Testing Bits – 4/27/14 – 5/3/14

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 4/27/14 – 5/3/14.

Articles & Blogs

5 examples of metrics that matter – Sharon Robson – http://blog.softed.com/2014/04/28/5-examples-of-metrics-that-matter/

7 Tips to screw any Test Automation Initiative – Vipul Gupta – http://vipulgupta1.wordpress.com/2014/04/28/7-tips-to-screw-any-test-automation-initiative/

Another day, a design concern – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2014/04/another-day-design-concern.html

Asking Questions – Almost 9 years later – Quality Captain – http://www.qualitycaptain.com/asking-questions-almost-9-years-later/

Blog: Very Short Blog Posts (18): Ask for Testability – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2014/05/very-short-blog-posts-18-ask-for-testability/

Charisma Testing – Rikard Edgren – http://thetesteye.com/blog/2014/04/charisma-testing/

Creating good locators – Darrell Grainger – http://darrellgrainger.blogspot.com/2014/04/creating-good-locators.html

Developer skills and the need of testers – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2014/04/developer-skills-and-need-of-testers.html

Do you trust a test that you have never seen fail? – David Burns – http://www.theautomatedtester.co.uk/blog/2014/do-you-trust-a-test-that-you-have-never-seen-fail.html

Exploratory Performance Testing – Alex Podelko – http://alexanderpodelko.com/blog/2014/05/02/exploratory-performance-testing/

Going “Coyote”: Overcoming Fear and Uncertainty with “The Craddick Effect” – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/05/going-coyote-overcoming-fear-and.html

How to deal with explosion of test cases? – Karlo Smid – http://zagorskisoftwaretester.blogspot.com/2014/05/how-to-deal-with-explosion-of-test-cases.html

How to Effectively Prepare “Test Bed” and Minimize the Test Environment Defects (Part 1) – Sneha Nadig – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/test-bed-test-environment-management-best-practices/

Linking Goals, Measures and Metrics – Thomas Cagley – http://tcagley.wordpress.com/2014/05/01/linking-goals-measures-and-metrics/

Mind Map Test Plans – Nicolai L. Nielsen – http://testing4tw.blogspot.com/2014/04/mind-map-test-plans.html

On Shrinking Violets, Anti-Heroes or Failure to Step Forward – Pete Walen – http://rhythmoftesting.blogspot.com/2014/04/on-shrinking-violets-anti-heroes-or.html

On the Quality of Qualitative Measures – Cem Kaner – http://kaner.com/?p=409

Optimizing efforts into bug reporting – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2014/05/optimizing-efforts-into-bug-reporting.html

Performistry is like Dentistry – Tim Koopmans – http://90kts.com/2014/05/02/performistry-is-like-dentistry/

Post Job Opportunities That Attract Talent – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/post-job-opportunities-that-attract-talent/

Steps of Performance Testing – Phillip Odom – http://loadstorm.com/2014/04/steps-of-performance-testing/

Testing doesn’t add value? – Ardesco – http://ardesco.lazerycode.com/index.php/2014/05/testing-doesnt-add-value/

The Perfect Testing Job May Already Be Yours – Eric Jacobson – http://www.testthisblog.com/2014/04/the-perfect-testing-job-may-already-be.html

Unexpected prerender in Chrome – Steve Souders – http://www.stevesouders.com/blog/2014/04/30/unexpected-prerender-in-chrome/

Why Do You Like Testing? We Have 12 Reasons, See Where Do You Fit – Bhumika Mehta – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/why-do-you-like-testing/

Why Measure? – Thomas Cagley – http://tcagley.wordpress.com/2014/04/29/why-measure-2/

Conferences/Meetups/Organizations/Training

5/7/14 – StarEast Virtual Conference – http://stareast.techwell.com/virtual-conference

Bangalore Workshop on Software Testing – 4 – Pradeep Soundararajan – http://testertested.blogspot.com/2014/04/bangalore-workshop-on-software-testing-4.html

PEST 4.5: Workshop on Visualization – Helena J Mae – http://thepainandgainofedwardbear.wordpress.com/2014/04/27/pest-4-5-workshop-on-visualization/

Software tester experience of CRAFT2014 – Karlo Smid – http://zagorskisoftwaretester.blogspot.com/2014/04/software-tester-experience-of-craft2014.html

Attention: Ohio Testers

5/7/14 – Cleveland, OH – NOTiCE – Lightening Rounds – http://www.meetup.com/notice/events/164990462/

5/27/14 – Columbus, OH – Software QA & Testing Meetup – Topic TBD – http://www.meetup.com/Software-QA-Testing-Meetup/

Tools

A Simple Test Runner For Windows – Qxf2 – http://qxf2.com/blog/a-simple-test-runner-for-windows/

HP Unified Functional Testing patch Release – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2014/05/01/hp-uft-critical-patch-2-release-for-uft-11-53/

Mac cross-platform lessons learned with Selenium WebDriver – Alan Richardson – http://seleniumsimplified.com/2014/05/mac-cross-platform-lessons-learned-with-selenium-webdriver/

Schadenfreude Lessons Learned from Training Course Upgrades – Alan Richardson – http://seleniumsimplified.com/2014/05/schadenfreude-lessons-learned-from-training-course-upgrades/

The Red Deer Recorder – Len DiMaggio – http://java.dzone.com/articles/red-deer-recorder

WebDriverWait versus FluentWait – Darrell Grainger – http://darrellgrainger.blogspot.com/2014/04/webdriverwait-versus-fluentwait.html

Miscellaneous

Podcasts: AB Testing – Episode 0100 – http://testastic.wordpress.com/2014/04/29/ab-testing-episode-0100/

Podcasts: Episode #42 – Performance In Development – Mark Tomlinson, James Pulley – http://www.perfbytes.com/performance-in-development

Podcasts: Testing in the Pub Episode 4 – Being a Valuable Team Member – Stephen Janaway – http://testinginthepub.co.uk/testinginthepub/testing/testing-pub-episode-4-valuable-team-member/

TestBash 3 Video: Managing Application Performance Throughout the LifeCycle – Scott Barber – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/04/testbash-3-video-managing-application-performance-throughout-lifecycle/

TestBash 3 Video: Easing the Pain of Legacy Tests – Chris George – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/05/testbash-3-video-easing-pain-legacy-tests-chris-george/

Items of Interest for Testers

Bugzilla@Mozilla Reaches Millionth Bug – Alex Armstrong – http://www.i-programmer.info/news/90-tools/7243-bugzillamozilla-reaches-millionth-bug.html

4 Software Bugs You Probably Missed This Week – Kate Slattery – http://blog.utest.com/2014/05/01/4-software-bugs-you-probably-missed-this-week/

Can You Build a Team through Team Games? – Venkatesh Krishnamurthy – http://www.techwell.com/2014/04/can-you-build-team-through-team-games

Firefox 29 Released, IE’s New Vulnerability, and More News – Michael Epstein – http://www.notebookreview.com/news/news-bits-firefox-29-released-ies-new-vulnerability-and-more/

First software test design competition to be held – http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/SME/2014/04/28/First-software-test-design-competition-to-be-held/

Is There Such a Thing as Too Much Communication? – Naomi Karten – http://www.techwell.com/2014/04/there-such-thing-too-much-communication

Microsoft Explorer bug: should you be worried? – Sophie Curtis – http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/internet-security/10795021/Microsoft-Internet-Explorer-vulnerability-should-you-be-worried.html

Microsoft fixes big IE bug — even on Windows XP – Seth Rosenblatt – http://www.cnet.com/news/microsoft-fixes-big-ie-bug-on-windows-xp-even/

PerScholas, Keith Klain, Doran Jones and how this industry is changing – Pradeep Soundararajan – http://testertested.blogspot.com/2014/04/perscholas-keith-klain-doran-jones-and.html

Testing Lessons Learned from Toyota and Nissan Recalls – Anuj Magazine – http://www.techwell.com/2014/04/testing-lessons-learned-toyota-and-nissan-recalls

UC Browser woos Indonesia, sees market share double to 11% – Enricko Lukman – http://www.techinasia.com/uc-browser-11-percent-market-share-indonesia/


The Testing Curator is scheduled to launch the second quarter of 2014. Look for some exciting announcements very soon in the next few weeks! Watch the video below to learn more. You can also sign up to our newsletter for more information and announcements at http://www.testingcurator.com/

Do you have a conference or event you would like to have added to this list?
Do you write a blog and don’t see your posting here?  There is a chance, I may not be following your blog yet.
Send an email to thecurator@testingcurator.com or a direct message via Twitter to @TestingCurator and I will add your event or site to the list of places that I track!

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *