Testing Bits – 5/4/14 – 5/10/14

Happy Mother’s Day!  Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 5/4/14 – 5/10/14.

Articles & Blogs

4 Essential Tips on Mobile Usability Testing – Mike Brown – http://blog.applause.com/2014/05/06/4-essential-tips-on-mobile-usability-testing/

8 Things You Should Test In Your Site Search – Bug Huntress – http://blog.bughuntress.com/functional-testing/8-things-you-should-test-in-your-site-search

A Software Skills Roadmap for Testers – Paul Gerrard – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2014/a-software-skills-roadmap-for-testers

Blog: Very Short Blog Posts (19): Testing By Percentages – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2014/05/very-short-blog-posts-19-testing-by-percentages/

Client-User Balance – Qxf2blog – http://qxf2.com/blog/client-user-balance/

Emotions Testing – An Introduction – Parimala Hariprasad – http://curioustester.blogspot.com/2014/05/emotions-testing-introduction.html

Experience of Security testing on API’s – Nagasahas Dasa – http://solidmonster.com/experience-security-testing-apis/

Exploring Together: Shared Understanding Through Paired Exploratory Testing – Claire Moss – http://www.stickyminds.com/article/exploring-together-shared-understanding-through-paired-exploratory-testing

Focus on key examples – Gojko Adzic – http://gojko.net/2014/05/05/focus-on-key-examples/

Getting Better – Burdette Lamar – http://burdettelamar.wordpress.com/2014/05/09/getting-better-2/

GUI Automation Still Sucks – Josh Grant – http://simplythetest.tumblr.com/post/85247125825/gui-automation-still-sucks

How to Manage Risks During Test Planning Phase – Risk Based Testing (Part 1) – Swati S – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/risk-management-during-test-planning-risk-based-testing/

Improving Your Mobile Testing Skills: Where to Start – Daniel Knott – http://blog.utest.com/2014/05/08/improving-your-mobile-testing-skills-where-to-start/

Interviewing and Tips – Elena Houser – http://trancecyberiantester.blogspot.com/2014/05/interviewing-and-tips.html

Misfits of the software world – Pradeep Soundararajan – http://testertested.blogspot.com/2014/05/the-world-of-misfits-in-software-testing.html

QA – Graphical User Interface Testing (Advanced) – David Tzhmach – http://www.dtvisiontech.com/2014/05/qa-graphical-user-interface-testing.html

Questioning Tester Assumptions With Alex Kell – Eric Jacobson – http://www.testthisblog.com/2014/05/questioning-tester-assumptions-with.html

Reinventing Regression – Dan Billing – http://thetestdoctor.wordpress.com/2014/05/07/reinventing-regression/

Stop Writing Automation – Alan Page – http://angryweasel.com/blog/stop-writing-automation/

Test Data Management Techniques and Best Practices (Part 2) – Sneha Nadig – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/test-data-management-techniques/

Test Documentation and Mindmaps – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2014/05/test-documentation-and-mindmaps.html

Testing the Limits with Craig Tomlin, Usability Expert: Part I – Ryan Arsenault – http://blog.utest.com/2014/05/07/testing-the-limits-with-craig-tomlin-usability-expert-part-i/

Testing Trends…or not? – Alan Page – http://angryweasel.com/blog/testing-trendsor-not/

Testing with International Data – Adam Knight – http://www.a-sisyphean-task.com/2014/05/testing-with-international-data.html

The co-evolution of mobile platforms and quality assurance – Josh Glade – http://www.sdtimes.com/content/article.aspx?ArticleID=71180&page=1

Top 20 Pieces of Advice for the Novice Software Tester – Ryan Arsenault – http://blog.utest.com/2014/05/09/top-20-pieces-of-advice-for-the-novice-software-tester/

UnitTest – Martin Fowler – http://martinfowler.com/bliki/UnitTest.html

Visual Test Modelling – Adam Howard – http://solavirtusinvicta.wordpress.com/2014/05/11/visual-test-modelling/

Volunteering – an active approach – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2014/05/volunteering-active-approach.html

Washing the blanket – Katrina Clokie – http://katrinatester.blogspot.com/2014/05/washing-blanket.html

What Can the Heartbleed Bug Teach Us about Defect Advocacy? – Anuj Magazine – http://www.techwell.com/2014/05/what-can-heartbleed-bug-teach-us-about-defect-advocacy

Why I am context-driven – Simon ‘Peter’ Schrijver – Simon Schrijver – http://dewt.wordpress.com/2014/05/04/why-i-am-context-driven-simon-peter-schrijver/

Conferences/Meetups/Organizations/Training

Software Testing World Cup

My Experience with the Software Testing World Cup – Nicola Owen – http://nickytests.blogspot.com/2014/05/my-experience-with-software-testing.html

Software Testing World Cup 2014 in Full Swing – Ryan Arsenault – http://blog.utest.com/2014/05/09/software-testing-world-cup-2014-in-full-swing/

Star East 2014

High Points in the Keynote Presentations at STAREAST – Lee Copeland – http://www.techwell.com/2014/05/high-points-keynote-presentations-stareast

Live Blog: Extreme Automation: Software Quality For The Next Generation Enterprise, Theresa Lanowitz, StarEast 2014 – Beth Romanik – http://www.stickyminds.com/blog/beth-romanik/live-blog-extreme-automation-software-quality-next-generation-enterprise-theresa

Live Blog: Principles Before Practices: Transform Your Testing By Understanding Key Concepts, Randy Rice, StarEast 2014 – Cameron Philipp-Edmonds – http://www.stickyminds.com/blog/cameron-philipp-edmonds/live-blog-principles-practices-transform-your-testing-understanding-key

Live Blog: Speaking 101, Lee Copeland, StarEast 2014 – Cameron Philipp-Edmonds – http://www.stickyminds.com/blog/cameron-philipp-edmonds/live-blog-speaking-101-lee-copeland-stareast-2014

My StarEast Keynote – Zeger Van Hese – http://testsidestory.com/2014/05/08/my-stareast-keynote/

Quick Thoughts on Randy Rice’s STAR East Keynote – Brett Hinton – http://technophiletester.hintonweb.com/2014/05/07/quick-thoughts-on-randy-rices-star-east-keynote/

Stop, If You Want To…  – Alan Page – http://angryweasel.com/blog/stop-if-you-want-to/

Testing in the Age of Distraction Keynote reflection – Brett Hinton – http://technophiletester.hintonweb.com/2014/05/07/testing-in-the-age-of-distraction-keynote-reflection/

The Top 5 Tweets from STAREAST Today – Andrew Takahashi – http://blog.utest.com/2014/05/07/the-top-5-tweets-from-stareast-today/

Tweet Bits from #StarEast 2014 – Matt Hutchison – http://blog.testingcurator.com/2014/05/10/tweet-bits-from-stareast-2014/

Misc

WTA – 50: “QA as a Service” with RainforestQA – Michael Larsen – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3473

Attention: Ohio Testers

5/27/14 – Columbus, OH – Software QA & Testing Meetup – Risk Based Testing – http://bit.ly/1lkhqim

Tools

How to run a Selenium Script in LoadRunner – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2014/05/08/how-to-run-a-selenium-script-in-loadrunner/

Running Selenium Automation Using Sauce Labs: Part 1 – Qxf2 – http://qxf2.com/blog/sauce-labs-part/

Miscellaneous

Book Review: Reviewed – The Effective Executive by Peter Drucker – Ash Winter – http://testingisbelieving.blogspot.com/2014/05/reviewed-effective-executive-by-peter.html

Book Review: This is Lean – Justin Rohrman – http://justinrohrman.com/blog/book-review-this-is-lean/

Podcasts: News Of The Damned 5-5-2014 – PerfBytes – Mark Tomlinson, James Pulley – http://www.perfbytes.com/news-of-the-damned-5-5-2014

Videos: Hangout on TDD with Kent Beck and David Heinemeier Hansson – Martin Fowler – http://martinfowler.com/snips/201405071053.html

Videos: Is TDD dead? – ThoughtWorks – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z9quxZsLcfo

Videos: TestBash 3 Video: Get Out Of The Testing Game – Bill Matthews – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/05/testbash-3-video-get-testing-game-bill-matthews/

Items of Interest for Testers

A Test Lab to Cater Exclusively For Start-up QA Testing Needs Launched – Digital Journal – http://www.digitaljournal.com/pr/1894058

From the Good Old Days to Today: Twenty-Five Years of Testing with SQE – Rick Craig – http://www.techwell.com/2014/05/good-old-days-today-twenty-five-years-testing-sqe

Opera 21 adds hardware acceleration, supports full address bar URL – Nick Peers – http://betanews.com/2014/05/06/opera-21-adds-hardware-acceleration-supports-full-address-bar-url/

Over 300,000 web sites STILL at risk from Heartbleed bug a month after massive flaw was exposed – Mark Prigg – http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2624766/Over-300-000-web-sites-STILL-risk-Heartbleed-bug-month-massive-flaw-exposed.html

Resistance is futile – The Borg Guide to Coaching for Change – Michi Tyson – http://blog.softed.com/2014/05/06/resistance-is-futile-the-borg-guide-to-coaching-for-change/

The Testing Map – Daniel Knott – http://dnlkntt.wordpress.com/2014/05/04/the-testing-map/

uTest Changes Name to Applause; Acquires Crowdtesting Leader, Testhub – Doron Reuveni – http://blog.applause.com/2014/05/05/utest-changes-name-to-applause-acquires-crowdtesting-leader-testhub/

Meet the New uTest: The Professional Network for Testers & Test Engineers – Matt Johnson – http://blog.utest.com/2014/05/05/meet-the-new-utest-the-professional-network-for-testers-test-engineers/

Well Done Firefox! – Pete – http://uiqame.com/2014/05/06/well-done-firefox/

What Has Changed Since Support for Windows XP Was Retired? – Mukesh Sharma – http://www.techwell.com/2014/05/what-has-changed-support-windows-xp-was-retired


The Testing Curator is scheduled to launch the second quarter of 2014. Look for some exciting announcements very soon in the next few weeks! Watch the video below to learn more. You can also sign up to our newsletter for more information and announcements at http://www.testingcurator.com/

Do you have a conference or event you would like to have added to this list?
Do you write a blog and don’t see your posting here?  There is a chance, I may not be following your blog yet.
Send an email to thecurator@testingcurator.com or a direct message via Twitter to @TestingCurator and I will add your event or site to the list of places that I track!

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *