Testing Bits – 5/11/14 – 5/17/14

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 5/11/14 – 5/17/14.

Articles & Blogs

6 QA Automation resources for self-learners – Noah Sussman – http://infiniteundo.com/post/85880881488/weird-automation-tricks

10 Reasons Why Your Bugs are Getting Rejected and What You Can Do for it as a Tester! – Bhumika Mehta – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/why-your-bugs-are-getting-rejected/

100,000 e2e selenium tests? Sounds like a nightmare! – Alister Scott – http://watirmelon.com/2014/05/14/100000-e2e-selenium-tests-sounds-like-a-nightmare/

A Tester Learns Node.js – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/a-tester-learns-node-js/

An Interview with Alan Richardson – Jay Phillips – http://www.testingcircus.com/an-interview-with-alan-richardson/

Barnacles? What Barnacles? – Burdette Lamar – http://burdettelamar.wordpress.com/2014/05/16/unpacking-the-load-test-the-endurance-test/

Blog: Scenarios Ain’t Just Use Cases – Michael Bolton – http://www.developsense.com/blog/2014/05/scenarios-aint-just-use-cases/

Breaking down the Agile Testing Quadrants (with an exploratory testing context) – John Stevenson – http://steveo1967.blogspot.com/2014/05/breaking-down-agile-testing-quadrants.html

Documenting Tests – Part 1 (How Much Detail?) – Eric Jacobson – http://www.testthisblog.com/2014/05/documenting-tests-part-1-how-much-detail.html

Goto Fail, Heartbleed, and Unit Testing Culture – Martin Fowler – http://martinfowler.com/articles/testing-culture.html

G(r)ood Testing Volume 5 – Next: people aspects – Derk-Jan de Grood – http://www.eurostarconferences.com/blog/2014/5/15/grood-testing-volume-5—next-people-aspects

How Learning Swimming is Like Learning Test Automation – Alex Siminiuc – http://blog.utest.com/2014/05/12/how-learning-swimming-is-like-learning-test-automation/

Manual Testing Checklist – Tarun Kumar – http://www.seleniumtests.com/2014/05/manual-testing-checklist.html

Meet brainular version control – Karlo Smid – http://zagorskisoftwaretester.blogspot.com/2014/05/meet-brainular-version-control.html

Multi-purpose Testing Tool Kit – Issi Hazan-Fuchs – http://testermindset.blogspot.com/2014/05/multi-purpose-testing-tool-kit.html

My thoughts on tddGate – Alister Scott – http://watirmelon.com/2014/05/13/my-thoughts-on-tddgate/

Q&A with Keith Klain and Paul Holland of Doran Jones – Keith Klain – http://qualityremarks.com/qa-with-keith-klain-and-paul-holland-of-doran-jones/

Redistributed Testing: A Shift to Refine Requirements – Paul Gerrard – http://www.stickyminds.com/article/redistributed-testing-shift-refine-requirements

Risk Management at Test Execution Phase Explained with Practical Example (Part 2) – Swati S – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/risk-management-at-test-execution-phase/

Second Installment of “Goto Fail, Heartbleed, and Unit Testing Culture” – Martin Fowler – http://martinfowler.com/articles/testing-culture.html#heartbleed

Should All Known Bugs be Fixed Before Launch? – Ryan Aresenault – http://blog.utest.com/2014/05/12/should-all-known-bugs-be-fixed-before-launch/

Software Testing – guidelines and principles – David Tzhmach – http://www.dtvisiontech.com/2014/05/software-testing-guidelines-and.html

Tech Conferences for Dummies – dos and don’ts – Augusto Evangelisti – http://mysoftwarequality.wordpress.com/2014/05/16/tech-conferences-for-dummies-dos-and-donts/

Test Driven Development – Darrell Grainger – http://darrellgrainger.blogspot.com/2014/05/test-driven-development.html

Test Metrics Debunked – Residual Risk (1/5) – Brian Osman – http://hellotestworld.com/2014/05/15/test-metrics-debunked-residual-risk-15/

Tester’s Creed – Benjamin Yaroch – http://dynamoben.wordpress.com/2014/05/12/testers-creed/

Testing Principles Part 1:  This is not Pokémon – Thomas Cagley – http://tcagley.wordpress.com/2014/05/15/testing-principles-part-1-this-is-not-pokemon/

Testing Principles: Part 2 – Thomas Cagley – http://tcagley.wordpress.com/2014/05/16/testing-principles-part-2/

Testing Quadrants As A Communication Tool – Aleksis Tulonen – http://flowoftesting.wordpress.com/2014/05/15/testing-quadrants-as-a-communication-tool/

Testing the Limits with Craig Tomlin, Usability Expert: Part II – Ryan Arsenault – http://blog.utest.com/2014/05/12/testing-the-limits-with-craig-tomlin-usability-expert-part-ii/

The Power of My Label – James Thomas – http://qahiccupps.blogspot.com/2014/05/the-power-of-my-label.html

Use test charters to enhance test team efficiency – Matt Heusser – http://searchsoftwarequality.techtarget.com/answer/Use-test-charters-to-enhance-test-team-efficiency

What is going on in the center of our Milky way? A tester approach. – Karlo Smid – http://zagorskisoftwaretester.blogspot.com/2014/05/what-is-going-on-in-center-of-our-milky.html

Why I am context-driven – Philip Hoeben – Philip Hoeben – http://dewt.wordpress.com/2014/05/15/why-i-am-context-driven-philip-hoeben/

Why Test Engineers Should Learn Node.js – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/why-test-engineers-should-learn-node-js/

Words Matter: Errors, Defects, and Failures! – Thomas Cagley – http://tcagley.wordpress.com/2014/05/17/words-matter-errors-defects-and-failures/

Conferences/Meetups/Organizations/Training

15th May Lets Play! Games Night – Henrik Andersson – http://lets-test.com/?p=3238

BBST Domain Testing Pilot: A few seats still available (June 22-July 19) – Cem Kaner – http://kaner.com/?p=415

Judging the Software Testing World Cup – Oceania 2014 – Kim Engel – http://isitgoodenoughyet.com/2014/05/17/judging-the-software-testing-world-cup-oceania-2014/

Live From the Romanian Testing Conference – Stephen Janaway – http://stephenjanaway.co.uk/stephenjanaway/testing-2/live-from-the-romanian-testing-conference/

Star East 2014

High Points in the Keynote Presentations at STAREAST – Lee Copeland – http://blog.utest.com/2014/05/15/high-points-in-the-keynote-presentations-at-stareast/

Live Blog: The Art of Tresting Transformation: Blending Technology With Cutting-Edge Processes, Jennifer Bonine, StarEast 2014 – Cameron Philipp-Edmonds – http://www.stickyminds.com/blog/cameron-philipp-edmonds/live-blog-art-testing-transformation-blending-technology-cutting-edge

Theresa Lanowitz Talks Extreme Test Automation at STAREAST – Beth Romanik – http://www.techwell.com/2014/05/theresa-lanowitz-talks-extreme-test-automation-stareast

Update from StarEast 2014 – “Build the ‘right’ regression suite using BDT” – Anand Bagmar – http://essenceoftesting.blogspot.com/2014/05/update-from-stareast-2014-build-right.html

What the 80′s Taught Me About Software Testing – the Presentation! – Mike Lyles – http://mikelyles.wordpress.com/2014/05/12/80s-presentation/

Attention: Ohio Testers

5/27/14 – Columbus, OH – Software QA & Testing Meetup – Risk Based Testing – http://bit.ly/1lkhqim

6/5/14 – Dublin, OH – COQAA – Gathering & Displaying Useful Metrics – http://coqaa.org/id1.html

6/18/14 – Cleveland, OH – NOTiCE – Games Night – http://www.meetup.com/notice/events/164991662/

Tools

The Dialect Diary — Symbiont Reborn! – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/the-dialect-diary-symbiont-reborn/

Get Started With Android UI Testing – Angelos Nakulas – http://blog.utest.com/2014/05/14/get-started-with-android-ui-testing/

Running Selenium Automation Using Sauce Labs: Part 2 – Qxf2 – http://qxf2.com/blog/running-selenium-automation-using-sauce-labs-part-2/

Miscellaneous

Audio version of first “Is TDD Dead” Hangout – Martin Fowler – http://martinfowler.com/snips/201405121609.html

Second “Is TDD Dead” Hangout video and audio available, third hangout scheduled – Martin Fowlwer – http://martinfowler.com/snips/2014-is-tdd-hangout-2-video.html

Cartoon: Dilbert on QA – Noah Sussman – http://infiniteundo.com/post/85942499273/dilbert-on-qa

Image: Performance Test Pyramid – Tim Koopmans – http://90kts.com/2014/05/15/performance-test-pyramid/

Slides: Taste wheel for testers workshop – Derk-Jan de Grood – http://djdegrood.wordpress.com/2014/05/15/taste-wheel-for-testers-workshop/

Presentation: How Data Science is Changing Software Testing – Robert Musson talk – Keith Stobie – http://testmuse.wordpress.com/2014/05/14/how-data-science-is-changing-software-testing-robert-musson-talk/

Presentation: What Do Testers Do presentation – #rtc2014 – Tony Bruce – http://dancedwiththetester.blogspot.com/2014/05/what-do-testers-do-presentation-rtc2014.html

TestBash 3 Video: Automation: Time to Change Our Models – Iain McCowatt – Rosie Sherry – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/05/automation-time-change-models-iain-mccowatt/

TestBash 3 Video: Contextual Decision-making in Testing – Apathy or Indifference? Mark Tomlinson – Rosie Sherry – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/05/testbash-3-video-contextual-decision-making-testing-apathy-indifference-mark-tomlinson/

TestBash 3 Video – Context-driven testing in an agile context – A happy marriage? – Huib Schoots – Rosie Sherry – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/05/testbash-3-video-context-driven-testing-agile-context-happy-marriage-huib-schoots/

TestBash 3 Video – Helping the new tester to get a running start – Joep Schuurkes – Rosie Sherry – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/05/testbash-3-video-helping-new-tester-get-running-start-joep-schuurkes/

TestBash 3 Video: How to Talk to a CIO About Software Testing (If You Really Have to…) – Keith Klain – Rosie Sherry – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/05/testbash-3-talk-cio-software-testing-really-keith-klain/

TestBash 3 Video – How to win [Developer] friends and influence [business] people – Jez Nicholson – Rosie Sherry – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/05/testbash-3-video-win-developer-friends-influence-business-people-jez-nicholson/

TestBash 3 Video: Inspiring Testers – Stephen Blower – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/05/testbash-3-video-inspiring-testers-stephen-blower/

Video: How HP LoadRunner Works – Mark Tomlinson – http://mtomlins.blogspot.com/2014/05/video-how-hp-loadrunner-works.html

Video: Is TDD dead? [Part II] – Martin Fowler, Kent Beck, David Hansson – https://plus.google.com/u/0/events/couv627cogaue9dahj08feoa6b8

Items of Interest for Testers

Can crowdsourcing testing change the way software testing is done? – Srikanth RP – http://www.informationweek.in/informationweek/interviews/295785/crowdsourcing-testing-change-software-testing

DIY: Build Your Own Mobile Cam Holder – Daniel Knott – http://blog.utest.com/2014/05/13/diy-build-your-own-mobile-cam-holder/

Firefox risks irrelevance as mobile browsing booms – Gregg Keizer – http://www.computerworld.com/s/article/92484/Firefox_risks_irrelevance_as_mobile_browsing_booms

Going after market share, Axosoft makes its bug-tracker virtually free – Mihaita Bamburic – http://betanews.com/2014/05/16/going-after-market-share-axosoft-makes-its-bug-tracker-virtually-free/

Take a Break and Let Your Brain Do Its Best Work – Naomi Karten – http://www.techwell.com/2014/05/take-break-and-let-your-brain-do-its-best-work

The end of polished and perfect software – Adrian Covert – http://money.cnn.com/2014/05/13/technology/innovation/beta-testing/


Do you have a conference or event you would like to have added to this list?
Do you write a blog and don’t see your posting here?  There is a chance, I may not be following your blog yet.
Send an email to thecurator@testingcurator.com or a direct message via Twitter to @TestingCurator and I will add your event or site to the list of places that I track!

You can also sign up to our newsletter for more information and announcements about the launch of Testing Curator at http://www.testingcurator.com/

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *