Testing Bits – 3/23/14 – 3/29/14

Testing Bits – 3/23/14 – 3/29/14

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 3/23/14 – 3/29/14.

Articles & Blogs

8 Critical Factors for Success of Any QA Project – Vijay Shinde – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/8-critical-factors-for-success-of-any-qa-project/

Acting on Answers – Rikard Edgren – http://thetesteye.com/blog/2014/03/acting-on-answers/

Aren’t You Glad You’re a Software Tester? – Eric Jacobson – http://www.testthisblog.com/2014/03/arent-you-glad-youre-software-tester.html

Basics of Context Driven Testing – Debasis Arukh – https://intensetesting.wordpress.com/2014/03/28/basics-of-context-driven-testing/

Benefits of using BDD – Gareth Waterhouse – http://www.testingthewaterhouse.com/2014/03/benefits-of-using-bdd.html

Collaboration review – take the driver’s seat – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2014/03/collaboration-review-take-drivers-seat.html

Dynamic testing – David Tzhmach – http://www.dtvisiontech.com/2014/03/dynamic-testing.html

GUI Automation Tweet – Richard Bradshaw – http://www.thefriendlytester.co.uk/2014/03/gui-automation-tweet.html

Heuristics for recognizing professional testers – Huib Schoots – http://www.huibschoots.nl/wordpress/?p=1666

How to Maintain a Compatible User Experience – Tara Nicholson – http://www.stickyminds.com/article/how-maintain-compatible-user-experience

I SLICED UP FUN by Jonathan Kohl – Daniel Knott – http://dnlkntt.wordpress.com/2014/03/24/i-sliced-up-fun-by-jonathan-kohl/

Keep Talking – Dan Billing – http://thetestdoctor.blogspot.com/2014/03/keep-talking.html

Leadership and Career Success—On Purpose: An Interview with James Whittaker – Cameron Phillips-Edmonds – http://www.stickyminds.com/interview/leadership-and-career-success-purpose-interview-james-whittaker

Measuring QA Key Skills and Competencies – Gareth Waterhouse – http://www.testingthewaterhouse.com/2014/03/measuring-qa-key-skills-and-competencies.html

Memory Leak Testing- Why it is important? How is it done? – Bijit Pattanaik – https://intensetesting.wordpress.com/2014/03/28/memory-leak-testing-why-it-is-important-how-is-it-done/

Mobile testing tutorial: Testers transition from Web to mobile apps – Matt Heusser – http://searchsoftwarequality.techtarget.com/tip/Mobile-testing-tutorial-Testers-transition-from-Web-to-mobile-apps

My 2 cents about “thinking” (introduction) – Patrick Prill – http://testpappy.wordpress.com/2014/03/23/my-2-cents-about-thinking-introduction/

Onboarding New Testers Into Your Department – Bernice Niel Ruhland – http://thetestersedge.com/2014/03/29/onboarding-new-testers-into-your-department/

Oracles – Testing – Karthikeyan Palaniswamy – http://vaagai.postach.io/oracles-testing

Pair Testing/Buddy Testing – Pritam Pradhan – https://intensetesting.wordpress.com/2014/03/28/pair-testing-buddy-testing/

Prioritizing My Time – Aleksis Tulonen – http://flowoftesting.wordpress.com/2014/03/24/prioritizing-my-time/

Projecting Strength and Value in Chaos – Pete Walen – http://rhythmoftesting.blogspot.com/2014/03/projecting-strength-and-value-in-chaos.html

Scientia potentia est – Anne-Marie Charrett – http://mavericktester.com/archive/scientia-potentia-est/

Static Testing – David Tzhmach – http://www.dtvisiontech.com/2014/03/static-testing.html

TECHNICAL TESTER FRIDAY: And After Awhile… You Can Work on Points for Style – Mike Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/03/technical-tester-friday-and-after.html

Testing Lessons Learned From a Dum Biryani – Perez Ababa – http://perze.blogspot.com/2014/03/testing-lessons-learned-from-dum-biryani.html

The bigger the rock, the smaller the pieces need to be – Ash Winter – http://testingisbelieving.blogspot.com/2014/03/the-bigger-rock-smaller-pieces-need-to.html

The characteristics of a specialist tester – Great writing skills – David Tzhmach – http://www.dtvisiontech.com/2014/03/the-characteristics-of-specialist_28.html

The Next Generation of Testers – Erik Davis – http://www.associationforsoftwaretesting.org/2014/03/26/the-next-generation-of-testers/

The role of testing is heuristic – Ben Kelly – http://testjutsu.com/2014/03/the-role-of-testing-is-heuristic/

The Tester Connector – James Thomas – http://qahiccupps.blogspot.com/2014/03/the-tester-connector.html

The Testing Mantra – OQI – John Andrews – http://testingfromthehip.wordpress.com/2014/03/28/the-testing-mantra-oqi/

Thinking in models – Patrick Prill – http://testpappy.wordpress.com/2014/03/23/thinking-in-models/

Throw user stories away after they are delivered – Gojko Adzic – http://gojko.net/2014/03/25/throw-user-stories-away-after-they-are-delivered/

UI Automation Is Hard – Josh Grant – http://simplythetest.tumblr.com/post/80795547207/ui-automation-is-hard

Useful Metrics and the Problem with Performance Testing Programs: An Interview with Scott Barber – Jonathan Vanian – http://www.stickyminds.com/interview/useful-metrics-and-problem-performance-testing-programs-interview-scott-barber

Who Tests The Checks – Richard Bradshaw – http://www.thefriendlytester.co.uk/2014/03/who-tests-checks.html

Why is it so hard to design automated GUI-driven functional tests? – Noah Sussman – http://infiniteundo.com/post/80881879374/why-is-testing-hard

Why propose an advanced certification in software testing? – Cem Kaner – http://kaner.com/?p=401

Work Smarter Not Harder – Andy Patterson – http://andythepat.blogspot.com/2014/03/work-smarter-not-harder.html

Working Effectively With Legacy Tests – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/03/25/working-effectively-with-legacy-tests/


Belgium Testing Days 2014 – People – Kristoffer Nordström – http://blog.northerntest.se/belgium-testing-days-2014-people/

Pedestals – Alister Scott – http://watirmelon.com/2014/03/28/pedestals/

Live From TestBash – Stephen Janaway – http://stephenjanaway.co.uk/stephenjanaway/testing-2/live-from-testbash/

TestBash Speaker Series – Chris George – Simon Knight – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/03/testbash-speaker-series-chris-george/

TestBash Speaker Series – Huib Schoots – Simon Knight – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/03/testbash-speaker-series-huib-schoots/

TestBash Speaker Series – Keith Klain – Simon Knight – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/03/testbash-speaker-series-keith-klain/

TestBash Speaker Series – Stephen Blower – Simon Knight – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/03/testbash-speaker-series-stephen-blower/

Tweet Bits from TestBash3 – Matt Hutchison – http://blog.testingcurator.com/2014/03/29/tweet-bits-from-testbash3/

Attention: Ohio Testers

4/2/14 – Cleveland, OH – NOTiCE – Building Tester Communities at Work – http://www.meetup.com/notice/events/164989692/

4/29/14 – Columbus OH, Software QA & Testing Meetup – Topic To Be Determined – http://www.meetup.com/Software-QA-Testing-Meetup/


Guide to JMeter Regular Expressions – Tim Koopmans – http://90kts.com/2014/03/28/guide-to-jmeter-regular-expressions/

How to get current browser URL in QTP – Sagar Bhatt – http://sagarbhatt85.blogspot.com/2014/03/how-to-get-current-browser-url-in-qtp.html

HP LoadRunner 12 Tools – NaveenKumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/hp-loadrunner-12-tools/

The Dialect Diary – The Formation of a Test Framework – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/the-dialect-diary-the-formation-of-a-test-framework/

The Dialect Diary – Platform Objects – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/the-dialect-diary-platform-objects/

Thoughts about LoadRunner 12 Release – Alex Podelko – http://alexanderpodelko.com/blog/2014/03/24/thoughts-about-loadrunner-12-release/


Book – The Cartoon Tester Book – Andy Glover – http://cartoontester.blogspot.com/2014/03/the-cartoon-tester-book.html

Podcast – Test Talks Podcast Episode5 – Top new Features in UFT, LoadRunner and ALM 12 – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2014/03/24/test-talks-podcast-episode5-top-new-features-in-uft-loadrunner-and-alm-12/

Presentations – BTD2014 or YouTube and Slideshare Merge – Derk-Jan de Grood – http://djdegrood.wordpress.com/2014/03/29/btd2014-or-youtube-and-slideshare-merge/

Presentations – Slides from Defect Sampling Presentation at ASTQB Conference – Randy Rice – http://randallrice.blogspot.com/2014/03/slides-from-defect-sampling.html

Presentations – Slides from Free and Cheap Tools Tutuorial at ASTQB Conference – Randy Rice – http://randallrice.blogspot.com/2014/03/slides-from-free-and-cheap-tools.html

Survey – Testing is like… Marmite? – Simon Knight – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/03/testing-like-marmite/

Videos – Why We Love Testing – SmartBear – Keith Klain – http://qualityremarks.com/why-we-love-testing-smartbear/

Items of Interest for Testers

Flavors of Sunken Costs – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/03/24/flavors-of-sunken-costs/

How Autism Can Help You Land a Job – Shirley S. Wang – http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB10001424052702304418404579465561364868556

Maxthon web browser comes to Linux — move over, Chrome and Firefox – Brian Fagioli – http://betanews.com/2014/03/26/maxthon-web-browser-comes-to-linux-move-over-chrome-and-firefox/

On Writing Blog Entries – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/03/26/on-writing-blog-entries/

Using Root Cause Analysis When Your Project Fails – Venkatesh Krishnamurthy – http://www.techwell.com/2014/03/using-root-cause-analysis-when-your-project-fails

WhiteHat Security Labs launches the ‘most secure and most private’ web browser on Windows – Ron – http://www.winbeta.org/news/whitehat-security-labs-launches-most-secure-and-most-private-web-browser-windows

Will the Tizen OS Be a Successful Mobile Platform? – Anuj Magazine – http://www.techwell.com/2014/03/will-tizen-os-be-successful-mobile-platform

Do you have a conference or event you would like to have added to this list?  Do you write a blog and don’t see your posting here?  There is a chance, I may not be following your blog yet.

Send an email to thecurator@testingcurator.com or a direct message via Twitter to @TestingCurator and I will add your event or site to the list of places that I track!

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *