Testing Bits – 4/13/14 – 4/19/14

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 4/13/14 – 4/19/14.

Articles & Blogs

A Personal Failure Analysis: Why it appears CDT has failed – Jeremy Carey-Dressler – http://about98percentdone.blogspot.com/2014/04/a-personal-failure-analysis-why-it.html

Blog: Very Short Blog Posts (16): Usability Problems Are Probably Testability Problems Too – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2014/04/very-short-blog-posts-16-usability-problems-are-probably-testability-problems-too/

Collective Noun for Testers? – Rob Lambert – http://thesocialtester.co.uk/collective-noun-for-testers/

Dear fellow tester, what have you done for software testing? – Karlo Smid – http://zagorskisoftwaretester.blogspot.com/2014/04/dear-fellow-tester-what-have-you-done.html

Dissecting The Testing Quadrants – Different Representations – Duncan Nisbet – http://www.duncannisbet.co.uk/dissecting-the-testing-quadrants-different-representations

Evolution of a model – Katrina Clokie – http://katrinatester.blogspot.com/2014/04/evolution-of-model.html

Fixing the Brittleness Problem with GUI Tests – Clint Hoagland – http://www.stickyminds.com/articles/fixing-brittleness-problem-gui-tests

Frustrated on the silo mentality and working solo – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2014/04/frustrated-on-silo-mentality-and.html

Hands-on Testing is a Valuable Test Management Practice – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2014/04/hands-on-testing-is-valuable-test.html

Instigating Change – Amy Phillips – http://testingthemind.wordpress.com/2014/04/16/instigating-change/

Mind Mapping: An Introduction – Thomas Cagley – http://tcagley.wordpress.com/2014/04/14/mind-mapping/

Mind Mapping: Brainstorming and Other Uses – Thomas Cagley – http://tcagley.wordpress.com/2014/04/17/mind-mapping-brainstorming-and-other-uses/

Mind Mapping: Drawing A Basic Mind Map – Thomas Cagley – http://tcagley.wordpress.com/2014/04/15/mind-mapping-drawing-a-basic-mind-map/

Mind Mapping: Some Guidelines – Thomas Cagley – http://tcagley.wordpress.com/2014/04/16/mind-mapping-some-guidelines/

Mobile Testing in the Cloud: An Interview with Rachel Obstler –  Cameron Philipp-Edmonds – http://www.stickyminds.com/interviews/mobile-testing-cloud-interview-rachel-obstler

On Thinking about Heuristic Discovery – Simon Morley – http://testers-headache.blogspot.com/2014/04/on-thinking-about-heuristic-discovery.html

Refusing to do bad work… – Huib Schoots – http://www.huibschoots.nl/wordpress/?p=1689

Stop Talking Gibberish – Jonathan Roe – http://www.morethanfunctional.co.uk/1/post/2014/04/stop-talking-gibberish.html

TECHNICAL TESTER, err, Saturday: Pain Fog and Objective Completion – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/04/technical-tester-err-saturday-pain-fog.html

Testing end-to-end? Remember, more could be counter productive – Anand Ramdeo – http://www.testinggeek.com/testing-end-to-end-remember-more-could-be-counter-productive

The State of AST – A Personal Retrospective – Benjamin Yaroch – http://www.associationforsoftwaretesting.org/2014/04/14/the-state-of-ast-a-personal-retrospective/

Variable Testers – James Bach – http://www.satisfice.com/blog/archives/1453

Using Exploratory Testing to Drive Automation – John Stevenson – http://steveo1967.blogspot.com/2014/04/using-exploratory-testing-to-drive.html

What I found out about “Tacit and Explicit Knowledge” so far – Patrick Prill –  http://testpappy.wordpress.com/2014/04/16/what-i-found-out-about-tacit-and-explicit-knowledge-so-far/

What is Usability Testing and its Benefit? – Ujjaul Varshney – http://intensetesting.wordpress.com/2014/04/14/what-is-usability-testing-and-its-benefits/

What is your Legacy? – Bernice Niel Ruhland – http://thetestersedge.com/2014/04/17/what-is-your-legacy/

What is Your Legacy – Part 2 – Bernice Niel Ruhland – http://thetestersedge.com/2014/04/19/what-is-your-legacy-part-2/

Why I am context-driven – Joris Meerts – http://dewt.wordpress.com/2014/04/15/why-i-am-context-driven-joris-meerts/

Conferences/Meetups/Organizations/Training

Two testers at 3rd #OSCHackathon – Karlo Smid – http://zagorskisoftwaretester.blogspot.com/2014/04/two-testers-at-3rd-oschackathon.html

TweetBits from STPCon – Day 1 – Matt Hutchison – http://blog.testingcurator.com/2014/04/16/tweetbits-from-stpcon-day-1/

TweetBits from STPCon – Day 2 – Matt Hutchison – http://blog.testingcurator.com/2014/04/16/tweetbits-from-stpcon-day-2/

TweetBits from STPCon – Day 3 – Matt Hutchison – http://blog.testingcurator.com/2014/04/18/tweetbits-from-stpcon-day-3/

WTANZ 20 – Heuristics in Exploratory Testing – Dean Mackenzie – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3461

Attention: Ohio Testers

4/29/14 – Columbus OH, Software QA & Testing Meetup – Tester Developer Collaboration – http://bit.ly/1h0CAEq

Tools

What is VAPI-XP Test in HP Quality Center? – NaveenKumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/vapi-xp-test-hp-quality-center/

Miscellaneous

Magazines – Testing Trapeze – 2014 – April Edition – Katrina Clokie – http://www.testingcircus.com/testing-trapeze-2014-april-edition/

Podcasts: AB Testing – Episode 3 – Alan Page – http://angryweasel.com/blog/ab-testing-episode-3/

Podcasts: Episode #41 PerfBytes Live! At STPCON Spring 2014 – Mark Tomlinson, James Pulley – http://www.perfbytes.com/perfbytes-live-stpcon-spring-2014

Items of Interest for Testers

Agile – What’s a Manager to Do? – Jim Bird – http://swreflections.blogspot.com/2014/04/agile-whats-manager-to-do.html

Life as a Remote Worker – Chris Kenst – http://www.mytechfetish.com/2014/04/life-as-remote-worker.html

The Testing Curator is scheduled to launch the second quarter of 2014. Look for some exciting announcements very soon in the next few weeks! Watch the video below to learn more. You can also sign up to our newsletter for more information and announcements at http://www.testingcurator.com/

Do you have a conference or event you would like to have added to this list?
Do you write a blog and don’t see your posting here? There is a chance, I may not be following your blog yet.
Send an email to thecurator@testingcurator.com or a direct message via Twitter to @TestingCurator and I will add your event or site to the list of places that I track!

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *