Testing Bits – 3/30/14 – 4/5/14

Testing Bits – 3/30/14 – 4/5/14

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 3/30/14 – 4/5/14.

Articles & Blogs

A Little Blog Post on a Big Idea: Does the Software Work? – Pete Walen – http://rhythmoftesting.blogspot.com/2014/03/a-little-blog-post-on-big-idea-does.html

Another Learning Style Model – Thomas Cagley – http://tcagley.wordpress.com/2014/04/02/another-learning-style-model/

Anyone can be a (bad) tester – Jari Laakso – http://jarilaakso.blogspot.com/2014/04/anyone-can-be-bad-tester.html

Anyone can be a tester – Jonathan Roe – http://www.morethanfunctional.co.uk/1/post/2014/04/anyone-can-be-a-tester.html

Blog: I’ve Had It With Defects – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2014/04/ive-had-it-with-defects/

Blog: Very Short Blog Posts (14): “It works!” – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2014/03/very-short-blog-posts-14-it-works/

Courage and Ambition in Teaching and Learning – Paul Gerrard – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2014/4/1/courage-and-ambition-in-teaching-and-learning

Don’t follow the leader – Benjamin Yaroch – http://dynamoben.wordpress.com/2014/03/31/dont-follow-the-leader/

Fear of #fail – Paul Littlebury – http://jaffamonkey.com/fear_of_fail/

Five Software Testing Myths Busted – Ulf Eriksson – http://www.techwell.com/2014/04/five-software-testing-myths-busted

Game On: Automating Sports Video Game Testing: An Interview with Fazeel Gareeboo – Cameron Philipp-Edmonds – http://www.stickyminds.com/interview/game-automating-sports-video-game-testing-interview-fazeel-gareeboo

How Testers Can Help Regain the Trust of Users – Mike Brown – http://blog.utest.com/how-testers-can-help-regain-the-trust-of-users/2014/04/

How we manage our software testing – Luke Barfield – http://testingthoughts.co.uk/?p=49

Human vs. Machine Test Evaluation Has A Double Standard – Eric Jacobson – http://www.testthisblog.com/2014/04/human-vs-machine-test-evaluation-has.html

Incentivising Community Engagement? – Stephen Janaway – http://stephenjanaway.co.uk/stephenjanaway/management/incentivising-community-engagement/

Kanban planning around the clock – Kristoffer Nordström – http://blog.northerntest.se/kanban-planning-around-the-clock/

Keyword-driven Test Automation: An Interview with Hans Buwalda – Jonathan Vanian – http://www.stickyminds.com/interview/keyword-driven-test-automation-interview-hans-buwalda

Learning Styles and Teams – Thomas Cagley – http://tcagley.wordpress.com/2014/03/31/learning-styles/

My First Step Towards Mobile Security Testing – Santhosh Tuppad – http://tuppad.com/blog/2014/04/03/my-first-step-towards-mobile-security-testing/

Performance Review Do’s and Don’ts – Naomi Karten – http://www.techwell.com/2014/04/performance-review-do-s-and-don-ts

QA Management: All Bark and No Bite? – Mike Talks – http://www.stickyminds.com/article/qa-management-all-bark-and-no-bite

Software Testing Myth- Bugs Don’t Bite – Arundhati Beura – http://intensetesting.wordpress.com/2014/03/31/software-testing-myth-bugs-dont-bite/

Software Testing Rhyme – Keep Pushing – Anand Ramdeo – http://www.testinggeek.com/software-testing-rhyme-keep-pushing

Technical Tester Friday: Ladies and Gentleman, JavaScript has Entered the Building – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/04/technical-tester-friday-ladies-and.html

Technology Trends of the Future: An Interview with Hung Nguyen – Cameron Philipp-Edmonds – http://www.stickyminds.com/interview/technology-trends-future-interview-hung-nguyen

Test Case Completion – A Story – Rob Lambert – http://thesocialtester.co.uk/test-case-completion-a-story/

Testing First Really Is Different Than Testing Last – Thomas Cagley – http://tcagley.wordpress.com/2014/04/04/testing-first-really-is-different-than-testing-last/

The 3 Essential Questions for Mobile App Testing – Mike Brown – http://www.mobileapptesting.com/the-3-essential-questions-for-mobile-app-testing/2014/04/

The characteristics of a specialist tester – Nothing is obvious, Assuming is the key for failures – David Tzmach – http://www.dtvisiontech.com/2014/04/the-characteristics-of-specialist_4.html

The characteristics of a specialist tester – Software life cycle involvement – David Tzhmach – http://www.dtvisiontech.com/2014/04/the-characteristics-of-specialist.html

What to focus after the automation tool is in place? – Prashant Chambakara – http://qainsights.com/focus-automation-tool-place/

Why I am context-driven – Jeanne Hofmans – Jeanne Hoffmans – http://dewt.wordpress.com/2014/03/31/why-i-am-context-driven-jeanne-hofmans/

Why Mobile Apps Testing is Different from Desktop and Web – Jessica Fleet – http://blog.utest.com/why-mobile-apps-testing-is-different-from-desktop-and-web/2014/04/

Conferences/Meetups/Organizations/Training

ALMForum:
A San Franciscan in Seattle: #ALMForum Day Two Reflections – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/04/a-san-franciscan-in-seattle-almforum.html

Live From Seattle, it’s #ALMForum: A TESTHEAD Live Blog – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/04/live-from-seattle-its-almforum-testhead.html

Testing the Limits at #ALMForum: Day Three – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/04/testing-limits-at-almforum-day-three.html

TestBash:

Lean coffee at TestBash – Chris George – http://www.mostly-testing.co.uk/2014/03/lean-coffee-at-testbash.html

Reflections on TestBash 2014 – Dan Billing – http://thetestdoctor.wordpress.com/2014/04/01/reflections-on-testbash-2014-2/

TestBash 2014 – Ash Winter – http://blog.thetestpeople.com/2014/03/31/testbash-2014/

TestBash 3 – Jokin Aspiazu – http://jokinaspiazu.blogspot.com/2014/04/testbash-3.html

TestBash Retrospective #1 – Tester Exchange Program – Chris – http://secondsignofmadness.blogspot.com/2014/04/testbash-retrospective-1-tester.html

TestBash Retrospective #2 – Don’t Be Vague, Respect the Bug Report – Chris S – http://secondsignofmadness.blogspot.com/2014/04/testabash-retrospective-2-dont-be-vague.html

TestBash Retrospective #3 – Inspiring Testers – Chris S – http://secondsignofmadness.blogspot.com/2014/04/testbash-retrospective-3-inspiring.html

TestBash Testimonies – Danny Dainton – Simon Knight – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/03/testbash-testimonies-danny-dainton/

Others:

WT 106 – Baseball Card Tracker – ‘Open Source Software’ Testing – Ajay Balamurugadas – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3441

WTA 49: Weekend Testing America’s Live Session at STPCon – Jean Ann Harrison – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3457

Attention: Ohio Testers

4/29/14 – Columbus OH, Software QA & Testing Meetup – Tester Developer Collaboration – http://bit.ly/1h0CAEq

Tools

A ruby testing framework, from scratch, in 15 minutes – Alister Scott – http://watirmelon.com/2014/03/31/a-ruby-testing-framework-from-scratch-in-15-minutes/

How to stress test your Android app with Monkey – Daniel Knott – http://dnlkntt.wordpress.com/2014/04/01/how-to-stress-test-your-android-app-with-monkey/

qTest eXplorer Review: The Ultimate Tool For The Agile Tester! – Kaushal Amin – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/qtest-explorer-review-the-ultimate-tool-for-the-agile-tester/

The #1 Killer of Selenium Script Performance and Reliability – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2014/04/01/the-1-killer-of-selenium-script-performance-and-reliability/

The Dialect Diary – Assertion Generators – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/the-dialect-diary-assertion-generators/

The Dialect Diary – Element Definitions – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/the-dialect-diary-element-definitions/

The Dialect Diary – Evaluators – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/the-dialect-diary-evaluators/

Using Selenium Locators the Smart Way – Josh Grant – http://simplythetest.tumblr.com/post/81641737796/using-selenium-locators-the-smart-way

Miscellaneous

Podcast: Episode 1 – Alan and Brent talk testing… – Alan Page, Brent Jensen – http://angryweasel.com/blog/alan-and-brent-talk-testing/

Podcast: A/B Testing Podcast goes live – Alan Page, Brent Jensen – http://testastic.wordpress.com/2014/03/31/ab-testing-podcast-goes-live/

Podcast: Episode #40 Performance Diagnostics Part 2 – Michael Tomlinson, James Pulley – http://www.perfbytes.com/performance-diagnostics-part-2

Items of Interest for Testers

Facebook Paid Researchers $1.5 Million to Fix Software Bugs – Arik Hesseldahl – http://recode.net/2014/04/03/facebook-paid-researchers-1-5-million-to-fix-software-bugs/

HealthCare.gov Glitch Prevents Users From Creating New Accounts – Spencer Ante – http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB10001424052702303978304579473262059942616

India leads race in reporting Facebook bugs – http://www.financialexpress.com/news/india-leads-the-race-in-reporting-bugs-on-facebook-in-2013/1238273

Long Waits as Health Deadline Nears – Louise Radnofsky – http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB10001424052702304157204579471811445906156

Meet Microsoft’s 5-year-old security researcher – http://www.gmanetwork.com/news/story/355596/scitech/technology/meet-microsoft-s-5-year-old-security-researcher

Power plants put at risk by security bugs – Mark Ward – http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-26881970

R.I.P. Windows XP 2001-2014. What can you do now? – Bob Chandler – http://rabble.ca/blogs/bloggers/radiorahim/2014/04/rip-windows-xp-2001-2014-what-can-you-do-now

Some of the life lessons you can learn from trekking – Shanmuga Raja – http://rantsonsoftware.com/some-of-the-life-lessons-you-can-learn-from-trekking/

Twitter uses code refactoring to reduce risk and improve testing – George Lawton – http://searchsoftwarequality.techtarget.com/news/2240217271/Twitter-uses-code-refactoring-to-reduce-risk-and-improve-testing


Do you have a conference or event you would like to have added to this list?
Do you write a blog and don’t see your posting here?  There is a chance, I may not be following your blog yet.
Send an email to thecurator@testingcurator.com or a direct message via Twitter to @TestingCurator and I will add your event or site to the list of places that I track!

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *