Testing Bits – 4/20/14 – 4/26/14

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 4/20/14 – 4/26/14.

Articles & Blogs

A better way to hire developers and testers – Mario – http://ortask.com/a-better-way-to-hire-developers-and-testers/

About Agile Testing and Nonsense – Alex Podelko – http://alexanderpodelko.com/blog/2014/04/24/about-agile-testing-and-nonsense/

Automation – Shall I invest in building dedicated team? – Vipul Gupta – http://vipulgupta1.wordpress.com/2014/04/22/automation-shall-i-invest-in-building-dedicated-team/

Blog: A Tale of Four Projects – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2014/04/a-tale-of-four-projects/

Blog: “In The Real World” – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2014/04/in-the-real-world/

Blog: Very Short Blog Posts (17): Regression Obsession – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2014/04/very-short-blog-posts-17-regression-obsession/

Dissecting The Testing Quadrants – Some Examples – Duncan Nisbet – http://www.duncannisbet.co.uk/dissecting-the-testing-quadrants-some-examples

Dissecting The Testing Quadrants – Wrap Up – Duncan Nisbet – http://www.duncannisbet.co.uk/dissecting-the-testing-quadrants-wrap-up

Domain Driven Design In The Heuristic Test Strategy Model – Duncan Nisbet – http://www.duncannisbet.co.uk/domain-driven-design-in-the-heuristic-test-strategy-model-2

Easy is the Path to Wisdom for Those not Blinded by Themselves – Simon Knight – http://sjpknight.com/easy-is-the-path-to-wisdom-for-those-not-blinded-by-themselves/

In the Context of Context-Driven – James Thomas – http://qahiccupps.blogspot.com/2014/04/in-context-of-content-driven.html

Is Your Mobile App Safe From These Security Breaches? – Mike Brown – http://www.mobileapptesting.com/is-your-mobile-app-safe-from-these-security-breaches/2014/04/

Keep Calm and Get The Bugs Fixed – Maria Kedemo – http://www.testingcircus.com/keep-calm-and-get-the-bugs-fixed/

Making Numbers Count: Metrics That Matter: An Interview with Mike Trites – Cameron Philipp-Edmonds – http://www.stickyminds.com/interviews/making-numbers-count-metrics-matter-interview-mike-trites?page=0%2C0

Miscommunications…And How to Recover – Matt Heusser – http://www.stickyminds.com/blog/matt-heusser/miscommunications-and-how-recover

My Baby Steps towards Automation!! – Ruma Dak – http://rumadak.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/my-baby-steps-towards-automation/

On Checking and Exploration – Karthikeyan Palaniswamy – http://vaagai.postach.io/on-checking-and-exploration

On Test Results and Decisions about Test Results – Simon Morley – http://testers-headache.blogspot.com/2014/04/on-test-results-and-decisions-about.html

Please leave ALL your emotions outside the door – Joel Montvelisky – http://qablog.practitest.com/2014/04/please-leave-all-your-emotions-outside-the-door/

Reviews and Inspections: The Basics – Thomas Cagley – http://tcagley.wordpress.com/2014/04/21/reviews-and-inspections-206/

RIMGEA – Sami Söderblom – http://theadventuresofaspacemonkey.blogspot.com/2014/04/rimgea.html

Stakeholder Tests – an output of requirements gathering and refinement – Duncan Nisbet – http://www.duncannisbet.co.uk/stakeholder-tests-an-output-of-requirements-gathering-and-refinement

Striving For Early Feedback – Aleksis Tulonen – http://flowoftesting.wordpress.com/2014/04/22/striving-for-early-feedback/

TECHNICAL TESTER FRIDAY – Getting UnGraphical with lynx and grep – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/04/technical-tester-friday-getting.html

Test Reports – Nicolai L. Nielsen – http://testing4tw.blogspot.com/2014/04/test-reports.html

Test Strategy Retrospective – Katrina Clokie – http://katrinatester.blogspot.com/2014/04/test-strategy-retrospective.html

Web Performance of Ecommerce Applications – Scott Price – http://loadstorm.com/2014/04/web-performance-ecommerce-applications/

What Is Exploratory Testing? – Smita Dash – http://intensetesting.wordpress.com/2014/04/21/what-is-exploratory-testing-2/

Why No Test Cases – Will Yates – http://outspokenhobbit.blogspot.com/2014/04/why-no-test-cases.html

Conferences/Meetups/Organizations/Training

Selenium SF Live: An Evening With Dave Haeffner – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/04/selenium-sf-live-evening-with-dave.html

SQE training week in Boston – Franziska R. – http://blog.xceptance.com/2014/04/25/sqe-training-week-in-boston/

Attention: Ohio Testers

4/29/14 – Columbus, OH – Software QA & Testing Meetup – Tester Developer Collaboration – http://bit.ly/1h0CAEq

5/7/14 – Cleveland, OH – NOTiCE – Lightening Rounds – http://www.meetup.com/notice/events/164990462/

Tools

REST-Assured – How to Post a JSPON Request – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2014/04/24/rest-assured-how-to-post-a-json-request/

The Red Deer Recorder – Len DiMaggio – http://swqetesting.blogspot.com/2014/04/the-red-deer-recorder.html

Troubleshoot Snapshots in HP LoadRunner – NaveenKumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/troubleshoot-snapshots-in-hp-loadrunner/

Use of Rapid Reporter in Exploratory Testing – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://www.testingcircus.com/use-of-rapid-reporter-in-exploratory-testing/

Miscellaneous

Slides: Empathy in Software Testing – Simon Knight – http://sjpknight.com/empathy-in-software-testing/

Videos: TestBash 3 Video: 99 Second Talks – Rosie Sherry – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/04/testbash-3-video-99-second-talks/

Items of Interest for Testers

A Conventional but Flawed View of Leadership – Gerald Weinberg – http://secretsofconsulting.blogspot.com/2014/04/a-conventional-but-flawed-view-of.html

A Leaner and Cleaner Codeacademy – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/04/a-leaner-and-cleaner-codecademy.html

Bug can cause deadly failures when anesthesia device is connected to cell phones – Dan Goodin – http://arstechnica.com/security/2014/04/bug-can-cause-deadly-failures-when-anesthesia-device-is-connected-to-cell-phones/

Driving Devops – Jim Bird – http://swreflections.blogspot.com/2014/04/driving-devops.html

Perhaps They Should Have Tested More – CTB/McGraw Hill – Joe Strazzere – http://www.allthingsquality.com/2014/04/perhaps-they-should-have-tested-more.html

Per Scholas and Doran Jones Partner to Build Test Center in South Bronx – Keith Klain – http://qualityremarks.com/per-scholas-and-doran-jones-partner-to-build-test-center-in-south-bronx/

The Heartbleed Bug Saga Continues…on your Android Device – Erika Poole – http://blog.applause.com/the-heartbleed-saga-continueson-your-android-device/2014/04/

The Testing Curator is scheduled to launch the second quarter of 2014. Look for some exciting announcements very soon in the next few weeks! Watch the video below to learn more. You can also sign up to our newsletter for more information and announcements at http://www.testingcurator.com/

Do you have a conference or event you would like to have added to this list?
Do you write a blog and don’t see your posting here?  There is a chance, I may not be following your blog yet.
Send an email to thecurator@testingcurator.com or a direct message via Twitter to @TestingCurator and I will add your event or site to the list of places that I track!

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply to Matt Hutchison Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 thoughts on “Testing Bits – 4/20/14 – 4/26/14