Testing Bits – 5/25/14 – 5/31/14

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 5/25/14 – 5/31/14.

Articles & Blogs

Actual Behaviour: It Stinks! – Josh Grant – http://simplythetest.tumblr.com/post/87303404335/actual-behaviour-it-stinks

Are Australian Software Testing Jobs at Risk? – Colin Cherry – http://itesting.com.au/2014/05/26/are-australian-software-testing-jobs-at-risk/

Are we all Accidental Testers? – Joel Montvelisky – http://qablog.practitest.com/2014/05/are-we-all-accidental-testers/

CMMI Appraisals – Tester’s Journey as an Appraisal Team Member (ATM) – Kumar Amit Anand – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/cmmi-appraisals-testers-journey-as-an-appraisal-team-member-atm/

Documenting Tests – Part 2 (The Tester Leaves) – Eric Jacobson – http://www.testthisblog.com/2014/05/documenting-tests-part-2-tester-leaves.html

Google’s Retrofitted Testing Culture, or: Déjà Vu All Over Again – Martin Fowler – http://martinfowler.com/articles/testing-culture.html#google

Moving towards acceptance – Mike Meurs – http://commontestsense.blogspot.com/2014/05/moving-towards-acceptance.html

Principles of ATDD: Single Responsibility Principle – Markus Gartner – http://www.shino.de/2014/05/28/principles-of-atdd-single-responsibility-principle/

Quality Auditing – A bad review worth having … – Mike Talks – http://testsheepnz.blogspot.com/2014/05/quality-auditing-bad-review-worth-having.html

Standards, Straw Man Arguments and Superstition – Simon Morley – http://testers-headache.blogspot.com/2014/05/standards-straw-man-arguments-and.html

Systems Thinking: Why I am done with agility as a goal – Brent Jensen – http://testastic.wordpress.com/2014/05/26/systems-thinking-why-i-am-done-with-agility-as-a-goal/

Taking on embedded software testing – Jennifer Lent – http://searchsoftwarequality.techtarget.com/tip/Taking-on-embedded-software-testing

TDD and Software Testers – Chris Kenst – http://www.mytechfetish.com/2014/05/tdd-and-software-testers.html

Testing on the Toilet: Risk-Driven Testing – Peter Arrenbrecht – http://googletesting.blogspot.com/2014/05/testing-on-toilet-risk-driven-testing.html

The Fallacy of the Single Point – Ash Winter – http://testingisbelieving.blogspot.com/2014/05/the-fallacy-of-single-point.html

The Friday Puzzle – Adam Knight – http://www.a-sisyphean-task.com/2014/05/the-friday-puzzle.html

The Pesticide Paradox as explained by Boris Beizer – Noah Sussman – http://infiniteundo.com/post/87158389858/pesticide-paradox

The Testing Mindset Spectrum – Joe DeMeyer – http://opentoscrutiny.wordpress.com/2014/05/29/the-testing-mindset-spectrum/

There is a myth that as the amount and intensity of testing… – Noah Sussman – http://infiniteundo.com/post/87157941238/more-tests-only-help-so-much

Top 10 App Quality Monsters: Part 1 – Jason Arbon – http://blog.applause.com/2014/05/28/top-10-app-quality-monsters-part-1/

What Is Quality? – Aleksis Tulonen – http://flowoftesting.wordpress.com/2014/05/26/what-is-quality/

What is Your Legacy? – Part 3 – Bernice Niel Ruhland – http://thetestersedge.com/2014/05/25/what-is-your-legacy-part-3/

What is Your Legacy? – Part 4 – Bernice Niel Ruhland – http://thetestersedge.com/2014/05/29/what-is-your-legacy-part-4/

When Testers Should Stand Up and Say No – Mukesh Sharma – http://www.stickyminds.com/article/when-testers-should-stand-and-say-no

Working Towards Precision – Jon Bach – http://jonbox.wordpress.com/2014/05/31/working-towards-precision/

Tools

Firefox Add-ons and Testing Techniques – Pooja Gupta – http://intensetesting.wordpress.com/2014/05/28/firefox-add-ons-and-testing-techniques/

JMeter and Controlling HTTP Keepalives – Oliver Erlewein – http://hellotestworld.com/2014/05/28/jmeter-and-controlling-http-keepalives/

Starting a Rails App, Part 1 – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/starting-a-rails-app-part-1/

Starting a Rails App, Part 2 – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/starting-a-rails-app-part-2/

Conferences/Meetups/Organizations/Training

BBST Foundations: Is it for me? – Nicola Owen – http://nickytests.blogspot.com/2014/05/bbst-foundations-is-it-for-me.html

Business finally understood testing – Derk-Jan de Grood – http://djdegrood.wordpress.com/2014/05/29/business-finally-understood-testing/

Let’s Test 2014 – Erik Brickarp – http://erik.brickarp.se/2014/05/lets-test-2014.html

Let’s Test 2014 Sketchnotes – Ruud Cox – http://ruudcox.wordpress.com/2014/05/29/lets-test-2014-sketchnotes/

Let’s Test 2014 – sketchnotes – Zeger Van Hese – http://testsidestory.com/2014/05/30/lets-test-2014-sketchnotes/

Let’s Test party is over – see you next year? – Anand Ramdeo – http://www.testinggeek.com/let-s-test-party-is-over-see-you-next-year

Listening to a Cowboy: Live at Climate Corp, It’s BAST!!! – Michael Larsen – http://www.mkltesthead.com/2014/05/listening-to-cowboy-live-at-climate.html

Report on Zagreb STC#15 – Karlo Smid – http://zagorskisoftwaretester.blogspot.com/2014/05/report-on-zagreb-stc15.html

StarEast Recap: Testing In the Age of Distraction: Flow, Focus, and Defocus in Testing – Sandy Sidhu – http://www.stickyminds.com/blog/sandy-sidhu/stareast-recap-testing-age-distraction-flow-focus-and-defocus-testing

Attention: Ohio Testers

6/5/14 – Dublin, OH – COQAA – Gathering & Displaying Useful Metrics – http://coqaa.org/id1.html

6/18/14 – Cleveland, OH – NOTiCE – Games Night – http://www.meetup.com/notice/events/164991662/

6/24/14 – Columbus, OH – Software QA & Testing Meetup – Testing Games Night w/ Erik Davis – http://bit.ly/1kvRxjw

Miscellaneous

Book: First four chapters completed – John Stevenson – http://steveo1967.blogspot.com/2014/05/first-four-chapters-completed.html

Book Reviewed:  The Testers Pocketbook by Paul Gerrard – Ash Winter – http://testingisbelieving.blogspot.com/2014/05/reviewed-testers-pocketbook-by-paul.html

Audio/Video: Summary and links for fourth “Is TDD Dead” hangout, final will be June 4th – Martin Fowler – http://martinfowler.com/articles/is-tdd-dead/

Podcast: Testing In The Pub Episode 5 – Continuous Delivery With Amy Phillips – Part 1 – Stephen Janaway, Dan Ashby – http://testinginthepub.co.uk/testinginthepub/podcast/testing-pub-episode-5-continuous-delivery-amy-phillips-part-1/

Items of Interest for Testers

A Case for Quality Assurance in Financial Technology Testing – Eugene Efimov – http://www.wallstreetandtech.com/risk-management/a-case-for-quality-assurance-in-financial-technology-testing/a/d-id/1252829?

HackerOne Emerges With $9 Million to Root Out Software Bugs  – Deborah Gage – http://blogs.wsj.com/venturecapital/2014/05/28/hackerone-emerges-with-9-million-to-root-out-software-bugs/

Meet the uTesters: Leah Gaines – Ryan Arsenault – http://blog.utest.com/2014/05/27/meet-the-utesters-leah-gaines/

Microsoft goes public with browser development plans – Joab Jackson – http://www.pcworld.com/article/2229500/microsoft-goes-public-with-browser-development-plans.html

Microsoft to patch IE8 remote code execution bug – Andrew Brooks – http://www.itworldcanada.com/post/microsoft-to-patch-ie8-remote-code-execution-bug

Software bug disrupts e-vote count in Belgian election – Loek Essers – http://www.pcworld.com/article/2159260/software-bug-disrupts-evote-count-in-belgian-election.html

Simple Hack Gives Windows XP Another 5 Years of Life – Testing Circus – http://www.testingcircus.com/simple-hack-gives-windows-xp-another-5-years-of-life/

Testing Challenges for Apple’s New Healthcare App – Mike Brown – http://mobileapptesting.com/2014/05/27/testing-challenges-for-apples-new-healthcare-app/

The Internet Bleeds Again: eBay Hack Confirmed  – Cameron Philipp-Edmonds – http://www.techwell.com/2014/05/internet-bleeds-again-ebay-hack-confirmed

This Week in Bugs: May 30th, 2014 – Jessica Fleet – http://blog.utest.com/2014/05/30/this-week-in-bugs-may-30th-2014/


Do you have a conference or event you would like to have added to this list?
Do you write a blog and don’t see your posting here?  There is a chance, I may not be following your blog yet.
Send an email to thecurator@testingcurator.com or a direct message via Twitter to @TestingCurator and I will add your event or site to the list of places that I track!

You can also sign up to our newsletter for more information and announcements about the launch of Testing Curator at http://www.testingcurator.com/

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *