Testing Bits – 6/8/14 – 6/14/14

Here is this week’s collection of articles, blogs, and announcements covering the days of 6/8/14 – 6/14/14.

Articles & Blogs

10 Qualities that Can Make You a Good Tester – Bhumika Mehta – http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/10-qualities-that-can-make-you-a-good-tester/

10 things you can do to make your app secure: #2 Encoding Data – Jim Bird – http://swreflections.blogspot.com/2014/06/10-things-you-can-do-to-make-your-app_9.html

10 things you can do to make your app secure: #3 Validate Input – Jim Bird – http://swreflections.blogspot.com/2014/06/10-things-you-can-do-to-make-your-app_11.html

A Software Skills Roadmap for Testers – Paul Gerrard – http://gerrardconsulting.com/?q=node/642

Agile Quality Myth: No App Stars From Agile – Jason Arbon – http://blog.applause.com/2014/06/09/agile-quality-myth-no-app-stars-from-agile/

Attitude, NOT Certification, is the Real Differentiator – Colin Cherry – http://itesting.com.au/2014/06/13/attitude-not-certification-is-the-real-differentiator/

Beware of Rapid Software Testing – Albert Gareev – http://automation-beyond.com/2014/06/10/beware-of-rapid-software-testing/

Cookie Testing – Pranaya Ranjan Sahoo – http://intensetesting.wordpress.com/2014/06/13/cookie-testing/

Expanding the test triangle – Matthew Eakin – http://goofytesterguy.blogspot.com/2014/06/expanding-test-triangle.html

Follow Your Passion Or …………. Not – Alex Siminiuc – http://test-able.blogspot.com/2014/06/follow-your-passion-or-not.html

KPIS Are For the Lazy – Matt Heusser – http://www.stickyminds.com/blog/matt-heusser/kpis-are-lazy

Methods of Changing an Organization – Jeremy Carey-Dressler – http://www.stickyminds.com/article/methods-changing-organization

Mindmapping a Go-Live Decision – Simon Knight – http://sjpknight.com/mindmapping-a-go-live-decision/

Path Testing: Independent Paths – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/path-testing-independent-paths/

Path Testing: The Coverage – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/path-testing-the-coverage/

Path Testing: The Theory – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/path-testing-the-theory/

Scrummage – A look at how the principles of Scrum can apply to testing – Adam Howard – http://solavirtusinvicta.wordpress.com/2014/06/13/scrummage/

Simplified Estimation – Kim Engel – http://isitgoodenoughyet.com/2014/06/08/simplify-your-estimates/

Test Metrics Debunked – Defect Density (3/5) – David Greenless – http://hellotestworld.com/2014/06/12/test-metrics-debunked-defect-density-35/

Tester, By Choice? – Shahir Ahmed – http://shahirahmed.wordpress.com/2014/06/08/tester-by-choice/

Testing: A state of mind or just an activity? – Christina Ohanian – http://geekandcouture.com/2014/06/09/testing-as-an-activity-a-state-of-mind-or-just-an-activity/

The Agile Manifesto vs. The German Beer Purity Law – Matthew Eakin – http://goofytesterguy.blogspot.com/2014/06/the-agile-manifesto-vs-german-beer.html

The “Build It After They Come” Anti-Pattern – Josh Grant – http://simplythetest.tumblr.com/post/88235207800/the-build-it-after-they-come-anti-pattern

The dillusion of Polyskilling – Matthew Eakin – http://goofytesterguy.blogspot.com/2014/06/polyskilling-vs-getting-better-at-what.html

The Notepad and Visualize Heuristics – Rikard Edgren – http://thetesteye.com/blog/2014/06/the-notepad-and-visualize-heuristics/

The occupation question – Katrina Clokie – http://katrinatester.blogspot.com/2014/06/the-occupation-question.html

Three Common Questions Testers Ask About Developers – Tammy Shipps – http://blog.utest.com/2014/06/13/three-common-questions-testers-ask-about-developers/

What is agile testing? – Darrell Grainger – http://darrellgrainger.blogspot.com/2014/06/what-is-agile-testing.html

What’s New in Testing (for me) – Paul Gerrard – http://gerrardconsulting.com/?q=node/643

When To Automate – Brian Ray – http://qualityshepherd.com/2014/06/when-to-automate/

Your Service Desk Is Your Customer – Rob Lambert – http://thesocialtester.co.uk/your-service-desk-is-your-customer/


API Testing Using Runscope – Qxf2blog – http://qxf2.com/blog/api-testing-using-runscope/

Data Building with Symbiont – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/data-building-with-symbiont/

Data Setting with Symbiont – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/data-setting-with-symbiont/

Distribute Cookies in JMeter – NaveenKumar Namachivayam – http://qainsights.com/distribute-cookies-jmeter/

Event Listeners in WebDriver – Dwarika Dhish Mishra – http://www.abodeqa.com/2014/06/08/event-listeners-in-webdriver/

Firebug 2 Released Today: Top New Features for Testers and Developers – Jan Odvarko – http://blog.utest.com/2014/06/10/firebug-2-released-today-top-new-features-for-testers-and-developers/

Multiple Versions of Python on Windows – Jeff Nyman – http://testerstories.com/multiple-versions-of-python-on-windows/

Upgrading Selenium WebDriver from v 2.40.0 to 2.42.2 – Alan Richardson – http://seleniumsimplified.com/2014/06/upgrading-selenium-webdriver-from-v-2-40-0-to-2-42-2/


From Tallinn!! Nordic Testing Days – Retrospective – Pete Walen – http://rhythmoftesting.blogspot.com/2014/06/from-tallinn-nordic-testing-days_11.html

Nordic Testing Days – The Next Big Event? – Rob Lambert – http://thesocialtester.co.uk/nordic-testing-days-the-next-big-event/

Tales from Tallinn – Dan Billing – http://thetestdoctor.wordpress.com/2014/06/09/tales-from-tallinn/

Thoughts on Nordic Testing Days 2014 – Andrei Contan – http://andrei.contan.ro/thoughts-nordic-testing-days-2014/

Selenium WebDriver Community : Come to meet-ups and conferences – Anand Ramdeo – http://www.testinggeek.com/selenium-webdriver-community-come-to-meet-ups-and-conferences

Judging the Software Testing World Cup Preliminaries for Europe – Part 1 – Patrick Prill – http://testpappy.wordpress.com/2014/06/14/judging-the-software-testing-world-cup-preliminaries-for-europe-part-1/

Short Summary about the Software Testing World Cup 2014 – Europe Competition – Daniel Knott – http://dnlkntt.wordpress.com/2014/06/14/short-summary-about-the-software-testing-world-cup-2014-europe-competition/

Attention: Ohio Testers

6/18/14 – Cleveland, OH – NOTiCE – Games Night – http://www.meetup.com/notice/events/164991662/

6/24/14 – Columbus, OH – Software QA & Testing Meetup – Testing Games Night w/ Erik Davis – http://bit.ly/1kvRxjw


Book Review: Secrets of a Buccaneer-Schoolar by James Marcus Bach – Irina Ivanova – http://ivanova-irina.blogspot.com/2014/06/secrets-of-buccaneer-schoolar-by-james.html

Podcast: Testing in the Pub Episode 6 – Continuous Delivery with Amy Phillips – Part 2 – Stephen Janaway – http://testinginthepub.co.uk/testinginthepub/podcast/testing-pub-episode-6-continuous-delivery-amy-phillips-part-2/

Items of Interest for Testers

Browser bonanza: What’s new in Firefox 30, IE11, Chrome 35, and Safari 8 – Caroline Craig – http://www.infoworld.com/t/web-browsers/browser-bonanza-whats-new-in-firefox-30-ie11-chrome-35-and-safari-8-244247

De Blasio Envisions a Tech Hub in the Bronx, Doran Jones Wants to Get Started – Keith Klain – http://qualityremarks.com/de-blasio-envisions-a-tech-hub-in-the-bronx-doran-jones-wants-to-get-started/

Per Scholas ROI Award – Keith Klain – http://qualityremarks.com/per-scholas-roi-award/

The Ministry of Testing Scholarship Story – Emma Keaveny – http://www.ministryoftesting.com/2014/06/ministry-testing-scholarship-story/

Meet the uTesters: Yamini Ramesh – Ryan Aresnault – http://blog.utest.com/2014/06/09/meet-the-utesters-yamini-ramesh/

Unchartered Waters – Matt Heusser – http://itknowledgeexchange.techtarget.com/uncharted-waters/on-burnout/

Do you have a conference or event you would like to have added to this list?
Do you write a blog and don’t see your posting here?  There is a chance, I may not be following your blog yet.
Send an email to thecurator@testingcurator.com or a direct message via Twitter to @TestingCurator and I will add your event or site to the list of places that I track!

You can also sign up to our newsletter for more information and announcements about the launch of Testing Curator at http://www.testingcurator.com/

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *