Testing Bits – 6/1/14 – 6/7/14

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 6/1/14 – 6/7/14.

Articles & Blogs

10 things you can do to make your app secure: #1 Parameterize Database Queries – Jim Bird – http://swreflections.blogspot.com/2014/06/10-things-you-can-do-to-make-your-app.html

A story of a big small bug – Maaret Pyhäjärvi – http://visible-quality.blogspot.com/2014/06/a-story-of-big-small-bug.html

A Talk About Test Automation: An Interview with Mukesh Sharma  – Cameron Philipp-Edmonds – http://www.stickyminds.com/interview/talk-about-test-automation-interview-mukesh-sharma

Agile testing – how do we make it all fit? – Sharon Robson – http://blog.softed.com/2014/06/03/agile-testing-%E2%80%93-how-do-we-make-it-all-fit/

Challenging yourself? – Gareth Waterhouse – http://www.testingthewaterhouse.com/2014/06/challenging-yourself.html

Cosmetic and the Functional Bugs – What has to be Treated and How? –   http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/cosmetic-and-the-functional-bugs/

Defect management Process – Meenakshi Gangwar – http://intensetesting.wordpress.com/2014/06/06/defect-management-process/

Dropping the Ball – Anne-Marie Charrett – http://mavericktester.com/archive/dropping-ball/

O Tester, Where Art Thou? – Dean Mackenzie – http://yesbroken.com/2014/06/02/o-tester-where-art-thou/

Handling State for Browser Testing – Jim Holmes – http://frazzleddad.blogspot.com/2014/06/handling-state-for-browser-testing.html

How to properly check result of orderby method using random data? – Karlo Smid – http://zagorskisoftwaretester.blogspot.com/2014/06/how-to-properly-check-result-of-orderby.html

My Ideal build, test and land world – David Burns – http://www.theautomatedtester.co.uk/blog/2014/my-ideal-build-test-and-land-world.html

Quality Is As Quality Does – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/quality-is-as-quality-does/

Tactics, Strategy and the Glorious First of June – Pete Walen – http://rhythmoftesting.blogspot.com/2014/06/tactics-strategy-and-glorious-first-of.html

The Fine Art of Being Precise – Anne-Marie Charrett – http://mavericktester.com/archive/the-fine-art-of-being-precise/

The Human cost of Automation – Christ Tranter – http://www.metranterc.com/2014/06/the-human-cost-of-automation.html

The Way to Involve Stakeholders in Testing – Jan Jaap Cannegieter – http://www.testingcircus.com/the-way-to-involve-stakeholders-in-testing/

Three steps in improving UAT – Sharon Robson – http://blog.softed.com/2014/06/04/three-steps-in-improving-uat/

Three Types of Requirements for Testing – Clint Hoagland – http://www.stickyminds.com/article/three-types-requirements-testing

Top 10 App Quality Monsters: Part 2 – Jason Arbon – http://blog.applause.com/2014/06/02/top-10-app-quality-monsters-part-2/

UI Testing Checklist – Andrew Schiano – http://experttesters.com/2014/06/02/ui-testing-checklist/

What is the Business Value of Continuous Delivery – Amy Phillips – http://testingthemind.wordpress.com/2014/06/07/what-is-the-business-value-of-continuous-delivery/

What is Your Legacy? Part 5 – Bernice Niel Ruhland – http://thetestersedge.com/2014/06/02/what-is-your-legacy-part-5/

Why I am context-driven – Ray Oei …. I think….. – Ray Oei – http://dewt.wordpress.com/2014/06/01/why-i-am-context-driven-ray-oei-i-think/

Why Security Testing Sucks? – Santhosh Tuppad – http://tuppad.com/blog/2014/06/06/why-security-testing-sucks/

Tools

From Watir to Symbiont – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/from-watir-to-symbiont/

Symbiont and the Context Factory – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/symbiont-and-the-context-factory/

Symbiont and the Page Object – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/symbiont-and-the-page-object/

Conferences/Meetups/Organizations/Training

AST NYC Meetup – AST – http://www.associationforsoftwaretesting.org/2014/06/04/ast-nyc-meetup/

GTAC 2014 Coming to Seattle/Kirkland in October – Anthony Vallone – http://googletesting.blogspot.com/2014/06/gtac-2014-coming-to-seattlekirkland-in.html

Let’s Test 2014 – Helena Jeret-Mäe – http://thepainandgainofedwardbear.wordpress.com/2014/06/01/lets-test-2014/

Let’s Test 2014 – Richard Bradshaw – http://www.thefriendlytester.co.uk/2014/06/lets-test-2014.html

Let’s Test 2014 – Reflections – Amy Phillips – http://testingthemind.wordpress.com/2014/06/02/lets-test-2014-reflections/

Let’s Test – Sweden – David Greenless – http://martialtester.wordpress.com/2014/06/02/lets-test-sweden/

Live from Nordic Testing Days – Day 1 – Stephen Janaway – http://stephenjanaway.co.uk/stephenjanaway/testing-2/live-from-nordic-testing-days/

Live from Nordic Testing Days – Day 2 – Stephen Janaway – http://stephenjanaway.co.uk/stephenjanaway/testing-2/live-from-nordic-testing-days-day-2/

Live from Tallinn!! Nordic Testing Days – Day 1 – Pete Walen – http://rhythmoftesting.blogspot.com/2014/06/live-from-tallinn-nordic-testing-days.html

LIVE from Tallinn! Nordic Testing Days – Day 2! – Pete Walen – http://rhythmoftesting.blogspot.com/2014/06/live-from-tallinn-nordic-testing-days_6.html

Sydney Testers have Levelled-up! – Richard Robinson – http://hellotestworld.com/2014/06/01/sydney-testers-have-levelled-up/

TestBash 4 – Call For Speakers – Rosie Sherry – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/06/testbash-4-call-speakers/

WT 107: ESPN Cricinfo Chrome Extension: Test Idea Generation and Bug Hunting – Ajay Balamurugadas – http://weekendtesting.com/archives/3506

Attention: Ohio Testers

6/18/14 – Cleveland, OH – NOTiCE – Games Night – http://www.meetup.com/notice/events/164991662/

6/24/14 – Columbus, OH – Software QA & Testing Meetup – Testing Games Night w/ Erik Davis – http://bit.ly/1kvRxjw

Miscellaneous

Book: Build Quality In – Amy Phillips – http://testingthemind.wordpress.com/2014/06/05/build-quality-in/

Podcast: AB Testing – Episode 6 – Alan Page, Brent Jenkins – http://www.angryweasel.com/ABTesting/?p=21

Reflections on BBST Foundations Workbook – Chapter/Lesson 1 – Brett Hinton – http://technophiletester.hintonweb.com/2014/06/03/reflections-on-bbst-foundations-workbook-chapterlesson-1/

Items of Interest for Testers

4 Changes That Will Impact Your Apps’ Quality From WWDC – Richard Weiss – http://blog.applause.com/2014/06/04/4-changes-that-will-impact-your-apps-quality-from-wwdc/

64-Bit Chrome Now Available In Beta – Edwin Kee – http://www.ubergizmo.com/2014/06/64-bit-chrome-now-available-in-beta/

Google unseats Microsoft as the U.S. browser powerhouse – Gregg Keizer – http://www.computerworld.com/s/article/9248927/Google_unseats_Microsoft_as_the_U.S._browser_powerhouse

Mac OSX Yosemite : Apple WWDC 2014 – Shashikant – http://shashikantjagtap.net/mac-osx-yosemite-apple-wwdc-2014/

Meet the uTesters: Moises Pujadas – Ryan Arsenault – http://blog.utest.com/2014/06/02/meet-the-utesters-moises-pujadas/

Mozilla: Money will prod phone makers to keep Firefox OS current – Stephen Shankland – http://www.cnet.com/news/mozilla-money-will-prod-phone-makers-to-keep-firefox-os-current/

Recent barrage of IE zero days highlights risk for enterprises – Brandan Blevins – http://searchsecurity.techtarget.com/news/2240221914/Recent-barrage-of-IE-zero-days-highlights-risk-for-enterprises

Safari, Chrome push to mask URLs – Gregg Keizer – http://www.computerworld.com.au/article/547001/safari_chrome_push_mask_urls/

State Of Web Development 2014 – Lammert Westerhoff – http://blog.xebia.com/2014/06/06/state-of-web-development-2014/

Today’s Safari flops on Apple’s new browser speed tests –  Stephen Shankland – http://www.cnet.com/news/todays-safari-flops-on-apples-new-browser-speed-tests/


Do you have a conference or event you would like to have added to this list?
Do you write a blog and don’t see your posting here?  There is a chance, I may not be following your blog yet.
Send an email to thecurator@testingcurator.com or a direct message via Twitter to @TestingCurator and I will add your event or site to the list of places that I track!

You can also sign up to our newsletter for more information and announcements about the launch of Testing Curator at http://www.testingcurator.com/

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *