE Brought Down in Annual Pwn2Own Hacking Contest  – Chris Paoli – http://redmondmag.com/articles/2014/03/18/annual-pwn2own-hacking-contest.aspx

Four Steps to Avoid Micromanaging and Get Good Work Results – Johanna Rothman – http://www.techwell.com/2014/03/four-steps-avoid-micromanaging-and-get-good-work-results

Game-Changer: Amazon Launches AppStream – Mike Brown – http://blog.utest.com/game-changer-amazon-launches-appstream/2014/03/

How to Deal with Poor Performers – Naomi Karten – http://www.techwell.com/2014/03/how-deal-poor-performers

The Technology Behind Location-Based Apps – Mike Brown – http://www.mobileapptesting.com/the-technology-behind-location-based-apps/2014/03/

Who is Responsible? You Are! – Thomas Cagley – http://tcagley.wordpress.com/2014/03/19/who-is-responsible-you-are/


Do you have a conference or event you would like to have added to this list?
Do you write a blog and don’t see your posting here?  There is a chance, I may not be following your blog yet.
Send an email to thecurator@testingcurator.com or a direct message via Twitter to @TestingCurator and I will add your event or site to the list of places that I track!

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *