Testing Bits – 5/18/14 – 5/24/14

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 5/18/14 – 5/24/14.

Articles & Blogs

A tester crisis with shift-left work – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2014/05/a-tester-crisis-with-shift-left-work.html

A Tester Learns Rails – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/a-tester-learns-rails/

Accessibility Testing: The Answer to the Common Question of ‘Why?’ – Helen Burge – http://blog.utest.com/2014/05/19/accessibility-testing-the-answer-to-the-common-question-of-why-2

Cynefin – Sami Söderblom – http://theadventuresofaspacemonkey.blogspot.com/2014/05/cynefin.html

Developers worth a (better) salary test – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2014/05/developers-worth-better-salary-test.html

Disruptive Testing: Part 5 – Justin Rohrman – Anand Bagmar – http://www.thoughtworks.com/insights/blog/disruptive-testing-part-5-justin-rohrman

Does “Quality” Really Equal “Value”? – Dan Ashby? – http://danashby04.wordpress.com/2014/05/19/does-quality-really-equal-value/

Electric utility device testing in the smart grid era – Gerie Owen – http://searchsoftwarequality.techtarget.com/tip/Electric-utility-device-testing-in-the-smart-grid-era

Getting Started with ‘Cloud Testing’ – Sneha Nadig – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/getting-started-with-cloud-testing/

How to get feedback on a strategy – Katrina Clokie – http://katrinatester.blogspot.com/2014/05/how-to-get-feedback-on-strategy.html

How to Think Globally about Software Testing – Anuj Magazine – http://www.stickyminds.com/article/how-think-globally-about-software-testing

If This Then What? – James Thomas – http://qahiccupps.blogspot.com/2014/05/if-this-then-what.html

Is TDD Dead? – Martin Fowler – http://martinfowler.com/articles/is-tdd-dead/

It starts with a story… – Antony Marcano – http://antonymarcano.com/blog/2014/05/it-starts-with-a-story/

James Bach’s Beautiful Testing Metaphors – Eric Jacobson – http://www.testthisblog.com/2014/05/james-bachs-beautiful-testing-metaphors.html

Learning the Rails Way – A Tester’s Perspective – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/learning-the-rails-way-a-testers-perspective/

Mobile Game Testing Ideas – Ru – http://altom.ro/blog/mobile-game-testing-ideas

PageObject Pattern – Why, How and More – Richard Bradshaw – http://www.thefriendlytester.co.uk/2014/05/pageobject-pattern-why-how-and-more.html

Perhaps They Should Have Tested More – Nest Labs – Joe Strazzere – http://www.allthingsquality.com/2014/05/perhaps-they-should-have-tested-more.html

Security… It Is Everyone’s Issue… Including Me – Michele Smith – http://testerlostfocus.blogspot.com/2014/05/security-it-is-everyones-issue.html

Test Metrics Debunked – Coverage (2/5) – Oliver Erlewein – http://hellotestworld.com/2014/05/22/test-metrics-debunked-coverage-25/

Testing Hippopotami – Adam Howard – http://solavirtusinvicta.wordpress.com/2014/05/22/testing-hippopotami/

The Costs and Benefits of a Unit Testing Culture – Martin Fowler – http://martinfowler.com/articles/testing-culture.html#costs

The Craft of Testing – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/the-craft-of-testing/

What makes a QA so happy!? – Gareth Waterhouse – http://www.testingthewaterhouse.com/2014/05/what-makes-qa-so-happy.html

Conferences/Meetups/Organizations/Training

Announcement for Zagreb STC #15 meetup – Karlo Smid – http://zagorskisoftwaretester.blogspot.com/2014/05/announcement-for-zagreb-stc-15-meetup.html

Conferences and Car Crashes – Simon Knight – http://sjpknight.com/conferences-and-car-crashes/

Lee Copeland Covers Speaking 101 at STAREAST 2014 – Cameron Philipp-Edmonds – http://www.techwell.com/2014/05/lee-copeland-covers-speaking-101-stareast-2014

Software Test World Cup 2014 – Part 1 – Jeremy Carey-Dressler – http://about98percentdone.blogspot.com/2014/05/software-test-world-cup-2014-part-1.html

Software Test World Cup 2014 – Part 2 – Jeremy Carey-Dressler – http://about98percentdone.blogspot.com/2014/05/software-test-world-cup-2014-part-2.html

Virgin Territory – Dan Billing – http://thetestdoctor.wordpress.com/2014/05/19/virgin-territory/

What to expect during the evenings at Lets Test – Johan Jonasson – http://lets-test.com/?p=3256

WTA–51: Surveying and evaluating product risks – Justin Rohrman – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3477

WTANZ 21 – Test Reporting: Selling the Story – Dean Mackenzie – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3483

Attention: Ohio Testers

5/27/14 – Columbus, OH – Software QA & Testing Meetup – Risk Based Testing – http://bit.ly/1lkhqim

6/5/14 – Dublin, OH – COQAA – Gathering & Displaying Useful Metrics – http://coqaa.org/id1.html

6/18/14 – Cleveland, OH – NOTiCE – Games Night – http://www.meetup.com/notice/events/164991662/

Tools

How to correlate dynamic boundaries in LoadRunner? – NaveenKumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/correlate-dynamic-boundaries-loadrunner/

LoadRunner 11.52 Patch 2 – Fix for OpenSSL Heartbleed Bug – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2014/05/20/loadrunner-11-52-patch-2-fix-for-openssl-heartbleed-bug/

Running Selenium Automation Using Sauce Labs: Part 3 – Qxf2 – http://qxf2.com/blog/running-selenium-automation-using-sauce-labs-part-3/

UFT API – How to Get a User’s Input at RunTime using an InputBox – Joe Colantonio – http://www.joecolantonio.com/2014/05/22/uft-api-how-to-get-a-users-input-at-runtime-using-an-inputbox/

Miscellaneous

Audio and Video for Third “Is TDD Dead” hangout, fourth will be on May 27th – Martin Fowler – http://martinfowler.com/articles/is-tdd-dead/

Podcasts: AB Testing – Episode 5 – Alan Page, Bren Jensen – http://www.angryweasel.com/ABTesting/?p=18

STP Radio: James Bach on Systems Thinking – Mark Tomlinson – http://www.softwaretestpro.com/Item/5944/STP-Radio-James-Bach-on-Systems-Thinking/Software-Test-Professionals-Conference-Test-and-QA-podcast

Videos: Selenium Hangout 5 Recap – Dave Haeffner – http://seleniumhq.wordpress.com/2014/05/19/selenium-hangout-5-recap/

Videos: Talking with C-Level Management about Testing – Keith Klain – http://www.associationforsoftwaretesting.org/2014/05/21/talking-with-c-level-management-about-testing/

Videos: Testing in a Continuous Delivery World – Amy Phillips – http://testingthemind.wordpress.com/2014/05/19/testing-in-a-continuous-delivery-world/

Items of Interest for Testers

5 years is a long time… – Gareth Waterhouse – http://www.testingthewaterhouse.com/2014/05/5-years-is-long-time.html

Agile retrospective benefits from positivity, insight – Matt Heusser – http://searchsoftwarequality.techtarget.com/answer/Agile-retrospective-benefits-from-positivity-insight

Major US Retailers Set Up Cyber Intelligence Sharing Center – Pamela Rentz – http://www.techwell.com/2014/05/major-us-retailers-set-cyber-intelligence-sharing-center

New Veterans Training Program Fulfills Dual Need: Jobs for Military Vets and Skilled Workers for High Tech Industry – PRWeb – http://www.prweb.com/releases/2014/05/prweb11862476.htm

Meet the uTesters: Dave D’Amico – Ryan Arsenault – http://blog.utest.com/2014/05/19/meet-the-utesters-dave-damico/

Opera Banks on Video Compression to Survive Next Round of Browser Wars – Ina Fried – http://recode.net/2014/05/22/opera-banks-on-video-compression-to-survive-next-round-of-browser-wars/

Writing Actionable Risk Statements – Payson Hall – http://www.techwell.com/2014/05/writing-actionable-risk-statements


Do you have a conference or event you would like to have added to this list?
Do you write a blog and don’t see your posting here?  There is a chance, I may not be following your blog yet.
Send an email to thecurator@testingcurator.com or a direct message via Twitter to @TestingCurator and I will add your event or site to the list of places that I track!

You can also sign up to our newsletter for more information and announcements about the launch of Testing Curator at http://www.testingcurator.com/

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *